We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Silver Spring

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Silver Spring to your Saves list
Residence Inn Silver Spring
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12000 Plum Orchard Drive, Silver Spring, MD 20904   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Orange County, California
1 review
“Great customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

A BIG THANK YOU to Lucena, Evelyn and Cindy - staff members at the Residence Inn at Silver Springs. They were very accommodating with our requests for rooming, dining and reservation requests. Lucena even helped me print my boarding pass when the business center was busy. Evelyn was very cheerful every morning when we enjoyed the breakfast fare. Cindy helped us with our complaint regarding a noisy neighbor. My children and I will return to this clean and full-service hotel.

Room Tip: Upper levels that are near the elevators.
See more room tips
Green Features: Clean bedding and towels with notes to hotel guests to conserve on having to replace these items.
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Silver_Spring_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear Maria S.,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us and others about your stay at our hotel. I was proud to read that Lucena, Evelyn and Cindy made such an impression during your time with us that you remembered them by name. They will be recognized in front of all of our associates at the next hotel celebration for the exceptional service they provided you. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    37
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
37
11
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Had 5 nights at the Residence Inn Silver Spring while doing contract work at 7D up the road.
Huge room only flaw was the air-conditioning is a little to fierce and I had to turn off as it was making me catch a cold.
Desk staff are very helpful and super friendly, and the breakfast gals are beyond!!
Lot's of food and refreshed throughout the breakfast time.
I just wish the location was a bit closer to the restaurants up the road as I don't drive.
Desk gave me a great number for a taxi service highly recommend
Good quality wireless connection, and lot's of tv channels

Green Features: Wish they had in room recyle bucket, as I hate throwing away things that can be repurposed
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
502 reviews 502 reviews
138 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This is totally a fine place to stay if you are in the area for work or visiting family, friends, etc. The Front Desk staff are the stars (not sure if the woman's name was Sarina, maybe?). She was incredibly helpful and friendly!!

The rooms are fine. Just an average Residence Inn at best. Maybe a bit too dark and could use some better lighting in the living room. There was a pillow with really gross stains on it on the living room couch. I was a bit surprised the Housekeeping staff would not have removed this prior to people moving into the room as new guests. The bathroom also needed some freshening up with the bathtub area in particular needing a bit of renovation.

Breakfast downstairs has delightful workers (especially Evelyn) and is passable for a simple breakfast. It was quite clean which often is difficult to maintain during breakfast hours.

I would definitely stay again. The place is more of a 3.5 than a 3 for sure.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Silver_Spring_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear GlendaleCA,

Thank you for recognizing those associates who made an impression on you during your stay with us. We will recognize them during our next hotel celebration. I am sorry to hear we overlooked the pillow on the couch in your room. I would like to ask you to call me at the hotel so I may get specifics of your stay so I may appropriately share and review with our housekeeping supervisor as a re-training topic. Again, I’m sorry this happened to you and thank you for bringing this to our attention so we may improve our processes.

Jason M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The staff tried very, very hard to help with everything. They were courteous and kind. But the walls are very thin. the pool hours were a huge problem. They open way too late in the morning and close way too early at night. We actually left the hotel a day early because my kids could not go swimming because we wanted to go sightseeing in the morning and the pool opens at 10. BY the time you get in at night at 8 the pool is closed again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Silver_Spring_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear hoffather,

Thank you for staying with us and recognizing our associates whom you interacted with during your stay. I would like to apologize if you were disturbed by any of your neighbors during your stay. I am also sorry the pool was not open long enough for you and your kids to enjoy while staying with us. With the pool season coming to an end on Labor Day, we unfortunately are unable to make adjustments this year but we will look into alternative hours for the 2015 season. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again.

Jason M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

As usual residence inn never disappoints! We loved it here! We traveled with another family doing the whole DC thing. My sister lives 10 minutes from hotel. It all worked out perfectly! Their breakfast always rocks, staff is very friendly and courteous, and dinners were fine. (We got spoiled in Salt Lake City. )our only problem was the pool and basketball court closing times! We expected to come back from being tourists, hot, sweaty, and tired, to be able to sit in pool and let the kids play while adults had a cocktail. Pool and court closed at 8 pm. We were very disappointed. Lifeguard said it was state law and if so, shame on you MD. Even 10 pm would have helped. Traveling in that area always takes longer than you think due to metro etc. would love to have been able to relax in pool. That being said, we just packed coolers and hung out in breakfast area playing games. Would definitely check for later pool hours next time but would also stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Silver_Spring_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear glawler,

I am pleased to know your recent stay with us was consistent with your other experiences in our hotels. I am sorry the current pool hours did not fit well with your schedule seeing the sites in Washington DC and visiting with family. Unfortunately, with our pool closing for the season on Labor Day we are unable to make a change this year, but we will evaluate adjusting the hours for the 2015 season. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel when you return to the Washington DC area.

Jason M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Residence Inn in Silver Spring. Our experience would have been good, but the staff went above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay fantastic. Special thanks to Dunia and Sharna for their friendliness and kindness, and to Evelyn for jumping our car when it died on the last day!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Silver_Spring_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Chris B.,

Thank you for sharing how great your stay with us was and taking the time to recognize those individual associates who made your stay special. We will certainly recognize them at our next hotel celebration.

Jason M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here for three nights over the July 4th weekend. The property is immaculate and appears brand new. I especially loved the plush patterned carpet in the halls. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite which was large and very nice for four of us and our two visitors who spent much time in the day and evening. The kitchen is a nice size but there were lids missing to pots, and only four of everything despite the suite being able to accommodate 6 persons. There is a lot of cabinet space. More garbage bags would have been welcome.
The living room was comfortable, large and just perfect for six of us hanging out.
The suite was very quiet. The beds were absolutely heavenly with very soft mattresses. If anyone knows the brand, please let me know!
This was my first experience with a family trip with adult children/spouses and it went beautifully.
The younger folk did complain a bit about the breakfast in that it does not seem to be ready for the crowds and there was a lot of waiting for things to be prepared and restocked. Not a huge deal but it was mentioned on two mornings.
Very safe area that is close to a grocery, Target, gas station and many restaurants. I would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor and it was very quiet. It was a very long walk, however, from the f...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel is environmentally-friendly in regard to options about towel and linens.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Silver Spring

Address: 12000 Plum Orchard Drive, Silver Spring, MD 20904
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
#5 Family Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Silver Spring 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Residence Inn Silver Spring located just 4 miles north of the Capital Beltway. Our spacious suites offers separate sleeping, living and dining areas, full kitchens, pullout sofa beds, large work desks and high speed Internet access. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast daily, or wind down at night at our social hours offered midweek at our Silver Spring hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring
Silver Spring Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Silver Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.