We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your standard Maryland experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8777 Georgia Avenue, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC Silver Spring)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Your standard Maryland experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Sheraton in Silver Spring, MD for our week vacation in DC. It was cheaper than staying in the District, but close enough to the Metro to enable us to get into town every day.

Our experience with the hotel was pretty standard. It's nice that there is a Starbucks in the lobby, and the restaurant and lounge looked nice, but we didn't use them.

It rained many of the days we were in town and, unfortunately, the hotel did not offer umbrellas to borrow for the day. They did, however, offer a free shuttle anywhere within 3 miles - so we took the shuttle to the Metro a couple days. It's first-come/first-served, so sometimes the shuttle required a bit of a wait, but I think the longest we waited was about 10-15 minutes. They won't let you call from your room to request it; you have to be in the lobby waiting.

We ordered room service one night. It was fast, correct, and tasty. We even asked for extra ketchup and they ran down and brought us back 4 little ketchup bottles!

The bed was pretty hard for me. I woke up every morning with back pain. My boyfriend slept just fine, and he usually has problems. And the pillows are nothing but air. I asked for a firmer pillow and they didn't have any.

If you're looking for a tasty yet simple breakfast/lunch/dinner, the Tastee Diner on Cameron is right around the corner and is great. Also, the deli just across the street was pretty good for quick sandwiches.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheldon J, General Manager at Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you Boston Tour Guide,
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. We have umbrellas but obviously we do not have enough of them available for our guests. We are ordering more to have them available so guests can check them out during their stay.
Next time you are in town I hope you will stay with us and experience the lounge food and beverage offerings.

Hope to see you back at the hotel soon.


Sheldon Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    47
    26
    14
    12
See reviews for
25
10
7
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I have just spent 5 nights at this hotel and my evaluation changed significantly in that time.
It is a 10 minute easy uphill walk from the Silver Spring Metro station and the hotel offers a free shuttle service so that is not an issue.
It is a 15 minute train ride from Union Station but with the service running at 10 minute intervals it was not a problem.
By the end of my stay i felt like a regular commuter and was able to appreciate the warmth of the locals.
The hotel is an older construction but everything was clean and functioning. The brown corporate Sheraton colour scheme hides the freshness.
My room had 2 queen size beds and they were EXCELLENT. They felt like new pillow top mattresses. The linen was fresh and crisp.
There was a decent table to work on and a comfy chair to relax in.
The bathroom was a bit compact but one doesnt live in the bathroom.
The staff were always pleasant, friendly and helpful. I did experience two instances of slow service.
The breakfasts were big and good value. A full breakfast was $15 inc taxes.
The bar snacks/meals were to expectation and not expensive.
Wifi in the lobby/bar/dining area is free and was good enough for skype calls in video. Wifi in the room was at user expense

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheldon J, General Manager at Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Good Morning Mal E,
I wanted to thank you for your comments regarding your stay during October. It sounds like you took full advantage of the amenities of the hotel during your stay. The hotel public areas were renovated a year ago and the new colors are the Sheraton brand colors. We have just started a new Happy Hour and NFL game day in the lounge with special pricing on appetizers and beverages.
I hope you are able to come back for a visit in the future as see the changes to our menus as we just hired a new Chef.

Safe travels.

Sheldon Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

through the years they have gone through numerous flag changes, but nothing covers up poor service. Front desk rude, restaurant expensive, slow, and moderate quality. Asked for GM to express concerns, waited 20 minutes, asked again and was told he was busy interviewing, REALLY?!?!? I will never stay here again, there are loads more in the area, id advise you do the same.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheldon J, General Manager at Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Good Morning Darien R,
I am sorry that your experience at the hotel was not what you expected and that you were unable to speak with a Manager on Duty as I was not on property during your stay. We have a MOD at all times on duty at the hotel and I have taken your comment to the departments that you experienced challenges with regarding the service and quality of food. We have just hired a new Executive Chef that will be transforming our food and beverage offering in all of our outlets. I ask that you give us another try and I am sure that you will have a different pleasant experience.
You may call me to discuss this at your convenience, just call the hotel at (301) 589-0800 and ask for the General Manager

I hope to see you back that Sheraton Silver Spring.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Tennessee
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here on a recent business trip and attended a meeting at the hotel. This hotel is about 4 blocks from the Metro. There are a lot of places to eat and shop within walking distance. The Silver Spring pedestrian mall is about 4 blocks away - same street as Metro. Lots of shops and restaurants in the Mall. Staff was very friendly and efficient. Property has been recently remodeled with bar restaurant and Starbucks all on ground floor off lobby. Room was large and well-appointed and our rate included WiFi. I would stay here again in the Silver Spring area.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room to avoid any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheldon J, General Manager at Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Good Morning CruiserHoo,
I am happy that your experience was up to your expectations during your recent stay. When you return you will find that our Mica lounge will be have special Happy Hour menus and prices plus during football season we have specials geared to the football fan. This way you do not have to leave the hotel for a great food and beverage experience. But if you do remember we have a shuttle to take you anywhere in a 3 mile radius of the hotel.

Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed as part of a recent meeting held on property. Hotel is a couple of blocks from Metro or Marc stops but there are lots of shops and restaurants nearby within easy walking distance. Front desk staff was friendly and efficient. Property has been recently remodeled with bar restaurant and Starbucks all on ground floor off lobby. Room was large and well-appointed and our rate included wifi. Note the elevators are on one side of the building so there is a slight walk if your room is on the far end of the hall. There is a small outdoor pool on the 5th floor, next to the small but adequate gym, easy off street parking access, complimentary shuttle within a 3 mile radius. There is a small business area with wifi off the lobby too. All in all a good place to stay in the Silver Spring area.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSilverSpring, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hello roadgeeks,

Thank you for staying at the Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was friendly and they were able to take care of you during while you were here. It’s nice to hear that you enjoyed your room and were able to take in some of what the city has to offer and that our shuttle service was able to help you out. The Starbucks has been a nice addition to our recently renovated lobby area. The Sheraton Fitness has been recently renovated as well; all though it may seem smaller it has great equipment to use.
Hopefully we will see you again next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,

Jill K.
Rooms Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed here for a weenkend.Staff were friendly and helpful .I am deaf but they went out of their way to help. The room was very clean and spaceous. They should offer a free breakfast , even if its only on weeknend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSilverSpring, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hello Charmy73,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. It’s great to hear that our staff went out of their way to ensure that you had a pleasant stay and that they were there to help out in any way that they could. We try our best to make sure our guest have clean and comfortable room to stay in. We always welcome feedback and thank you for yours, we do offer a variety of different package rates that include hotel services, such as breakfast and parking specials. You are able to view all of our package rates on our website at www.sheraton.com/silverspring.

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Jill K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for some meetings at my corporate office close by. I picked this hotel because it is within walking distance to the office so obviously super convenient. They also offer a shuttle service which is great. The hotel is also within walking distance of several restaurants and is about a 25-30 min cab ride to Georgetown. The front desk staff was great, very nice and very quick. The hotel lobby is modern with a bar, restaurant and Starbucks. The room fell a little short for me, the bed was comfy but the rugs and the room in general seemed worn to me. The rooms are big and have all the things you would need when on a business trip but felt a little dated. Room service in the morning also took forever, they finally came as I had to leave so did not get to enjoy. Other than that, everything else was fine, rooms just need a little more updating. It was all clean though!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSilverSpring, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Hello Mga001,

We appreciagte you taking the time to review your stay. I am glad that you were able to use the hotel shuttle and were able to see the city. I am also glad that our front desk staff was able to take care of you while you were here. The hotel will be going thorough a renovation in the next year which will give the rooms a nice facelift and updated look. Thank you again for sharing your comments.

Sincerely,

JIll K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel

Address: 8777 Georgia Avenue, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC Silver Spring)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel is situated in the heart of downtown just minutes away from charming shops and restaurants, and quick access to anywhere in the Washington, D.C. area via the Metro which is only 3 blocks away from the hotel. The Sheraton offers complimentary shuttle transportation within 3 miles. For those trips that are outside the 3 miles the Sheraton has and in-house car service that is very competitively priced. The service is available for local runs as well as airports pickups and drop offs. Please call Guest Services for pricing. For your dining pleasure the Hotel has Mica Restaurant for Breakfast and Lunch.With a full menu and a breakfast buffet guests will be delighted with the choices available. Mica Lounge opens for Dinner and late evening snacks. Offering a Social Hour Menu from 5:00 PM to 7:00 PM daily with specials starting at $5.00. Mica has 6 Flat screen TV's so that travelers do not miss their favorite team or even their favorite Television series. The Sheraton also offer room service from 6:00 AM to 11:00 PM 7 days a week. For the extra special occasions the Sheraton has Jr. Suites and One Bedroom Suites available both with Club Lounge access. So when visiting Silver Spring, MD try out the newly renovated Sheraton and make sure to sign up for the SPG rewards program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Silver Spring
Silver Spring Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.