We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8777 Georgia Avenue, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC Silver Spring)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Tough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It is always tough to try to stay open during a renovation, but that was not the problem with this trip. Front desk staff were not trained well and it took entirely too much time to get checked in. I hate standing in line with rude guests who complain loudly, but I was feeling their pain during this July 4th trip. The rooms were just fine.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    40
    25
    13
    9
See reviews for
20
9
5
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Great stay. Staff was great, rooms are renovated. Great stay! Kristen and Toni are the best. They made sure my last min group booking was smooth. Very convienient location for getting to the metro to go into Downtown DC.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for the review of our hotel. I'm pleased to read that your stay with us was memorable. I'm also happy to know that you were satisified with various aspects of the hotel including our rooms, staff and location.

We take pride in the excellent level of service that we provide for our guest's, and it's comforting to know that two staff members accomodated your group from beginning to end.

Sheraton is about creating connections and living up to the expectations of each and every guest.

Thank you again for the positive feedback and we look forward to serving you during your next visit to the area.

Thank you,

Shawn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

I booked a large group of rooms last minute. Toni and Kristen were amazing! They greeted the group as we arrived and saw the group off as we left. The hotel has been recently renovated and looked great. Rooms were clean and modern. Great service and nice stay! Would definatly recommend this hotel if in the DC area (also very close to the metro station)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSilverSpring, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear chareymongo,

Thank you for making us your hotel of choice when staying in Silver Spring, Maryland and take the time to share your feedback with us. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your Sheraton experience and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Safe travels!

Jill K.
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Goods points: Nice TV, great beds. That’s it. The rooms smell, at least mine did when I asked to see if there was a room where windows opened they said “We will call you back” they never did. Went to the gym, the bike, the only had a broken seat. After a bike less workout the shower ran out of water. Not hot water, all water. In fact that happened twice. Breakfast buffet $14.00, internet $10.00 a day in room. When I recounted my experience all I got was I’m sorry and can I offer you free breakfast. Sleep in your car. At least you know beforehand there is no water.

Room Tip: Find one somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for the comments regarding your stay with us. We appreciate your feedback though we regret that your experience did not live up to your expectations.

Please accept our deepest apologies. We strive to provide each guest best in class service and we are disappointed that we fell short of delivering a memorable experience for you during your stay.

Please consider giving us another opportunity to serve you as our guest when traveling to the Silver Spring area, and let me know when you are coming in. I will be happy to personally make your reservation and address any concerns you may have.

Again, we appreciate your comments and look forward to serving you should your travels bring you back to the Silver Spring area.


Thank you,

Shawn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast, Ca
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

I was here in business and was so very pleased with the staff! To a person, they were friendly, helpful, and most important to me, kind! Whether it was the bar tender, front desk staff, restaurant staff, maintenance, or management, they always had a smile, a greeting, and sometimes, even some soup. When in the DC area again, I will most definitely make this hotel my home away from home!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for the nice comments about your stay here at the Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed our property and I hope you will stay with us the next time you are in the area. We appreciate your business and look forward to connecting with you on your next vist to the Silver Spring area.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Ilinois
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

When this hotel was a Crowne Plaza, it was awful. Under the new ownership and management by Starwood (Sheraton), it is much improved. The lobby and restaurants have been completely rennovated. THe rooms have been updated and refreshed. The staff are much more pleasant and attentive. I hope it stays this way.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn M, General Manager at Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel. My entire Team thanks you for taking the time to offer your feedback regarding your stay. When traveling to the Silver Spring area it will be our pleasure of serving you again should your travels return you to the area.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel just for a night and i was ready to move on. No free wifi... no complementary bf....no mini bar..... and the pool was very dirty.... reception staff very impolite.... i guess they need to pay a littlemore attention to their guests when we are talking....when i was checking in... i was clearing my doubts with the receptionist... i found she was so occupied looking at someone else walking out of the elevator... i stopped talking... my whole family felt offended.. we wanted to walk out just then.... but since it was late afternoon....we dint. Next day...The bf we ordered in the morning came incomplete first and then after repeated calls they bought the rest. As i said the staff lacks attention. This was not expected from sheraton.... but i think only the name is hyped about.... service horrible.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel

Address: 8777 Georgia Avenue, Silver Spring, MD 20910 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Washington DC Silver Spring)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel is situated in the heart of downtown just minutes away from charming shops and restaurants, and quick access to anywhere in the Washington, D.C. area via the Metro which is only 3 blocks away from the hotel. The Sheraton offers complimentary shuttle transportation within 3 miles. For those trips that are outside the 3 miles the Sheraton has and in-house car service that is very competitively priced. The service is available for local runs as well as airports pickups and drop offs. Please call Guest Services for pricing. For your dining pleasure the Hotel has Mica Restaurant for Breakfast and Lunch.With a full menu and a breakfast buffet guests will be delighted with the choices available. Mica Lounge opens for Dinner and late evening snacks. Offering a Social Hour Menu from 5:00 PM to 7:00 PM daily with specials starting at $5.00. Mica has 6 Flat screen TV's so that travelers do not miss their favorite team or even their favorite Television series. The Sheraton also offer room service from 6:00 AM to 11:00 PM 7 days a week. For the extra special occasions the Sheraton has Jr. Suites and One Bedroom Suites available both with Club Lounge access. So when visiting Silver Spring, MD try out the newly renovated Sheraton and make sure to sign up for the SPG rewards program. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Silver Spring
Silver Spring Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.