We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ray's is Classic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ray's The Classics

Ray's The Classics
8606 Colesville Rd, Silver Spring, MD 20910-3915
301-588-7297
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 326 Restaurants in Silver Spring
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
East Coast
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ray's is Classic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I love a classic steak joint: martini, leather, white aprons, aged steak. a solid wine list. Prices are not DC high. Meat is great. Sides exactly what you expect from a steak house. I love eating there.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    46
    12
    7
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good, but not impressive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Good enough- but better "classics" available elsewhere, and much more interesting food in Silver Spring.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Indiana
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“killer steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

loved the crab bisque & NY Strip. A+

Nice service, pleasant atmosphere!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I like the food here very much. It's not so much innovative as it is well selected and presented. i can get a hangar steak (my favorite) and good sides, although I am not a fan of the creamed spinach. I find the service to be indifferent, though, and the kitchen slow. I go about twice a year, as it is conveniently located and I like the food, but every time I swear I won't go back. My biggest complaint? They allow the use of cell phones in the dining room. Please put a stop to that!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of the best steaks I have ever eaten!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I was traveling for business by myself, so I sat at the Bar. Good ambiance, the bartender knew his wines, but the hanger steak was out of this world. I will go back!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ray's The Classics also viewed

 

Been to Ray's The Classics? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ray's The Classics, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.