We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three rooms in one stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8727 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rates from $89!
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Long Island
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Three rooms in one stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel is not very clean. The walls and doors to the elevator are dirty. The rooms have walls that are paper thin. The first room I was in had an adjoining door. At midnight a man came in the next room and jiggled the adjoining door lock. He then proceeded to sing for quite a while. I packed my things and asked to be switched. The room I was switched too stunk like smoke terrible. The fire detector was dislodged from the ceiling. I asked again to change rooms. Then the key did not work. In this room the fire detector was covered in masking tape. I reported all of this to management. They changed my room but did not offer any compensation for the trouble.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. We’re sorry you encountered housekeeping problems. Dirty rooms are not typical at our hotel, and we appreciate that you brought this to our attention. We have discussed all issues with our staff and will make every effort to be sure our rooms meet the highest housekeeping standards. Please give us a second chance if you visit our area in the future and if you would like to discuss this further, please contact me directly. Thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    199
    147
    78
    54
See reviews for
209
74
31
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I got the standard double room for 99. per night for the two night weekend. I feel this was a fair price. The room was clean and very comfortable. It was nice to have free wifi. I would have appreciated a in-room refrigerator. However, knowing I didn't have one, I brought a cooler. The employees all were very friendly and helpful. $12.00 for valet parking seemed a little excessive. I will say, however, the bed and pillows were AWESOME. The first time I've ever traveled and wished my bed at home was this comfortable. I

Room Tip: I don't feel I can contribute to this area as this is the first time I've stayed here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Great lobby, friendly staff. Room quality was fair - dated. The walls were very thin. Despite being on an end room, I could hear the neighbor snoring and no ability to control the fan to block out the noise.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We’re sorry that we didn't provide you with a rewarding experience during your recent stay at our hotel. Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we appreciate your feedback about the noisy hallways and thin walls. Your comments will help us correct these issues. We hope you’ll consider staying with us again the next time you’re in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was an expensive place to not receive a hot shower. Didnt know if it was because we were on a higher floor? We had to wait for over an hour while someone tried to help us from thier main pipes downstairs. The warm cookies were great and the hospitality was kind. Parking was easy under the hotel. Beds very comfy.

Room Tip: choose a lower floor to see if a hot shower works better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding our water heaters. We’re sorry we didn't provide you with the quality of services and amenities you deserve. We know how important a hot shower is and your comments will help us to improve the situation. We hope you’ll give us another chance and stay at our location again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice hotel...great breakfast! Dinner at Sergios on Friday was amazing. Very friendly staff, great food, reasonable price. Front desk staff was very helpful. I had a problem with my roomkey. The girls at the desk were so attentive and sent engineering up to my room to check to make sure I got in okay. After the 2nd time this happened, they offered to change my room. I thought this was very nice! Eveyone I came in contact with was very nice. Valet was very friendly. Hotel has so much to do nearby! If you stay here, I would suggest a trip to the movies, the mall or even ice skating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding our water heaters. We’re sorry we didn't provide you with the quality of services and amenities you deserve. We know how important a hot shower is and your comments will help us to improve the situation. We hope you’ll give us another chance and stay at our location again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Nice hotel, good breakfast. Pool a bit small and I was told the gym was disappointing. Friendly service when we checked in and the breakfast was good. Bar a good size and central for local restaurants.

Room Tip: Was on the 3rd floor so no view from window
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thanks for staying here at our hotel. We’re glad you had a taste of our warm, caring service (along with our delicious cookie at check in). We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were going to DC for a college audition only to find out that it was scheduled on Inauguration weekend when everything in DC was booked or required a 5 night stay. Lucky for us, we discovered the DoubleTree in Silver Spring. Beautiful hotel, located near shopping, restaurants, movies and the Metro (3 stops away from our DC destination).

The hotel is beautiful, rooms clean (and the cookies on arrival were warm and delicious). The beds were sooooo comfortable - even people in the elevator were talking about what a great night sleep they had.

But what was the best part of this hotel was the staff. From front desk to valet to parking attendants to shuttle driver (who picked us up from the Metro), they all were truly friendly, helpful people. I highly recommend this hotel, even for DC visitors, it's a few Metro stops away, less expensive than DC hotels and really a great experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Spring
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#5 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#7 of 12 in Silver Spring
3.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#4 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Address: 8727 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our DoubleTree hotel in Silver Spring, MD is located near a lively entertainment district, the Metro Red Line commuter rail, and Interstate 495/Capital Beltway. Walk or take our hotel shuttle to the restaurants, shops and entertainment venues in downtown Silver Spring, or ride the Metro commuter train - only two blocks away - to Washington DC. Discover Silver Spring's pedestrian-friendly downtown. The hotel is close to the American Film Institute's Silver Theater, Round House Theatre, Discovery Communications, FDA, NOAA, Howard University, NIH and Walter Reed. Stay within 45 minutes of Washington National Airport and the Baltimore/Washington International Airport and Washington Dulles International Airport. The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC-Silver Spring features modern guest rooms and suites, each with complimentary WiFi, work desks and natural stone bathrooms. Upgrade to a suite for a deluxe private room, separate living area, and walk-in closet. Maintain your exercise routine in our heated indoor pool and fully equipped fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Silver Spring
Silver Spring Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.