We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7990 Georgia Avenue, Silver Spring, MD 20910-4860   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Silver Spring
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jacknville, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife an I stayed here while visiting Washington DC because we earned some free nights with the choice hotels credit card. It was close enough to the Metrorail to walk, but their doorman happily shuttled us daily. Great kid. The room was nice and clean. It had even been updated. The young lady at the desk, Jennifer, I think, was very helpful, and made us feel very welcome and appreciated. Don't count out Silver Spring if visiting DC. There is all sorts of good food near the hotel and it's in a pretty good area. Good breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and we look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    64
    27
    11
    9
See reviews for
41
38
19
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manasquan, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights on our recent trip to Washington DC. because it was convenient to a family home where the rest of our party stayed. It is also convenient to the metro (shuttle service provided) for those who don't want to drive into DC. The staff were all friendly and more than helpful. The room was clean with a coffe maker, fridge and microwave that met all our needs. The breakfast room was well stocked but a bit small on days when a large group was in attendance. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and we look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice renovation, This is the best comfort inn I ever stayed in, hotel was very clean and staff was very friendly including manager(Harry).
I have never been to Maryland before it was my first time, I was kind of surprise to to city such well up-kept. They also have shuttle so if you want to get around silver springs its very convenience to get around to eat or shop,

Thanks

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and we look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgerton, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed at the Comfort Inn, Silver Spring for the first time with the Discovering Democracy field study group (Milton, WI) late in March 2013 and am VERY GLAD to have become acquainted with the motel! The hospitality expressed by the staff - each and every staffer I communicated with - with helpfulness and friendliness. The breakfast each morning was more complete than I have experienced in my many travels to various hotels/motels. Donna put icing on the cake with her friendliness each morning. Once I learned the location of the Silver Springs Metro station and got acquainted with the downtown from the motel, I was impressed by the convenient location of the motel. The Shuttle on weekdays is very helpful. Disappointed no shuttle on weekends (Sat & Sun). I am looking forward to being back again... the sooner the better...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and we look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dartmouth, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

First of all I live in MA. My wife, brother-in-law, and I were coming back from vacation in Orlando FL. Our van broke down in Silver Springs MD. It was a Saturday night March 16 at 11:30. We had help finding your hotel. We checked in with a gentleman named Jaime. We had told Jaime what had happened with the van. He made the check in process very smooth and easy for us. He had given us directions to an auto zone to get the part we needed. He also gave us a name of a mechanic he said could help us. Just before going up to our room, room 415, he had offered to take us to the auto zone in the morning if we could be downstairs for 7:00. He told us he would be leaving at 7:00. We did meet him in the lobby at 7. We had breakfast down stairs before leaving. He indeed drove us to the auto zone and told us where to meet the mechanic.
He got us to Auto Zone at 8:00. They did not open until 9. He offered to wait with us til they opened then bring us back to where our van was broken down. He insisted that it was no problem for him to wait with us. We feel he went above and beyond what he need to do to help us. We never expected this kind of help but were greatly appreciative of his help.He did leave us at Auto zone as we had asked. We knew he had been up all night and needed to get some rest and do things he probably needed to do for himself.
It was a blessing to know that there are still people like Jaime out there who are more than happy to help those in need. Even though we were only there in your hotel for one night, I believe Jaime treats all hotel guest with the same generosity as he had shown us. The truth is, he made our stay there very good. If I ever need to stay in your area again, I would definately go back to your hotel because of Jaime. He is a great person to have to represent your hotel and your hotel is very lucky to have such a wonderful person like him.
I hope Jaime gets recognized from the hotel for the effort he put in to helping us as a guest in the hotel.
Kris P.

Room Tip: I have no tip other than Jaime was a great help to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and we look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We really enjoyed the Comfort Inn Georgia Ave. The hotel was clean and neat. The staff was very courteous and helpful. Great location near the attraction in DC. Highly recommend this hotel to everyone. Next time you are looking for a hotel in DC, check out the Comfort Inn Georgia Ave.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have microwaves and refrigerators to make you feel at home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and we look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The staff was extremely helpful and so was the housekeeping staff! Room was clean and smelled great! Free coffee in the lobby and free breakfast really helped to get my day going. Overall a really great stay there is street parking that is available, but $10 for parking seems reasonable and safer because there are obvious camera's all over the parking lot and there are no chances of getting towed or ticketed! The area itself was not really near much so I would probably not stay unless I had a car or would be willing to take a bus/taxi somewhere. Local places to get food delivery were good also. I recommend using seamless if you are in the area. Very well priced for a no frills stay!

Probably the only downside was that the bed was not as comfortable as some of the nicer hotels. But honestly for the price the room and staff extremely exceeded my expectations. Could not have asked for more!

Also the showers are great! And having a fridge and microwave in the room is great when you are planning on keeping leftovers around.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eugenemorris, Manager at Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

We value your opinion and appreciate your business during your recent stay.

Thank you for your comment and we look forward to you returning to the Comfort Inn- DC Gateway for your next stay and please recommend us.

Thank you,

Eugene Morris Jr
VP of Operations & Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway

Address: 7990 Georgia Avenue, Silver Spring, MD 20910-4860
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Silver Spring
#6 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have just completed a hotel renovation as of February 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/Dc Gateway Hotel Silver Spring
Silver Spring Comfort Inn
Silver Spring Ramada
Ramada Silver Spring

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.