We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unsecure room(s)” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Silver Spring

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Silver Spring to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Silver Spring
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8040 13th Street / I-495, Silver Spring, MD 20910   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 12 hotels in Silver Spring
Rockville
1 review
“Unsecure room(s)”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I paid $101.69 and was directed to room # 117. 5 mins. after entering the room, someone just pushed in the door and entered, I thought I had locked the deadbolt only to find that there was a knob, but no bolt. After speaking to the manager he directed me to room 121 however, the lock on the door there, did not work either. Finally they placed me in a 3rd room #124 which had no hot running water or heat. THIS HOTEL IS NOT SECURE!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe06309, General Manager at Days Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your review and we do apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. We are currently renovating our property along with on going preventative maintenance program. As always if you would like to contact me please call (301) 588-4400 for further discussion of your stay at the Days Inn Silver Spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    21
    41
    42
    75
See reviews for
42
24
22
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Van Wert, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at this Days Inn because we have had great experiences with other Days Inn. We were actually staying for a week because we were visiting our son who was interning for NOAA in Silver Spring. My husband likes to save money, so he booked the whole week here because it was cheap. I guess we figured out why. The hotel was not taken well care of. Just about everything in our room either didn't work or was broken. The worst part, I woke up at 3:00 am to the sound of something rattling plastic...well it was mice. They got into our donut box, and even chewed a hole through the box and ate half of one donut. We brought this to the front desk's attention, and they acted like they were appalled, but it was obvious they knew that they had a mice problem. To top this off, my son dropped something behind the head of the bed, when he lifted the mattress to retrieve the item, he found a glue trap with two dead mice on it. The other problem we had at this hotel, was trying to get towels and wash cloths. We had four people in our room, and they gave us two towels and one wash cloth. When I called down for more, I had to go to the front desk to get them. When I got down to the front desk, they would only give me three towels and three wash cloths. We were staying for six days. I had to do this every day, and practically beg for them. I was not impressed with this place. The room was clean overall, but it really needed some repairs and updating. However, the mice problem was not acceptable!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe06309, General Manager at Days Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We do apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. Based on your review we have made changes and updates to our rooms for an enjoyable and pleasant stay. We request you to come back and visit us to see our updates.
Thank You,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellington, Connecticut, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I travel a great deal and I cannot express the level of disgust I felt checking into this place. A non smoking room with an ash tray on the table? Carpets that are soiled and lifting, smell in the room and I can guarantee what crawls around after the lights go off. Days Inn should drop this property and their affiliation from their lineup. OK, have to keep review brief as I went a couple exits over to my preferred Hampton Inn which I did not know was close. Good night all, I am going to boil myself and eliminate any trace that I was near this Days Inn. What hospitality ISN'T.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe06309, General Manager at Days Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We do apologize for the inconvenience during your stay. Based on your review we have made changes and updates to our rooms for an enjoyable and pleasant stay. We request you to come back and visit us to see our updates.
Thank You,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woonsocket
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Rooms were dirty, rugs disgusting, Roaches, and the help knew when ALL of us complained about the issues... They knew !!! It will never happen AGAIN that I stay in the Days Inn it's worth the extra money to stay ANY WHERE else !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Silver Spring

Address: 8040 13th Street / I-495, Silver Spring, MD 20910
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Silver Spring 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Days Inn Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Silver Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.