We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent STay!!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7990 Georgia Avenue, Silver Spring, MD 20910-4860 (Formerly Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Decent STay!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed here for two nights. Got in at like 1am and the check in was quick and the front desk person was very nice and polite. I was tired and wanted to go to bed. The staff in the entire hotel was very nice. The rooms were clean and for it t be on a busy street it was very quiet. I do feel it could be a little cheaper per night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    67
    31
    12
    12
See reviews for
45
41
21
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I arrived at the hotel about 4:30 pm and the clerk said that I would have to pay a parking fee of $10 which I did. When I returned to the hotel there were orange cones in front of the area because the lot was full. I called the hotel and the clerk said that I would have to park on the street and I said :"no" I paid for parking and he said we are not charging for parking today.
Needless to say I had to park on the street and walk one block to the hotel. There were a lot of "walkers" in that area it felt a little creepy.
To top it off there were stains on one of the sheets and hairs on the bathroom floor, ugh!
He did put the money back on my card however, I will never stay at this hotel again, sometimes cheaper is not better,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business. Please contact our General Manager for your inconvience and we apologize that your stay was not legendary.

Our hotel will be addressing all matters concerning your guest experience. I hope you give us another chance to "win" your business.

Thank you for your comment and your concerns,


Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We (party of 4) stayed for five days mid-May. The location is convenient --close to downtown, the bus and train stations, and it's actually easier to get around from the site by not being in the heart of downtown. Prices can't be beat and represent excellent value. Rooms attractive and well-kept. Breakfast outstanding--standard Comfort Inn full breakfast, but the staff is extraordinary, working constantly to help guests and keep food well-stocked and service areas clean, even when there are many guests. Other staff were helpful, polite and professional. On-site parking is reasonably priced. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly Springs, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I chose this hotel based on a recommendation from a friend who lived in the DC area. I was there to stay for the weekend. It was my first time ever staying in a hotel and I must admit I was extremely wary because of all the horror stories you hear on the internet about random hotels.

They blew my expectations away.
The room was perfectly clean.
Everything worked, nothing was broken or missing.
The staff was very courteous and attentive.
Even the coffee in the room was good!
The little business center (basically a desk with outlets for a laptop and such) was very handy and very much welcomed.

Overall, I couldn't have asked for a better experience. They get an A+ in my opinion!

Green Features: They offer little easels on which notes are written to let you know that they will wash or not wash those particular items if left or not left in place.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this Comfort Inn for three days with our two boys while visiting DC. This hotel was clean, in a nice area, friendly and up to date. We arrived the Thursday before Memorial Day weekend at 11:00 AM and immediately were able to get into a room. Also had no problem with parking in their small lot. As I said, the room was very clean and modern. Plenty of hot water and AC worked well. We did have a room with a connecting door and could here the conversation in the next room but thankfully that family slept the same time we did. Fridge and micro come with room. They were in perfect condition. Beds were comfortable. The hotel offers a shuttle to the metro. They were very accommodating with driving us to the metro. Getting a ride back was a little more difficult. Two evenings in a row we needed to call twice to get a ride. They do say that rides are only every hour on the hour after 11:00 AM and we called before the hour both times but after the hour they weren't there for pick up. The first time it was 8:15 and they still weren't there. The second evening we only waited until 7:05 and called again (we had called at 6:40 to let them know we were ready for pick up). It's about a 15 minute walk from the metro to the hotel and it's a decent area so we walked back the third evening. The breakfast buffet was great with lots of choices. Eating area is small so get there early for a seat.
The parking lot was full on the weekend and as another reviewer mentioned there is a parking garage around the corner that has free parking on the weekends. We moved our car to the parking garage on Friday evening and did not need to pay the parking fee for our last day.
The metro ride to downtown was about 15-20 minutes depending on where exactly you're going and the time of day. The metro was easy to navigate and getting a smarttrip card is worthwhile. I recommend this hotel for families visiting DC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We chose the Comfort Inn in Silver Springs for our stay in DC from the reviews from Trip Advisor. The staff is so wonderful. We really appreciated the gals at the breakfast buffet in the morning. They were so sweet and wonderful. Our rooms were very clean and the shower was wonderful, plenty of warm water. I really liked the fact that I spoke to the front desk multiple of times prior to our arrival and spoke to the same person each time and he was so helpful. The only thing that I was disappointed in was when we needed a taxi back to the Reagan airport, we had them call us a taxi and the gentleman at the front desk assured us he called a company they regularly use and even though the chauffeur driver was very interesting to talk with, it cost us double to get back to the airport at $65.00. That was not expected. Otherwise, if you are looking for a clean, personable inn to stay at a reasonable price, this is it. Again, I loved the ladies at the breakfast buffet and the manager in the morning. The breakfast buffet was excellent as well. We miss DC already!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

First I would like to say I totally disagree with others on the customer service. We received warm and friendly service from the front desk, room attendants and the valet attendant! Always a smile and a greeting. The room was a great price, CLEAN, and very roomy. The only downfall is that the connecting door must have been missing in the room next door,because we could hear our neighbor loud and clear. We could hear them, but not the ones on the other side, so walls are ok. Breakfast staff are wonderful and the food choices are good. We will be back!

Room Tip: Corner room may be a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and we will address all matters.Our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring

Address: 7990 Georgia Avenue, Silver Spring, MD 20910-4860 (Formerly Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
127 Newly Renovated Guest Rooms & Public Area's as of December 16, 2014 Complimentary Deluxe Hot Breakfast Restaurants & Lounge's within walking distance Interior Corridors, Two Elevators & every guest room has a Microwave & Refrigerator 4 blocks from Metro Station Complimentary Shuttle(7am-9pm/Mon-Fri) Valet & Self-Parking available($10 a day) Bus Parking is Free for Groups Free Fitness Center & Business Center Stay with us to earn & use your IHG Rewards any where in the World & with us Free Wireless & Cable High Speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/Dc Gateway Hotel Silver Spring
Silver Spring Comfort Inn
Silver Spring Ramada
Ramada Silver Spring

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.