We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and reasonably priced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7990 Georgia Avenue, Silver Spring, MD 20910-4860   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Silver Spring
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Clean and reasonably priced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel is a reasonably priced hotel. It is close to the metro and there are some good restaurants close by. There are a lot of Ethiopian restaurants but also Thai, Indian etc. It is basic but has everything needed--TV, free WiFi in the room and the staff is friendly and helpful. Most people find the buffet breakfast suitable. In this day of obesity and diabetes I would have liked to see some whole grain bread and some plain unsweetened yogurt. The breakfast staff is very friendly. The hotel rooms are clean and the king sized bed was comfortable. I would stay here again. There is no restaurant except for the breakfast and there is a small exercise room but no pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    64
    26
    11
    9
See reviews for
42
38
19
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed at the Comfort Inn for a week while visiting DC. There was no pool, but there was a small gym. The breakfast provided offered enough variety each day to satisfy us until mid afternoon. Donna and Maya, helpers in the breakfast area, were friendly and always ready to help. They were always keeping the tables and food area clean. The coffee pots were always full.
The hotel was clean and the rooms were large enough to accommodate the 3 of us. The desk clerks were friendly and ready to help with information we needed. They also provided a free shuttle to and from the metro station. We wished that there was service on the weekend. We could walk to the station because it was downhill, but took a cab back. All in all it was a good experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware, United States
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My husband and I arrived about 1 a.m. and the lobby was full of people loitering. It was disturbing because that is late night and I was not used to so many people being in a hotel lobby. The doorman and front desk were helpful and I had to pay to valet park my car. I do not recommend parking it on the street. A friend of ours visited and about 3 am, I escorted him out. When I open the door, there was gentleman standing outside my door in the hallway. I escorted my friend down and the gentleman came down with me on the elevator. Once again the lobby was full of people. The man outside my door got back on the elevator with me and got off on a different floor. This made me very uneasy. The rooms were clean and comfortable and I was able to get a later check out. The continental breakfast was also good. I do wish the security was a little better.

Room Tip: I would stay on a higher level for less noise and commotion
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed here for two nights. Got in at like 1am and the check in was quick and the front desk person was very nice and polite. I was tired and wanted to go to bed. The staff in the entire hotel was very nice. The rooms were clean and for it t be on a busy street it was very quiet. I do feel it could be a little cheaper per night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I arrived at the hotel about 4:30 pm and the clerk said that I would have to pay a parking fee of $10 which I did. When I returned to the hotel there were orange cones in front of the area because the lot was full. I called the hotel and the clerk said that I would have to park on the street and I said :"no" I paid for parking and he said we are not charging for parking today.
Needless to say I had to park on the street and walk one block to the hotel. There were a lot of "walkers" in that area it felt a little creepy.
To top it off there were stains on one of the sheets and hairs on the bathroom floor, ugh!
He did put the money back on my card however, I will never stay at this hotel again, sometimes cheaper is not better,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business. Please contact our General Manager for your inconvience and we apologize that your stay was not legendary.

Our hotel will be addressing all matters concerning your guest experience. I hope you give us another chance to "win" your business.

Thank you for your comment and your concerns,


Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We (party of 4) stayed for five days mid-May. The location is convenient --close to downtown, the bus and train stations, and it's actually easier to get around from the site by not being in the heart of downtown. Prices can't be beat and represent excellent value. Rooms attractive and well-kept. Breakfast outstanding--standard Comfort Inn full breakfast, but the staff is extraordinary, working constantly to help guests and keep food well-stocked and service areas clean, even when there are many guests. Other staff were helpful, polite and professional. On-site parking is reasonably priced. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I chose this hotel based on a recommendation from a friend who lived in the DC area. I was there to stay for the weekend. It was my first time ever staying in a hotel and I must admit I was extremely wary because of all the horror stories you hear on the internet about random hotels.

They blew my expectations away.
The room was perfectly clean.
Everything worked, nothing was broken or missing.
The staff was very courteous and attentive.
Even the coffee in the room was good!
The little business center (basically a desk with outlets for a laptop and such) was very handy and very much welcomed.

Overall, I couldn't have asked for a better experience. They get an A+ in my opinion!

Green Features: They offer little easels on which notes are written to let you know that they will wash or not wash those particular items if left or not left in place.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway

Address: 7990 Georgia Avenue, Silver Spring, MD 20910-4860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have just completed a hotel renovation as of February 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/Dc Gateway Hotel Silver Spring
Silver Spring Comfort Inn
Silver Spring Ramada
Ramada Silver Spring

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.