We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely good value for DC area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Silver Spring

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Silver Spring to your Saves list
Residence Inn Silver Spring
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12000 Plum Orchard Drive, Silver Spring, MD 20904   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Extremely good value for DC area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Comfortable, clean place to stay. Convenient to transportation. A nice suburban feel. Happy hour and breakfast buffet. Had a little trouble finding it but then GPS took us right to it. Good for business travelers even though a lot of children were in hotel in July. Place is very quiet. Nice kitchen. Grocery nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    41
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
40
12
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I just stayed at this Residence Inn last weekend with 2 other adults. We shared a very comfortable room with a modern kitchenette and bathroom. The place was extremely clean. Service was excellent. And the room fee included a decent breakfast. We were able to drive into Washington, D.C. in about 20 minutes. The people working here seem to love their jobs and were happy and friendly. I can't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Silver_Spring_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear LourdesNY,

Thank you for staying with us recently. I will share your comment about the cleanliness of the hotel with our housekeeping associates. I’m glad you were able to discover how convenient we are to Washington DC without some of the additional costs associated with staying in the District. We value and appreciate your recommendation.

Sincerely,

Jason M.
General Manager
Residence Inn Silver Spring
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
436 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is a very nice, huge hotel. My room was very nice and clean (I am a fan of Residence Inns). It had a clean bathroom and fully equipped kitchen. There is a fantastic free buffet breakfast in the morning.

There’s plenty of free parking. NOTE: There is NO free wi-fi in the rooms, only the cable internet. So, if that’s an issue for you, don’t stay here. There IS free wi-fi in the lobby. There’s a coin laundry that’s was very useful.

The one thing I don’t like about certain Residence Inns (this one included), is that there are no king beds. It’s all either 2 bedroom suites, or 1 queen bed. The 2 bedroom suites are expensive. The suites are very big, so I don’t know why they don’t have king beds.

Because of the no king beds and no room wi-fi, I am only giving it 4 stars - otherwise, it definitely would have been a 5 star rating from me!


I would definitely stay here again and again when in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Silver_Spring_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear tczig,

I am happy to hear you found the room clean during your recent stay with us. I understand not having Wi-Fi in the guestrooms can be inconvenient especially with the growing number of connected devices we have incorporated into our daily lives. I am happy to inform you we have begun the process to have Wi-Fi installed in the guestrooms. I look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Jason M.
General Manager
Residence Inn Silver Spring
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmain, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel with my husband and two children (aged 5 and 7) and I cannot fault a single aspect of this hotel. Firstly a hotel is only as good as the staff and this is where it shined. Every single person that we encountered had a ready smile and were full of help. They truly helped to make us feel like we were at a home away from home. The room had everything we needed including a good sized kitchen, and the bedrooms and bathrooms are a very good size for an urban hotel. The included breakfast is very generous and the hotel offers free dinners three nights a week.

Room Tip: Two bedroom apartments on a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Silver_Spring_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Balmaingirl67,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel on your recent visit to the area. I really appreciate the kind comments about our associates. I will share your comments with our associates. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again if your travels bring you back to the Washington DC Metro Area.

Sincerely,

Jason M.
General Manager
Residence Inn Silver Spring
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted and there were no issues with our online reservations. The room is immaculate; very modern. We love the layout of the room and the kitchenette has everything you could need. I was surprised to see a dishwasher! The staff is amazing and the continental breakfast exceeded our expectations. I'm actually looking forward to breakfast tomorrow morning! Such an excellent hotel and I would recommend to anyone staying in this area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paris, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband was sent to DC on a business trip and we decided to join him for the 4 months. At this hotel we had a two bedroom, two bath suite on the third floor. It was surprisingly big for our family of 5! We had two girls in one room and my husband and I in the other room with our baby in a crib next to us. We had a full kitchen, free parking, walking distance to Target, Kohl's and ShopRite Grocery Store. The staff is extremely nice. Our two favorites were Jason The Manager and Miss Morgan, the food service lady. Social hour on Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays worked out great for us. Breakfast was outstanding. You can get to DC by car in about a half hour. On the one occasion there was a sports team in the hotel keeping us from getting sleep, the front desk took care of the noise for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

This is an extremely comfortable and affordable hotel in the DC area. The guest rooms are very large and modern - with full kitchens! The pool/jacuzzi and outdoor firepit areas are inviting, as is the lobby. The location is great - adjacent to shopping area for groceries, and a 15 minute drive to METRO subway stop and short ride from there into DC. Most importantly, the staff are very friendly and professional. Carol at the front desk was gracious and kind, and we were warmly welcomed as soon as we arrived. And, free dinner on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Wednesdays was a great surprise.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Residence Inn Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Silver Spring

Address: 12000 Plum Orchard Drive, Silver Spring, MD 20904
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Silver Spring 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Residence Inn Silver Spring located just 4 miles north of the Capital Beltway. Our spacious suites offers separate sleeping, living and dining areas, full kitchens, pullout sofa beds, large work desks and high speed Internet access. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast daily, or wind down at night at our social hours offered midweek at our Silver Spring hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring
Silver Spring Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Silver Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.