We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8777 Georgia Avenue, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC Silver Spring)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Virginia
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great location and stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Overall I had a good stay. The parking entrance is pretty tight, so watch out if you have a monster SUV or truck. Everything was clean, the staff was nice.

I had one issue, but the staff made it right. They put me in a room (1122) right next to housekeeping, and they were slamming things around and generally being loud until about 5pm, and then once at 2:30 in the morning! I would have asked to move if I was on vacation and wanted to sleep at all during the day. On checkout, the staff apologized and gave me a few points to make it up. That's what good service is about, right?

Room Tip: If you get a room that ends in '22', ask for something else. I'm guessing most of the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    40
    25
    13
    9
See reviews for
20
9
5
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

During the summer I stayed at this property 4 different times due to the proximity to NOAA. The rennovated property is very nice and the staff superb. The value is great for the DC area so I would highly recommend it to anyone driving a car but needs to take the Metro downtown.

Room Tip: The quality of rooms seems quite consistant so I never bother to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The rooms are large it and is generally clean. You can tell they have painted over something's that should be fixed. The pool is not open after labor day. (Just a side note) The amenities in the room are nice, sarbucks, loofah, good shampoo and conditioner. We got room service, reasonably priced for the area. The burgers were burgers. Easy to get to the metro. All and all it was good!

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel for a wedding, the young man behind the desk was very busy but he was able to answer every question we asked while still answering phones. He took care of my friends and I LOVED that. We went to the Bar and there was a very nice young lady named Sonell. I remember anyone who gives great service and she took care of us. When we checked in, we were given GREAT ROOMS, you get what you pay for. I can't remember everyones name, but the guy who was there that night, his name was L.A., he was very nice. I remember his name because we joked about me living in L.A. for some time. I remember telling him that he was very imformative, very respectable and fun. He told us that if we enrolled in the Starwood Program, he would give us fee internet, and he was a man of his word. We got free internet. That's what you call EXCELLENT SERVICE.I will DEFINITELY be bringing my friends back here. The Starbucks in the Lobby was GREAT. Didn't like paying for the parking but the rest of the stay was one of the best hotel stays i've had. Thank You Sonell and Thank You L.A.
The Sheraton Silver Springs is the place to Stay.

Sincerely,
Andrea K

Room Tip: If you want a good room at this hotel, call the Sheraton Silver Springs and ask for L.A., you are gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel, recently changed from Crowne Plaza to Sheraton, is an older hotel in need of some renovations. The carpets are worn and the taps on showers are sticky. Nevertheless, I had a very nice stay thanks to the excellent service from check in to check out. The service was pleasant, efficient and the staff were all very helpful. Whenever the staff met me, they always had a smile and a friendly greeting. The room was well furnished, clean and comfortable. The location, close to the metro is very convenient. The restaurant served good food with fine service (though a bit pricey). The room prices were also on the high side compared to the facilities offered. I was disappointed that the pool was closed for the season, though. The exercise room was well equipped and clean. Overall I was very satisfied with the stay and would have rated 5 if the facility had been renovated.

Room Tip: I had a room on the 15th floor which was quiet and a good view of the city skyscape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is my second visit with this hotel and both visits were extremely pleasant. The room was very clean and All of the staff including the bar tender were friendly and very willing to meet any need. I had the pleasure of being serviced by Sonnelle, Winnie, and Eugene. They gave superb customer service!! I would gladly recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naugatuck, Connecticut
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Upon arrival NO BELL MAN insight & to do Valet parking? Later noticed Bell Man was tending to another guest, understood! There was only one Bell Man available per rotating shifts and also played the role for Valet? When a Holiday Weekend is approaching I'm sure the Hotel is aware of the specified number of bookings or prospective. Not to mention they also had Weddings this particular weekend so imagine the party and guests who actually stayed I noticed a moderate amount out of state plates like my own. These particular staff should be on hand to offer services to more than one guest at a time understanding if all arrive at once its more acceptable to visibly acknowledge someone than to not. Attempting to be cost-effective can cost you valuable customers, unlikely returns and a not so good review? I must say when we did have the Bell Men their service was exceptionally GREAT! Thank You Eugene, Kareem Stewart and the other one I didn't quite get his name, my apologies!! Had dinner at the restaurant food good, service not so great, breakfast area was understaffed, service good, pancakes frozen (definite food critic), otherwise food was good loved the buffet and fresh fruit selection. Night life at the bar area, drinks & appetizers, excellent! Front desk staff was very helpful Thank You Nena, LA, Winnie and the others. ROOMS....Do not bother bringing a doggie bag home bc your food will be wasted? I do not ever recall experiencing not having a microwave or fridge readily accessible in my room?? Or both? My room was a great size plenty of space to accommodate a fridge and a microwave. My room was standard. On the other hand there is this Suite & Jr Suite?? Don't bother in either case there is a $15 daily fee to supply a fridge! WHAT?? What's the tangible definition of "SUITE"?? I must admit this hotel has definite POTENTIAL barely there presently. A plan has to be put in place. Cleaning kept up to par*****. Just did not appreciate walking down hall to smell/see dirty dinner ware from guests rooms or in the area of the ice machine & piled up. There has to be another plan in place? My apologies needless to admit someone has to feature genuinely.

Room Tip: Reg rooms are bigger & less expensive, never mind the "so called" Jr suite or Suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel

Address: 8777 Georgia Avenue, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC Silver Spring)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel is situated in the heart of downtown just minutes away from charming shops and restaurants, and quick access to anywhere in the Washington, D.C. area via the Metro which is only 3 blocks away from the hotel. The Sheraton offers complimentary shuttle transportation within 3 miles. For those trips that are outside the 3 miles the Sheraton has and in-house car service that is very competitively priced. The service is available for local runs as well as airports pickups and drop offs. Please call Guest Services for pricing. For your dining pleasure the Hotel has Mica Restaurant for Breakfast and Lunch.With a full menu and a breakfast buffet guests will be delighted with the choices available. Mica Lounge opens for Dinner and late evening snacks. Offering a Social Hour Menu from 5:00 PM to 7:00 PM daily with specials starting at $5.00. Mica has 6 Flat screen TV's so that travelers do not miss their favorite team or even their favorite Television series. The Sheraton also offer room service from 6:00 AM to 11:00 PM 7 days a week. For the extra special occasions the Sheraton has Jr. Suites and One Bedroom Suites available both with Club Lounge access. So when visiting Silver Spring, MD try out the newly renovated Sheraton and make sure to sign up for the SPG rewards program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Silver Spring
Silver Spring Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.