We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8777 Georgia Avenue, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC Silver Spring)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Convenient DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

If you are looking for a good place to stay just outside DC but easy to get to all the attractions stay here. Staff is nice and the rooms are clean. Metro stop is 2 blocks away and there is plenty to eat and do in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheldon J, General Manager at Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2014
Thank you for staying with and we hope you will continue to do so in the future

Sheldon Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    65
    32
    21
    16
See reviews for
38
15
11
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Cleanliness was superb. Kareem Stewart "bellman" was amazing, extremely helpful during checkout. He walked out bags down, helped us load them as well. I offered him a tip and he politely said no and encouraged us to come visit him again. I will definitely make this trip for this type of service and I will share my experience with friends and family in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheldon J, General Manager at Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for the nice comments. I will pass along your comments to Kareem and his department manager.

Thank you for staying with us.

Sheldon Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Flying in from out of town and this hotel refused to reserve a roll-away crib for our 2-year old. Instead, they recommended that we "try to see if they have one available upon arrival." The third person that I spoke with indicated that there was no space in the room. Then she offered to give us one for $15 a night. We will just bring our own- which of course is a huge hassle. Very disappointed in this hotel's customer service.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheldon J, General Manager at Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Kelly G,
I am sorry for your challenges.
I would like to know more about your challenges. What dates did you stay?
Please email me at sjohnson@sheratonsilverspring.com

Sheldon Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Indeed the lobby area has been refurbished and looks spacious. Check in was effective but clerk did not really know what to do with my VIP Starwood status. I pointed out that I wanted the points as welcome gift. No room upgrade or club level offered. I stayed on the same floor as my colleagues. Regarding rooms facing street or parking (in the back): my colleagues staying on the 12th floor thought that the street was noisy and I was happy with overlooking the quiet parking. Bathroom is so tiny it requires to close the door do anything in there...one last thing room AC is noisy so let it run in the evening and then shut down for the night or the blast when it switches on wakes you up. Same issue in the meeting room on the 4th floor. The rooms/bathrooms need the upgrade announced in response to previous reviews.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheldon J, General Manager at Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Axel8807,
Thank you for the feedback. As you noted we are working through the design phase of the guestroom floors. If possible could you email me so that I can have the room you stayed in looked at to see the challenges and I want to review your check-in process. My email is sjohnson@sheratonsilversprings.com

Sheldon Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We recently had a family reunion here. The facility was excellent and so were the staff with whom I personally had contact. One relative had a falling out with the hotel because her household were not accommodated in a large enough suite as agreed. She may provide a more critical review on this or some other site. Otherwise it held up its AAA 3 diamond rating well. The room was clean, smoke-free and appropriately supplied. There was indeed an advertised free shuttle with a three mile radius. Once a staffer picked up a handful of us for return from a nearby restaurant dinner after the shuttle "forgot." There was room service available for breakfast starting as early as 6:30 AM. They did seem to arrive within the promised 15-minute window. The A/C worked so well it had to be turned down at the wall thermostat. The TV worked as did the morning wake-up call. The radio told time well enough but I couldn't get the alarm nor the broadcast receiver to work. If I'd stayed longer and wanted them more, maybe the staff would have fixed that too. The onsite restaurant was satisfactory, and the staff on request supplied a list that even included vegetarian-friendly establishments. I didn't happen to try the wi-fi access but the computer technology seemed to work well for staffers. Neither the shuttle chauffeur nor the room service staff held out a hand for a tip, so you have to use your own judgment what's appropriate gratuity for them. The consensus among my relatives was that $2 or so per person served was about right.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheldon J, General Manager at Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear David,
Thank you for your feedback from your stay. We try to accommodate all guests with their requests and follow the contract to the letter.
By your review it seems that you did experience all parts of our hotel and I am grateful for the review.

Sheldon Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
332 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Silver Spring is approx 30 minute metro ride or $20 cab ride to DC. Was here for business, so do not know much about price, etc. Food is good. Bar closes at 11. It is about a 1/2 mile walk to the metro and 1/4 mile to the downtown area where restaurants, etc. are. Staff was very helpful and friendly. It was fairly quiet.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheldon J, General Manager at Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear MSA23,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay.
I see that you experienced the area and the hotel amenities. We also do have a shuttle that runs within 3 miles of the hotels so getting to the metro is very easy.
Our Mica lounge closes Sunday through Thursday at 11Pm and Friday and Saturday at 1AM

Sheldon Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I park in the hotel on a monthly basis and go through the lobby to get to the garage. The staff is exceptionally friendly and alwlays make me feel like I am a guest in the executive suite. I recommend you contact LA (yes that is his name) if you plan to stay at the hotel and have any questions. He is extremely helpful and friendly and you will be in good hands.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheldon J, General Manager at Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for your comments and recognizing one of our associates. I will pass along your comments.

Sheldon Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Spring
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#4 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#5 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel

Address: 8777 Georgia Avenue, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC Silver Spring)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel is situated in the heart of downtown just minutes away from charming shops and restaurants, and quick access to anywhere in the Washington, D.C. area via the Metro which is only 3 blocks away from the hotel. The Sheraton offers complimentary shuttle transportation within 3 miles. For those trips that are outside the 3 miles the Sheraton has and in-house car service that is very competitively priced. The service is available for local runs as well as airports pickups and drop offs. Please call Guest Services for pricing. For your dining pleasure the Hotel has Mica Restaurant for Breakfast and Lunch.With a full menu and a breakfast buffet guests will be delighted with the choices available. Mica Lounge opens for Dinner and late evening snacks. Offering a Social Hour Menu from 5:00 PM to 7:00 PM daily with specials starting at $5.00. Mica has 6 Flat screen TV's so that travelers do not miss their favorite team or even their favorite Television series. The Sheraton also offer room service from 6:00 AM to 11:00 PM 7 days a week. For the extra special occasions the Sheraton has Jr. Suites and One Bedroom Suites available both with Club Lounge access. So when visiting Silver Spring, MD try out the newly renovated Sheraton and make sure to sign up for the SPG rewards program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Starwood, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Silver Spring
Silver Spring Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.