We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely brilliant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Silver Spring

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Silver Spring to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Residence Inn Silver Spring
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12000 Plum Orchard Drive, Silver Spring, MD 20904   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 12 hotels in Silver Spring
Balmain, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel with my husband and two children (aged 5 and 7) and I cannot fault a single aspect of this hotel. Firstly a hotel is only as good as the staff and this is where it shined. Every single person that we encountered had a ready smile and were full of help. They truly helped to make us feel like we were at a home away from home. The room had everything we needed including a good sized kitchen, and the bedrooms and bathrooms are a very good size for an urban hotel. The included breakfast is very generous and the hotel offers free dinners three nights a week.

Room Tip: Two bedroom apartments on a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Silver_Spring_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Balmaingirl67,

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel on your recent visit to the area. I really appreciate the kind comments about our associates. I will share your comments with our associates. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again if your travels bring you back to the Washington DC Metro Area.

Sincerely,

Jason M.
General Manager
Residence Inn Silver Spring
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    31
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
9
7
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted and there were no issues with our online reservations. The room is immaculate; very modern. We love the layout of the room and the kitchenette has everything you could need. I was surprised to see a dishwasher! The staff is amazing and the continental breakfast exceeded our expectations. I'm actually looking forward to breakfast tomorrow morning! Such an excellent hotel and I would recommend to anyone staying in this area.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paris, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband was sent to DC on a business trip and we decided to join him for the 4 months. At this hotel we had a two bedroom, two bath suite on the third floor. It was surprisingly big for our family of 5! We had two girls in one room and my husband and I in the other room with our baby in a crib next to us. We had a full kitchen, free parking, walking distance to Target, Kohl's and ShopRite Grocery Store. The staff is extremely nice. Our two favorites were Jason The Manager and Miss Morgan, the food service lady. Social hour on Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays worked out great for us. Breakfast was outstanding. You can get to DC by car in about a half hour. On the one occasion there was a sports team in the hotel keeping us from getting sleep, the front desk took care of the noise for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is an extremely comfortable and affordable hotel in the DC area. The guest rooms are very large and modern - with full kitchens! The pool/jacuzzi and outdoor firepit areas are inviting, as is the lobby. The location is great - adjacent to shopping area for groceries, and a 15 minute drive to METRO subway stop and short ride from there into DC. Most importantly, the staff are very friendly and professional. Carol at the front desk was gracious and kind, and we were warmly welcomed as soon as we arrived. And, free dinner on Mondays, Tuesdays, and Wednesdays was a great surprise.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale PA USA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a very nice place. The room was big. We could of stayed there for a week and never felt cramped. The staff was very nice. The AC did make some noise and it did blow on the bed, but the cold air was nice. It had a nice work space and a good size kitchen. The bed is comfortable and the TV swivels so it can be watched in the living room and from the bed. Breakfast doesn't start until 7:00 AM, which didn't help us since we had to check out by 7. It is close to other restaurants in the area. We would stay there again when back in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a wedding that was close by. The room was large and spacious. The bed was comfortable, but seemed a little small. The room was very, very clean which was a large plus. Breakfast was also decent. The only small minus was that we had to wait for a while to check in because there was no one at the front desk.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, WA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here for 12 days in their 2 bedroom suite. The rooms are clean and spacious. The beds are comfy, sheets are always clean and pillows are fluffy. Kitchen is fully stocked with all the essentials. Pool is nice with a friendly lifeguard. Breakfast is good with make your own waffles, and toppings of your choice. Fresh hot scrambled eggs, sausages or ham, pancakes, potatoes, breads, etc. are the regular features of the buffet. There's also a yogurt bar, oatmeal, fresh fruits, juices. The breakfast staff go out of their way to make your breakfast enjoyable. They also have an evening service 3 days a week. The staff members I have met are always hospitable, friendly and courteous. The hotel is conveniently located near a Target, grocery stores and restaurants. Will be returning to MD for a 3 week stay and I am already booked to stay at the Residence Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI_Silver_Spring_GM, General Manager at Residence Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It is nice to know that we provided you with clean and well-appointed environment for your extended stay. I will share your recognition of our breakfast associates during our next hotel meeting. Thank you again for staying with us and I hope your second visit with us was just as enjoyable.

Sincerely,

Jason R. McBride
General Manager
Residence Inn by Marriott Silver Spring
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Silver Spring

Also Known As:
Residence Inn Silver Spring Hotel
Residence Inn Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring
Silver Spring Residence Inn
Address: 12000 Plum Orchard Drive, Silver Spring, MD 20904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
#5 Family Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Silver Spring 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit Residence Inn Silver Spring located just 4 miles north of the Capital Beltway. Our spacious suites offers separate sleeping, living and dining areas, full kitchens, pullout sofa beds, large work desks and high speed Internet access. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast daily, or wind down at night at our social hours offered midweek at our Silver Spring hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Residence Inn Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Silver Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.