We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8727 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $89!
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
new york city, ny
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We got a family suite which was nice and roomy. However, the layout of the bathroom made the bathroom seemed a bit cramped. Breakfast was not included and was pricey for what you got. No refrigerator in the room which would have been nice to store some cold drinks and such. The location was great. About a 10 min walk to the Metro (red line) and plenty of restaurants and shopping in the area. They also charged for parking but considering this is a metropolitan area, I thought the charge was reasonable. All in all, a good hotel and I'd consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you, ladyluck523, for your recent stay and review of the DoubleTree by Hilton Silver Spring. Most guests find our hotel quite convenient to the Metro making it very accessible to Washington, DC., as well as within easy walking distance to a myriad of options. Parking is a premium in the city but it is convenient; I am glad that you found our pricing to be reasonable. We are most excited to learn that you would return to our hotel in the future.

Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Silver Spring. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Anna Lyons, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    152
    121
    66
    45
See reviews for
171
60
22
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Location was great-near Metro and downtown Silver Spring which is full of restaurants and entertainment. The hotel housekeeping staff needs a lot of improvement. We got no laundry bag, a light in the bathroom was out for 3 days until I complained to the desk. Dirty towels were picked up from the floor and rehung. The empty tissue box did not get refilled, neither did the amenities as they got used up. The beds were comfortable though.
Be sure to look over your bill on check out! We got charged double for two days parking out of the 5 we stayed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you, Schenectady_NYLoisM, for your feedback primarily regarding our Housekeeping services. As the new General Manager, I have already addressed a number of your concerns including inventory of amenities and training. You would be pleased to know that much has been rectified while training continues daily. Again, your constructive criticism is appreciated.

Thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Silver Spring.

Anna Lyons, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Positives: Location, beds are ok; free wifi, flatscreen TV; the front desk personnel.

Needs Improving: The place is old and showing it's age; the elevator sounded like it was about to fall apart any second; the bathrooms are old and have mold in the caulk, plus a slight odor; the TV volume didn't work; breakfast is not included; the cost is too much for the service provided.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
We appreciate your candid review, Keith B, While your comments about the Front Desk staff are wonderful to read, I was disappointed to read your remarks about some of the other areas. We are housed in an older building but never the less, the upkeep of our product in stellar condition is our responsibility to all of our guests. We appreciate the feedback and, as the new GM of the hotel, will work tirelessly to correct all of the items noted; some are already addressed.

Thank you again for your comments. We always appreciate honest feedback.

Anna Lyons, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Hotel was fairly easy to find, and get to from I-495. The room was great, with responsive AC. The rest of the hotel was muggy. Soft drink machines not refrigerated. Good Internet. Iffy cell phone reception.

I ordered breakfast from the menu: southern breakfast which clearly stated cheesy grits. Potatoes arrived and when I asked, I was told I had to order grits when I ordered the breakfast. I then requested the grits that were listed. Plain grits arrived.

Starbucks a block away. Shopping and many restaurants within a block.

Room Tip: Exercise area on 9th floor. Request a room not on 8th floor. There was a lot of noise one evening th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you, LakewoodFam, for your comments regarding your recent stay. We are conveniently located to a wide variety of travel options, yet find ourselves tucked quietly in the theater district. Glad you enjoyed the ease of the location. As the new General Manager, we are currently reviewing many of our processes and offers including the restaurant fare; grits are on the list! All of our vending machines were recently serviced by the vendor who supplies them so our drinks are ice cold, just in time for the heat of the summer.

Thank you for choosing the new DoubleTree by Hilton Silver Spring. Hope to see you again soon!

Anna Lyons, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Our stay was superb! The room was well decorated and clean. Many thanks to the staff at Doubletree- Victoria L., Yvonne H., and Samri. You are the best.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca K, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Thank you so much for taking a moment to write us a review for the DoubleTree by Hilton in Silver Spring, MD! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to you visiting us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Main Line area-Philadelphia, PA USA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Had a meeting at the FDA and this was closest hotel, still a 15 minute drive away. The good news is the hotel is a quick 4 block walk from the metro station so if you are coming from DC it's easy to get to.
The hotel itself is fine for an overnight stay. Not sure why anyone would want to stay there longer! Lots of seedy folks walking around. Having said that, the hotel is in the heart of town with tons of restaurants and stores within a block or two. Staff was very nice and helpful and arranged transportation for me to get to my meeting. Good restaurant in the hotel in case you don't feel like venturing out. Small bar with friendly chatty bartender. The room was large and had most amenities, including a bag of trail mix and two bottles of water for free.
Overall, a fine place to stay for a night at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca K, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
We really appreciate you taking the time to submit a review for the DoubleTree by Hilton in Silver Spring, MD. We are pleased to hear you found us in a convenient location and were able to experience great customer service from our friendly hotel staff! Please let us know when you will be visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I stayed when it was a Hilton and the renovation was in progress. They have done a great job. Everyone was very friendly, and the breafast was great. I am a Hilton Honors gold member and was upgraded to a 2 room 2 bath suite. The rooms was in great shape and the hotel is beautiful. It maybe a bit far to travel to DC for the sights, but if you are looking for a super hotel just on the edge of DC this is it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca K, Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about your stay with us!
We are happy you were able to view the renovations we have completed. We truly look forward to seeing you when you visit next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring

Address: 8727 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Hilton Washington DC/Silver Spring)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring 3.5*
Number of rooms: 263
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Silver Spring
Silver Spring Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.