We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7990 Georgia Avenue, Silver Spring, MD 20910-4860   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Excellent value for Washington area. Elevator and hallway was a bit dated but room was large and new. The room was very clean with very comfortable beds and quiet Air Conditioner. It had a large flat screen TV and Safe. Parking was cheap for the location $10. The free breakfast was complete with hot and cold cereals, eggs, juices, coffee and waffles. The hotel is a bit of a distance from the downtown main street, so exercise a bit of caution when walking around the area. Overall the hotel is an excellent value for your money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    65
    26
    11
    9
See reviews for
42
39
19
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Hotel outside and hallway was a little dated but room was new and very clean. It is about a 10 minute walk to the metro station which has been closed on weekends only for maintenance so you take a free shuttle to NoMu station then pick up the Metro to the Mall or wherever. Hotel provides a shuttle to and from the Metro and we never had to wait over 2 minutes going. We always walked coming back. Parking is $10/day. Everyone is very friendly and we were able to check in an hour early without a problem. The breakfast area is small but that was a problem on only one day (Sunday) and only if you wanted a waffle. The breakfast area is very well attended and I never saw where they ever ran out of food. As mentioned before it is a hot breakfast - waffles, eggs, and sausage plus all the usual continental foods-plenty of food. We were on the top floor away from the elevator which was extremely quiet. There is an air conditioning unit that is head high next to the bed which for us provided the right amount of white nose so we never heard any outside noise. There is a plastic baffle that directs the cool air over your bed not in your face. It would have been nice to have a list of TV stations in the room. Not advertised it seems is they have both the Wall Street Journal and USA today at the desk each day. I never felt that safety was an issue. In fact everyone from waitresses to metro agents to those at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful. I personally would have liked maybe being closer to downtown Silver Spring. Yet there is a very good seafood and burger place not too far away. Just ask the desk and they will give you directions. We were very happy staying in Silver Spring. I would not hesitate and already have recommended this to a friend. But comparison shop. If this place is less expensive than other places in Silver Spring then stay here.

Room Tip: Top floor away from the elevator was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 176 cities Reviews in 176 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have stayed here before, it is, as other contibutors say reasonably priced for Washington DC, as is the parking fee. Just a stroll to the Metro (though when we were there it was closed for maintenance and we had to board replacement buses - but the bus was free - so the cost on the Metro was cheaper !) Good comfortable bedrooms, we were in 312. It was clean and kept clean throughout our three night visit. Plenty of restaurants close by, our first to an Ethiopian, novel. Good breakfast, kept 'topped up', so lots to eat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Great continental breakfast! Hot and cold with wide variety. You have to pay 10$ for parking but it is downtown and the room price was a little cheaper than surrounding accommodations so it evened out. It's not the most convenient place for walking to the middle of downtown where everything's at. The hotel has a little wear and tear mainly in elevator and halways but I did see some people working on some rooms so they care about keeping everything in working condition. Overall the rooms were comfortable, clean, quiet, no bugs and had all needed amenities such as mini fridge, microwave, hair dryer, flat screen. Staff was friendly and helpful too!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel is a reasonably priced hotel. It is close to the metro and there are some good restaurants close by. There are a lot of Ethiopian restaurants but also Thai, Indian etc. It is basic but has everything needed--TV, free WiFi in the room and the staff is friendly and helpful. Most people find the buffet breakfast suitable. In this day of obesity and diabetes I would have liked to see some whole grain bread and some plain unsweetened yogurt. The breakfast staff is very friendly. The hotel rooms are clean and the king sized bed was comfortable. I would stay here again. There is no restaurant except for the breakfast and there is a small exercise room but no pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at the Comfort Inn for a week while visiting DC. There was no pool, but there was a small gym. The breakfast provided offered enough variety each day to satisfy us until mid afternoon. Donna and Maya, helpers in the breakfast area, were friendly and always ready to help. They were always keeping the tables and food area clean. The coffee pots were always full.
The hotel was clean and the rooms were large enough to accommodate the 3 of us. The desk clerks were friendly and ready to help with information we needed. They also provided a free shuttle to and from the metro station. We wished that there was service on the weekend. We could walk to the station because it was downhill, but took a cab back. All in all it was a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware, United States
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I arrived about 1 a.m. and the lobby was full of people loitering. It was disturbing because that is late night and I was not used to so many people being in a hotel lobby. The doorman and front desk were helpful and I had to pay to valet park my car. I do not recommend parking it on the street. A friend of ours visited and about 3 am, I escorted him out. When I open the door, there was gentleman standing outside my door in the hallway. I escorted my friend down and the gentleman came down with me on the elevator. Once again the lobby was full of people. The man outside my door got back on the elevator with me and got off on a different floor. This made me very uneasy. The rooms were clean and comfortable and I was able to get a later check out. The continental breakfast was also good. I do wish the security was a little better.

Room Tip: I would stay on a higher level for less noise and commotion
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway

Address: 7990 Georgia Avenue, Silver Spring, MD 20910-4860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have just completed a hotel renovation as of February 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/Dc Gateway Hotel Silver Spring
Silver Spring Comfort Inn
Silver Spring Ramada
Ramada Silver Spring

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;