We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by it's cover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7990 Georgia Avenue, Silver Spring, MD 20910-4860 (Formerly Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senoia, Georgia, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by it's cover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

If I had seen this hotel before I booked it, I would have driven by. The outside is dated, tired and the bulbs in the sign are half out. However because of the TripAdvisor reviews we gave it a try. LOVED IT ! Beautiful modern rooms, gas station next door with arrangement of items to keep the family happy till meal-time, decent part of time, 15 min. drive (without traffic) to downtown DC.

The breakfast was wonderful: toasted bagels, yogurt, scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, etc. Hot and ready. Staff was fabulous ! I am a single parent and felt very welcomed and safe here.

I did not give this property a full 5 star rating because you have to pay an additional $10 a day for parking and is not close to the Metro. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: If you compare the cost to the same size room in downtown DC, expect to pay over $250 a night. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

We are renovating the entire hotel and look forward to a "New Look" and have a chance to continue to win your business.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend and stay with us again.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    67
    31
    12
    12
See reviews for
45
41
21
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a week on business. It was considerably cheaper ($110) than the other hotels within walking distance of the meetings ($180 or higher). It is a 10 minute walk from the metro station. Check-in was efficient. The rooms were well-kept. A/c too noisy to keep on at night. Pillows strangely very tiny, but otherwise sleep was not bad. The main issue was being woken up before 7pm by the traffic at the noisy intersection. Breakfast was free and adequate, and the breakfast staff were very helpful and polite. Wi-fi also free and worked very well with no dropouts. Overall, good value for money in terms of the room.

The main downside is that the hotel is in a very sketchy area, a couple of blocks on the 'wrong side of the tracks'. The hotel rooms have a sign "Please Bolt The Door" and there are some signs of forced entry on the doors. It was unnerving walking back from dinner at 9pm. Several people were loitering outside the hotel, though there was a security guard. Perhaps in a couple of years, as the south side of Silver Spring continues to develop, this will become less of an issue.

Room Tip: Room away from the noisy intersection are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

We are planning to renovate the entire hotel and look forward to a "New Look" and have a chance to win your business back in 2014.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend and stay with us again.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

This hotel is very basic. The bathroom was small with no counter space. It was difficult to comfortably get ready for anything in it. The beds had very small square pillow that were rather odd. Breakfast was only so so also. I stayed here because it was only 5 miles from where I needed to be in Washington D.C. Had to pay to park which is ok but I was unaware of that fact till I arrived. Didn't book direct with hotel so that may have been the problem. They are supposed to be starting renovations this year but I will not stay again. Very small elevators and front desk people ranged from very good to "are you kidding me!"

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

We are planning to renovate the entire hotel and look forward to a New Look and have a chance to win your business back in 2014.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend and stay with us again.


Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

After comparing various hotels in the Silver Spring area, we decided to stay at the Comfort Inn. The ratings were good and the price was better than for most well-rated hotels in the area (although a lot higher than for hotels outside of the D.C. area in general). Check-in was slow but not unacceptably so. Parking was an additional $10 and several signs in the parking area (not responsible for theft, etc.) made us worry about whether our car was likely to be broken into (it wasn't). The area surrounding the hotel had both trendy places and rundown places - a transitioning neighborhood. We felt safe in the hotel itself. The elevator ran well although it was not great looking. The hallway outside our room was functional but the carpet was dated. The most pleasant aspect was the room itself. It clearly had been renovated fairly recently and was very nice. The bedding was attractive and the room was roomy. The bathroom was normal - not great, not bad. There was a complimentary breakfast which included eggs, bacon, sausage, yogurt, fruit, bagels, and some other breads. The food was good. However, there was no place to sit in the small eating area so we had to take our food up to our room to eat. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was right next to the elevator. A little noisy in the morning with people rolling their ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

We are planning to renovate the entire hotel and look forward to a New Look.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend and stay with us again.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I stayed in this hotel because every other hotel in DC was booked. I'd suggest that's probably the only reason I'd stay again. The plus side was that the staff were courteous and professional, but I was in a smoking room where the whole corridor stank of stale smoke (I'm a nonsmoker), the decor is outdated, there were stains on the carpet and a hair in the bath. The view was of a gas station, and it sounded like there were a herd of elephants in the room above me. I am truly incredulous that anyone would give this a five star rating. It only got two from me because the staff were pleasant, the place itself only gets one star.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business. Please contact our General Manager for your inconvenience and we apologize that your stay was not legendary.

We are planning to renovate our entire hotel in 2014 and I am sorry you were given a smoking room.

Our hotel will be addressing all matters concerning your guest experience. I hope you give us another chance to "win" your business.

Thank you for your comment and your concerns,


Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My Daughter and I stayed at this excellent hotel during our 1st visit to DC. It was truly a fantastic experience. The staff was very courteous and professional, and address our specific needs. They have a shuttle service to the metro station and other points in downtown Silver Spring during the week, which was extremely convenient. Ms. Hema Azmera, front desk manager, was exceptional! As were all other staff. We will DEFINATELY stay there again! Additionally, they offer a full complimentary breakfast, which saved money for us.

Room Tip: If there's a musty smell, don't stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in the third week of March 2014. It has clean rooms with microwave and refrigerator. In addition, you get free sumptuous breakfast. They serve eggs, cereals, juice, coffee, yogurt, bagels, waffles, bread toast, sausage, etc. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. It is very close to Metro and to downtown Washington DC itself. We took a cab all the way to Capitol to catch the early morning guided tour and it cost us about $25 and 30 minutes. It is not a fancy place but provides you clean comfort at the best price.

Room Tip: Best rates on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring

Address: 7990 Georgia Avenue, Silver Spring, MD 20910-4860 (Formerly Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
127 Newly Renovated Guest Rooms & Public Area's as of December 16, 2014 Complimentary Deluxe Hot Breakfast Restaurants & Lounge's within walking distance Interior Corridors, Two Elevators & every guest room has a Microwave & Refrigerator 4 blocks from Metro Station Complimentary Shuttle(7am-9pm/Mon-Fri) Valet & Self-Parking available($10 a day) Bus Parking is Free for Groups Free Fitness Center & Business Center Stay with us to earn & use your IHG Rewards any where in the World & with us Free Wireless & Cable High Speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/Dc Gateway Hotel Silver Spring
Silver Spring Comfort Inn
Silver Spring Ramada
Ramada Silver Spring

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.