We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Weekend Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8727 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rates from $89!
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
“Relaxing Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice hotel...great breakfast! Dinner at Sergios on Friday was amazing. Very friendly staff, great food, reasonable price. Front desk staff was very helpful. I had a problem with my roomkey. The girls at the desk were so attentive and sent engineering up to my room to check to make sure I got in okay. After the 2nd time this happened, they offered to change my room. I thought this was very nice! Eveyone I came in contact with was very nice. Valet was very friendly. Hotel has so much to do nearby! If you stay here, I would suggest a trip to the movies, the mall or even ice skating.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding our water heaters. We’re sorry we didn't provide you with the quality of services and amenities you deserve. We know how important a hot shower is and your comments will help us to improve the situation. We hope you’ll give us another chance and stay at our location again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    199
    147
    78
    54
See reviews for
209
74
31
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Nice hotel, good breakfast. Pool a bit small and I was told the gym was disappointing. Friendly service when we checked in and the breakfast was good. Bar a good size and central for local restaurants.

Room Tip: Was on the 3rd floor so no view from window
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thanks for staying here at our hotel. We’re glad you had a taste of our warm, caring service (along with our delicious cookie at check in). We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were going to DC for a college audition only to find out that it was scheduled on Inauguration weekend when everything in DC was booked or required a 5 night stay. Lucky for us, we discovered the DoubleTree in Silver Spring. Beautiful hotel, located near shopping, restaurants, movies and the Metro (3 stops away from our DC destination).

The hotel is beautiful, rooms clean (and the cookies on arrival were warm and delicious). The beds were sooooo comfortable - even people in the elevator were talking about what a great night sleep they had.

But what was the best part of this hotel was the staff. From front desk to valet to parking attendants to shuttle driver (who picked us up from the Metro), they all were truly friendly, helpful people. I highly recommend this hotel, even for DC visitors, it's a few Metro stops away, less expensive than DC hotels and really a great experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Valet parking, free wifi made this a practical choice for working in the area. However, I ordered breakfast by room service twice, due to a heavy cold. First time it didn't arrive at 6am as ordered. I called at 6.30 and it eventually arrived 6.40am. I ordered oatmeal with 2% orange juice and coffee. The oatmeal was cold and arrived with two knives and two forks by way of silverware. No spoon. Good thing I wasn't relying on room service before an early meeting. I ordered again on Saturday morning, this time I rang them when I wanted it. It arrived 20 minutes later. This time the oatmeal was barely warm, and although I ordered milk as before, ir arrived with cream. It is also very expensive at almost $20 by the time you tip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional D, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your insight on your experience with our room service. We’re very sorry that the level of service didn’t meet your expectations and we’re taking the steps necessary to ensure that we correct those issues you mentioned. Our guest reviews give us valuable information to deliver the best dining experience possible, and we appreciate your feedback. Please visit us again the next time you’re in the area, and tell us how we’re doing. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
594 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I had to stay here in late October for work. It was fine, valet only parking, nice staff. The room was nice and comfortable. There were places where it showed its age, like the hallways. Overall, very good.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had a nephew's wedding reception here in Dec 2012 and the facilities were more than adequate. The hotel had said no self parking and so we had thot the valet parking might be a problem for our many guests but everything was well organised and worked smoothly. Even when we had forgotten things in the car and had to go back, the process was smooth and the staff were very accomodating in helping us carry the many boxes of items back into the reception hall.
The food (a 3-course meal) was very tasty and presentation very good. Those guests who came in late even when all serving had finished still got served food (though all courses came in one go). All in all, a good place for functions.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting the DC area for the first time. Our experience here did not start off well, but the staff made a good recovery! When we first arrived, there was a glitch with our reservation. After traveling for several hours, this is the last thing we wanted to hear. The front desk staff was very apologetic and were able to arrange for us to stay the night in a hotel right across the street. The following day a bellman came over to assist with our belongings and getting into our room here. All of the employees we interacted with were fantastic.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Spring
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#5 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#7 of 12 in Silver Spring
3.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#4 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Address: 8727 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our DoubleTree hotel in Silver Spring, MD is located near a lively entertainment district, the Metro Red Line commuter rail, and Interstate 495/Capital Beltway. Walk or take our hotel shuttle to the restaurants, shops and entertainment venues in downtown Silver Spring, or ride the Metro commuter train - only two blocks away - to Washington DC. Discover Silver Spring's pedestrian-friendly downtown. The hotel is close to the American Film Institute's Silver Theater, Round House Theatre, Discovery Communications, FDA, NOAA, Howard University, NIH and Walter Reed. Stay within 45 minutes of Washington National Airport and the Baltimore/Washington International Airport and Washington Dulles International Airport. The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC-Silver Spring features modern guest rooms and suites, each with complimentary WiFi, work desks and natural stone bathrooms. Upgrade to a suite for a deluxe private room, separate living area, and walk-in closet. Maintain your exercise routine in our heated indoor pool and fully equipped fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Silver Spring
Silver Spring Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.