We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8777 Georgia Avenue, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC Silver Spring)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
wales
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Checked in with our large wheelchair van. Doorman gave us excellent parking spot in garage near front entrance. Doorman and front desk staff made us feel welcome. Accessible room unavailable when we made reservations months ago(Vietnam Vets Assoc. there was probable reason). Room was okay but no fridge or microwave. Fridge rented for $15/day. 1st hotel on 4 week trip without both. Should have checked with Rent-A-Center! Bathroom closet size. Not enough room to fall down! Not up to our previous Sheridan standards. Staff excellent though, ESP Ron, doorman, concierge? Hold your patience for hotel restaurant(Mica). See separate review.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSilverSpring, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Hello Toxeyron,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay here at the Sheraton Silver Spring. It is nice to hear that our doormen was able to help you out with the parking and that Ron was able to help you out during your stay. I am however sorry that we were not able to accommodate your request for an accessible room. I will share your comments about the refrigerator and microwave with our owners because we are always looking for ways to improve the hotel and depend on feedback from our guest to achieve that. Hopefully we will see you back in the future.

Thank you,

Jill K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    47
    26
    14
    12
See reviews for
25
10
7
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Ilinois
Top Contributor
367 reviews 367 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I am a frequent guest at this hotel, which has repeatedly hosted a business conference that I attend regularly. Since the takeover by Sheraton, the property has continually improved. The common areas and business meeting rooms are open, spacious and comfortable. The staff are very accommodating. The banquet buffets are well-prepared and offer fresh and healthful food choices. The elevators are rather slow. The guest rooms, though very tidy, are very ordinary and sparsely appointed. Soundproofing is minimal: there was a large group of teenagers staying at the property; and, as is the wont of the youth, their scampering and chattering was distracting. On site parking in a covered garage is ample. The equipment in the fitness center is good; but the number of stations is small, inadequate for peak hours.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators to minimize noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed weekend of April 13, 2013. Two adjacent rooms with connecting door. Was expecting just two adjacent rooms, but person checking us in asked if we wanted connecting, and we appreciated the suggestion. Check-in person was quite personable and efficient and my family had a pleasant interaction with her. Quality of lobby was fine, and appeared recently renovated. Up-to-date colors and surfaces. Comfortable seating. Beds in rooms were comfortable, air-conditioning worked fine, furniture appeared nearly new. In one room we had a slow-draining sink, and this really was the only nit-pick we could think of. Parking and breakfast was included in our rate. Parking is underneath the hotel, and the access/gate system was not functioning while we were there. However, that did not impair our access to parking. Breakfast was plentiful, well presented, good quality. The hotel appears to be going through a slow renovation, with a focus on the interior. The outside structure looked in need of a bit of painting on the upper stories, but inside the place looked brand-new. It's easy to get from this hotel to 16th Street, which is main thoroughfare to get downtown.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSilverSpring, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear FromPennsylvania_13,

Thank you for your comments and we appreciate your feed back. I am extremely happy that you were able to enjoy the Cherry blossom festival. We have gone thorought a partial renovation with more exciting things to come this year as well. I hope that when you are in the area agian that you will come back and see us.

Thank you again for your kind comments and we look forward to seein you again!

Jill K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The staff at the hotel are so friendly, helpful and nice, especially Endy who drove me to/from work in the hotel's free local shuttle van every day. I had an issue with my bill each of the three weeks I stayed there, so check your receipts. When I caught the error(s) at check-out the issue was resolved quickly, but for one problem I had to keep following-up to get a resolution. The food at the hotel is pretty good as well, as far as hotel food is concerned.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSilverSpring, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Good afternoon Caroline B.

I want to thank you for taking the time to review your stay here at the Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay and that Endy was able to take care of you while you werer here. It's always a pleasure to have our guest recognize one of our staff members. I have passed on your comments to Endy as well and was thrilled that was able to make your stay enjoyable. I am sorry that you had some issues with our billing and I hope that everything was worked out, if not please contact the hotel or myself and we will take care of any issues you might still have. I hope that you will come back and visit us next time you are in the area.

Thank you and have a great day!

Jill K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
329 reviews 329 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My family was looking for a nice hotel close to Washington, DC. We have beeen there many times and often wasted too much time commuting from the hinterlands to the District to see the sights. Vacation time is limited and who wants to waste it commuting?
Turns out we found a small gem at the Sheraton Silver Spring. Located a short, two block walk from DC's excellent Metro system keeps wasted time commuting low.
Also, the hotel offered breakfast and pre-dinner snacks in the club lounge for only an additional $25 a day. The food was plentiful and we skipped another tourist time waster--waiting for breakfast to be prepared.
The staff was especially outgoing and helpful. Kudos to Anthony who greeted us cheerfully with breakfast most mornings.
Minor criticism is that I felt a bit cramped in the room, but the pluses more than made up for this.
Also, the hotel tells customers in advance there is a daily car parking charge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSilverSpring, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Good afternoon Panpanda,

Thank you for sharing your experience here at the Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel. We appreciate the feedback as well about the parking charges, that is something we can work with the staff to improve our communication with our guest. .
Athony was thrilled to hear that he was able to make your stay more enjoyable. Not only did you find your gem it sounds like we found a new member of the Sheraton family as well. We are glad that we were able to make your vacation more memorable.

Thank you,

Jill K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Sheraton is about three blocks from Silver Springs newest shopping/dining area and perfectly situated for a drive down 16th into NW Washington. We got a wonderful rate as well -- even considering that parking and WiFi access are extra. Rooms are good with excellent beds, showers and ventilation. One drawback is that it is a hotel and does not offer lobby amenities associated with motels such as coffee service (there are are in-room one-cup machines).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We were on a business trip during their renovation. Although there was some minor inconvenience, the positives outweighed the negatives. Valet parking was efficient. Room service very fast. A block off the main drag, but easy walking distance to restaurants and Starbucks!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel

Address: 8777 Georgia Avenue, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC Silver Spring)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel is situated in the heart of downtown just minutes away from charming shops and restaurants, and quick access to anywhere in the Washington, D.C. area via the Metro which is only 3 blocks away from the hotel. The Sheraton offers complimentary shuttle transportation within 3 miles. For those trips that are outside the 3 miles the Sheraton has and in-house car service that is very competitively priced. The service is available for local runs as well as airports pickups and drop offs. Please call Guest Services for pricing. For your dining pleasure the Hotel has Mica Restaurant for Breakfast and Lunch.With a full menu and a breakfast buffet guests will be delighted with the choices available. Mica Lounge opens for Dinner and late evening snacks. Offering a Social Hour Menu from 5:00 PM to 7:00 PM daily with specials starting at $5.00. Mica has 6 Flat screen TV's so that travelers do not miss their favorite team or even their favorite Television series. The Sheraton also offer room service from 6:00 AM to 11:00 PM 7 days a week. For the extra special occasions the Sheraton has Jr. Suites and One Bedroom Suites available both with Club Lounge access. So when visiting Silver Spring, MD try out the newly renovated Sheraton and make sure to sign up for the SPG rewards program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Silver Spring
Silver Spring Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.