We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7990 Georgia Avenue, Silver Spring, MD 20910-4860   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Silver Spring
1 review
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My Daughter and I stayed at this excellent hotel during our 1st visit to DC. It was truly a fantastic experience. The staff was very courteous and professional, and address our specific needs. They have a shuttle service to the metro station and other points in downtown Silver Spring during the week, which was extremely convenient. Ms. Hema Azmera, front desk manager, was exceptional! As were all other staff. We will DEFINATELY stay there again! Additionally, they offer a full complimentary breakfast, which saved money for us.

Room Tip: If there's a musty smell, don't stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    60
    25
    9
    7
See reviews for
40
33
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in the third week of March 2014. It has clean rooms with microwave and refrigerator. In addition, you get free sumptuous breakfast. They serve eggs, cereals, juice, coffee, yogurt, bagels, waffles, bread toast, sausage, etc. The staff at the hotel are very friendly and helpful. It is very close to Metro and to downtown Washington DC itself. We took a cab all the way to Capitol to catch the early morning guided tour and it cost us about $25 and 30 minutes. It is not a fancy place but provides you clean comfort at the best price.

Room Tip: Best rates on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I and my wife with 02 teenagers booked 02 rooms at this hotel for 04 nights on our 1st visit to Washington DC in March 2014, which is about 5 miles or 20 mits away from key attractions in DC.

From the time we arrived everything went wrong and I found disastrous; they have messed up our type reservation made 02 months in advance;. Rooms, carpets, lobby, elevators everything dated and un-cleaned . I really blamed myself for selecting this place.

I gave up every plans in the 1st evening and went around to find another hotel and flowing day itself I check in to a hotel at Colesville Rd, Silver Spring, very clean hotel run by yet another known chain.

The unexpected experience completely ruined one day of our precious trip. We will never ever think about returning this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business. Please contact our General Manager for your inconvenience and we apologize that your stay was not legendary.

Our hotel will be addressing all matters concerning your guest experience. I hope you give us another chance to "win" your business.

Thank you for your comment and your concerns,


Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We had been traveling with our school from South Carolina to work at a nearby convention. And let me tell you, housing a group of 100 students isn't easy! Luckily, this choice hotel met our every need. As soon as we arrived at the hotel they greeted us with a warm, friendly welcome. The manager on site, Donna, was so understanding and easy to partner with. All of the staff, from managers to security guards, were attentive and understanding during our stay at the Comfort Inn. Due to our early working hours we could not make the provided continental breakfast. The staff decided to extend the hours of the breakfast so that we could eat before work. We are so thankful for everyone who made our stay amazing!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LINDENHURST
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Clean and comfortable accommodations with a nice continental breakfast served on time with a PC nearby. Free WiFI. Attentive staff. Location dictates a parking fee but otherwise reasonably priced for this location near DC and Metro station into DC.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, MD
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It's nothing luxury but it's a comfort inn. It was clean,neat, comfortable and provided everything I needed. The water pressure was good in the shower. The staff were accommodating towards our needs. Parking was a bit of a pain but to be expected for the area. Breakfast was a bit lacking but did the trick.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were coming into town for a Marine Ball in Washington D.C. and after driving 7 hours from New York to get to the hotel, it was quite a disappointment to see how this hotel was being run. The front Desk Attendants always looked like they were confused and had no idea what was going on. A reason why I will never recommend this hotel to anyone is their lack of knowledge for security. Upon checking into this hotel with a lobby filled with people I did not know, mine and friends room numbers were yelled right out for anyone with ears to hear. The city itself was beautiful and seemed safe, but none the less, room numbers are not something that should be shouted out. This happened several times during our trip when we had to get new keys. This is just poor training policy. The staff was friendly but it felt like anytime we went up there, we were disturbing them. The rooms and Hotel themselves are very nice. Clean, taken care of, but small. I was disappointed with the size of the KING room. It was no bigger than college dorm room. The breakfast was nothing more than undersized doughnuts and warm yogurt. All in all, it got the job done, but I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business. Please contact our General Manager for your inconvience and we apologize that your stay was not legendary.

Our hotel will be addressing all matters concerning your guest experience. I hope you give us another chance to "win" your business.

Thank you for your comment and your concerns,


Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway

Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/Dc Gateway Hotel
Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/Dc Gateway Hotel Silver Spring
Silver Spring Comfort Inn
Silver Spring Ramada
Ramada Silver Spring
Address: 7990 Georgia Avenue, Silver Spring, MD 20910-4860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have just completed a hotel renovation as of February 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Choice Hotels, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.