We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Great Hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Silver Spring

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Silver Spring to your Saves list
Residence Inn Silver Spring
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12000 Plum Orchard Drive, Silver Spring, MD 20904   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
“Great Staff, Great Hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We truly enjoyed our stay at the Residence Inn in Silver Spring. Our experience would have been good, but the staff went above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay fantastic. Special thanks to Dunia and Sharna for their friendliness and kindness, and to Evelyn for jumping our car when it died on the last day!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Silver_Spring_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Dear Chris B.,

Thank you for sharing how great your stay with us was and taking the time to recognize those individual associates who made your stay special. We will certainly recognize them at our next hotel celebration.

Jason M.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    35
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
11
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here for three nights over the July 4th weekend. The property is immaculate and appears brand new. I especially loved the plush patterned carpet in the halls. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite which was large and very nice for four of us and our two visitors who spent much time in the day and evening. The kitchen is a nice size but there were lids missing to pots, and only four of everything despite the suite being able to accommodate 6 persons. There is a lot of cabinet space. More garbage bags would have been welcome.
The living room was comfortable, large and just perfect for six of us hanging out.
The suite was very quiet. The beds were absolutely heavenly with very soft mattresses. If anyone knows the brand, please let me know!
This was my first experience with a family trip with adult children/spouses and it went beautifully.
The younger folk did complain a bit about the breakfast in that it does not seem to be ready for the crowds and there was a lot of waiting for things to be prepared and restocked. Not a huge deal but it was mentioned on two mornings.
Very safe area that is close to a grocery, Target, gas station and many restaurants. I would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor and it was very quiet. It was a very long walk, however, from the f...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel is environmentally-friendly in regard to options about towel and linens.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This was a surprise. A 5yr property that feels brand new. The rooms were excellent so is the staff that manages this property.

Indoor Pool is great, breakfast people even better. Its walking distance to a shopping center with a a lot of restaurants that will help your vacation. From nepalese, vietnamese, Filipino, American, latin and Chinese.

A shuttle can take you to the train station, book ahead please.

This would be my hotel of choice when in DC.

Thanks guys!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Arrived and was promptly checked in. The check in process was efficient and the staff friendly. Room was clean and quiet. Housekeeping was efficient. Breakfast was certainly adequate; eggs and sausage and potatoes in addition to the cereals, make your own waffle, and breads and fruits. Plenty of seating space in the breakfast area.
Every time we walked by the front desk we were greeted. The staff seems to take your satisfaction seriously.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
2,348 helpful votes 2,348 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed here 8 years ago when our home was under construction and loved it, so when we realized we were in the way while some interior upgrades/renovations were being made to the house, we decided to spend the week here again and it's just as good as it was 8 years ago! Everyone we've encountered has been wonderful and the rooms and common areas are clean and well maintained. Nice big elevators with adequate space to avoid crowding and eliminate the need to make more than one trip between the car and the room. Plus, a good breakfast spread to help start the day and an adequate dinner at the end of the day if you don't feel like going out. A good choice whether you're from out of town or just down the street!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stay here quite a bit. Gold Value. Clean and Staff is friendly and willing to please. The breakfast service is also good. This is what I expect when I go to a Marriott Property and believe me not all Marriott Properties are run the same.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This is our third stay here, and we plan on returning here each time we are in the area. They do not serve alcohol with the evening meal, which is very family-friendly, as we travel with our two young boys. Their staff is what makes them outstanding. I have allergies to many cleaning products, and Sharna, as mentioned earlier, was very kind and acomodating as I tried out 5 rooms until I found one that didn't have the cleaning smells, and the manager said next time I could request a "green room", which was cleaned with just water and steam. We are Seventh-day Adventists, and do not eat any pork. I was absolutely delighted and astounded one evening when the food hostess brought out to us a separate dinner of barbeque chicken and a vegetable lasagna, which was different from the pulled pork everyone else was having. She had remembered from an earlier evening meal that I asked about an ingredient in the biscuits that looked like it could be bacon bits (but was dried tomato flakes), and prepared a separate entree just for our family! We have never ever had that kind of care and service at the hundreds of hotels we have stayed. The breakfast staff also was kind enough to leave the bacon off of the English muffin egg sandwiches for us the next morning. We usually do not try to make a fuss about our eating requirements, but they sure were going above and beyond the call of duty to make us feel welcome, and able to enjoy the full benefits of staying there. I highly recommend this hotel!

Green Features: They have "green rooms", cleaned without chemicals, upon request, if the reservations are made in advance. They offer for the towels and linens to be reused, or washed, upon request.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Silver Spring

Address: 12000 Plum Orchard Drive, Silver Spring, MD 20904
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
#5 Family Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Silver Spring 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Residence Inn Silver Spring located just 4 miles north of the Capital Beltway. Our spacious suites offers separate sleeping, living and dining areas, full kitchens, pullout sofa beds, large work desks and high speed Internet access. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast daily, or wind down at night at our social hours offered midweek at our Silver Spring hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring
Silver Spring Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Silver Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.