We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent hotel and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7990 Georgia Avenue, Silver Spring, MD 20910-4860   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Silver Spring
Pilar, Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excelent hotel and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My boyfirned and I travelled to Washington DC and stayed just for one night. We are from Argentina.
The hotel is excelent, the service is very complete (buffet breakfast & shuttle to metro station was free). We walked once to the station just to know the neighbourhood and it is very near, just 6 blocks. You have some fast food restaurants just in front of the station, so when you come back from the city you can eat something there if you want. By metro, the travel to DC is just 15 minutes from the station. This hotel will be cheap, considering the prices you will pay in DC for such similar service.
The room was great, big, with air conditioner, flat TV, fridge, coffe machine (including one bag of regular coffee, one decaf, tea, sugar, etc), microwave, hair dryer.
The staff was very nice and helpfull at every time, they always asked if we were comfortable or if we need anything, specially Melisia.
I tottaly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting DC!!! If I go back some day, of course I will be staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: I stayed in the cheapest room with king size bed in the last floor and it was very quiet and comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    63
    27
    11
    8
See reviews for
41
37
19
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The rooms were very nice, beds comfortable, decent breakfast with eggs. The hotel staff was very nice and helpful as well. I found the hotel a bit further from the Silver Springs Metro train to DC than I would have liked, the neighborhood ok but not stellar, and some of the other clientele at Comfort Inn a bit rough around the edges, shall we say. Good hotel for the price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and we will address all matters.Our hotel staff look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

At check in, the desk clerk advised I had 2 reservations. I advised her I only made a single reservation for 1 room for 2 adults. She indicated she understood and proceeded to check me in.

The room was small, the bed was located only about 18-24 inches away from the air conditioner. The air conditioner had been fitted with a plastic adapter which forced the stream of air to blow directly onto the bed in the area where your head rested. I awoke in the morning with a sore throat (no surprise).

In the morning, while in the breakfast area, I noticed two Comfort Inn supervisors observing the breakfast service. I related to them the poor ergonomics or the plastic modification shield blowing the stream of cold air directly onto a sleeping person's head. One of the supervisors proceeded to try and justify the setup, then asked me point blank to go onto the Comfort Inn and/or TripAdvisor websites and give them an outstanding rating - ?? (No chance)

Two days later, I discovered Comfort Inn had billed my credit card for both reservations, 2 different room numbers, even after I pointed out the mistake when I checked in. It required 3 telephone calls to get a credit for the duplicate billing.

My advice - stay clear of this one !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business. Please contact our General Manager for your inconvience and we apologize that your stay was not legendary.

Our hotel will be addressing all matters concerning your guest experience. I hope you give us another chance to "win" your business.

Thank you for your comment and your concerns,


Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is nicely renovated hotel with easy access to DC. Every staff member (especially Kiran!) I spoke with was eager to help and met me with a smile on their face. I will definitely be back next time I have business in DC.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and we look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacknville, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife an I stayed here while visiting Washington DC because we earned some free nights with the choice hotels credit card. It was close enough to the Metrorail to walk, but their doorman happily shuttled us daily. Great kid. The room was nice and clean. It had even been updated. The young lady at the desk, Jennifer, I think, was very helpful, and made us feel very welcome and appreciated. Don't count out Silver Spring if visiting DC. There is all sorts of good food near the hotel and it's in a pretty good area. Good breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and we look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manasquan, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights on our recent trip to Washington DC. because it was convenient to a family home where the rest of our party stayed. It is also convenient to the metro (shuttle service provided) for those who don't want to drive into DC. The staff were all friendly and more than helpful. The room was clean with a coffe maker, fridge and microwave that met all our needs. The breakfast room was well stocked but a bit small on days when a large group was in attendance. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and we look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice renovation, This is the best comfort inn I ever stayed in, hotel was very clean and staff was very friendly including manager(Harry).
I have never been to Maryland before it was my first time, I was kind of surprise to to city such well up-kept. They also have shuttle so if you want to get around silver springs its very convenience to get around to eat or shop,

Thanks

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and we look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway

Address: 7990 Georgia Avenue, Silver Spring, MD 20910-4860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have just completed a hotel renovation as of February 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/Dc Gateway Hotel Silver Spring
Silver Spring Comfort Inn
Silver Spring Ramada
Ramada Silver Spring

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.