We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value vs other hotels in DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7990 Georgia Avenue, Silver Spring, MD 20910-4860 (Formerly Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good value vs other hotels in DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel was great a price vs the other places we looked at in DC. The room was clean and well maintained. The bed was comfortable and the shower had good water pressure. Staff called the room after we checked in to ensure it was acceptable. Breakfast was buffet style and offered a decent selection, though the area was small so it was sometimes hard to get a table.

The hotel is about a 10 minute fast walk from the metro that will get you into DC in 20 minutes. There was also a shuttle, though we didn't use it.The area immediately around the hotel is quiet pedestrian wise but there is a large mall on the way from the metro including a few restaurants and a large supermarket.

A few words of warning - there was track maintenance going on the metro the day we were leaving and my girlfriend had to wait an hour for a train and almost missed her connection to the airport. Best to be aware.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms right next to the elevator. The first night there were people coming back all hours and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    72
    41
    15
    16
See reviews for
56
47
23
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed at this property for four days in mid October. The hotel was above average and the service was excellent. The Valet/Doorman/Shuttle Driver Eyob was especially helpful in answering all our questions and accomadating our needs. The hotel has a Shuttle that takes you to the Metro Station and other areas close to the property and is always on time. I would definitely stay at this Hotel again. Thanks Eyob for your Hospitality . The rest of the staff was superior as well. Being from South Florida it was nice to have friendly and attentive customer service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed in this hotel while I was visiting Washington DC. Compared to the hotels in DC this one is a pretty good value; it's significantly less expensive than the hotels closer to the capital and it's actually a pretty nice hotel. The room I stayed in looked to be recently updated and was clean. The room was small but not so small that I felt cramped. The free breakfast was as good or slightly better than most I've seen and the staff was friendly and seemed to be interested in taking care of its guests. It is $10 a day to park which is a little annoying since it is outdoor parking but not outrageous. The neighborhood appears to be nice and there are nearby food options if you want to walk somewhere for dinner. You can walk to the Metro station in about 10 minutes and there is a hotel shuttle to the station that runs on weekdays as well. The ride to DC takes about 20 minutes on the Metro. Overall, for the price I was pleased with the hotel and it was not that far away from DC; it's really a good deal when you compare the prices of other hotels closer to downtown.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I have stayed at this particular location a few times and each stay was pleasant. The rooms were nice and clean, the renovations definantly give the hotel a "homey and comfortable " look, and the staff on board were generous each stay. Overall I must say I had a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here one night for a business meeting the next day. The room was clean and the internet fast. There is a covered, fenced parking area in the back. The staff was very helpful. Breakfast was rather bland, but normal fare for most hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The staff was very helpful and made the hotel almost feel like a home! When we arrived at the Silver Spring metro station, having called ahead for the hotel shuttle but had 30 min to wait for the next shuttle to the hotel, then it started to rain. We called to confirm our arrival at the waiting spot & they told us that they were sending the shuttle early since it was raining. This was just an example - they helped print a boarding pass, they helped with directions, and they helped us split the bill across two credit cards. The hotel was clean and comfortable, near some restaurants in Silver Spring, and only about 10 blocks to the metro station (downhill!) Sometimes when I stay at hotels, we forget the hotel as soon as we leave - but this hotel's friendly staff will definitely make this a hotel to remember.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Honestly have nothing but GOOD to say about my stay @ this specific Comfort INN :) My new apt. complex put me up here for over a month until I could move in (building was still being built). While here, my stay was very comfortable and pleasant. The Front Desk is very nice, polite, and prompt with service (they helped me get cabs and order food!!). The rooms were clean and cute + my room had a nice little view :) Their continental breakfast was exstensive for a comfort inn too...full blown eggs and sausage breakfast,waffles, bagels, yogurt, fruit, coffee ect. + It's very close to Downtown SilverSpring so going out after work was convenient. Really enjoyed my stay as I practically LIVED here for over a month lol. All in All they did an EXCELLENT job and were very professional and personable :) Felt Like I was on Vacation.lol

Room Tip: Northside rooms come with a relaxing view of Downtown Silver Spring :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Spring
5.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#5 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#6 of 12 in Silver Spring
3.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring

Address: 7990 Georgia Avenue, Silver Spring, MD 20910-4860 (Formerly Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/DC Gateway)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
127 Newly Renovated Guest Rooms & Public Area's as of December 16, 2014 Complimentary Deluxe Hot Breakfast Restaurants & Lounge's within walking distance Interior Corridors, Two Elevators & every guest room has a Microwave & Refrigerator 4 blocks from Metro Station Complimentary Shuttle(7am-9pm/Mon-Fri) Valet & Self-Parking available($10 a day) Bus Parking is Free for Groups Free Fitness Center & Business Center Stay with us to earn & use your IHG Rewards any where in the World & with us Free Wireless & Cable High Speed Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Georgia Ave/Dc Gateway Hotel Silver Spring
Silver Spring Comfort Inn
Silver Spring Ramada
Ramada Silver Spring

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.