We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8506 Fenton Street, Silver Spring, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay for Breakfast!
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Cherry Hill NJ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Great time with wife and family! Great location and nice hotel. Center of everything! Go.
Rooms are on the small size.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    79
    34
    13
    5
See reviews for
58
25
15
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

I stayed here for business and agree with most of the other reviews. This is a standard Courtyard. The rooms are large and clean. The location is great. You can walk to a theater, a mall, Whole Foods, and restaurants, which run the gamut from fast food to full service. We had use of a gym connected to the hotel, which was much nicer than a typical hotel gym though it did get really crowded early in the morning.

As another reviewer noted, service at breakfast was slow. The server wasn’t lax, but there were too many tables for one person to handle. Adding another server or two for peak times would help tremendously.

The other issue was the air conditioner. It didn’t seem to regulate temperature too well. When it cycled on the room got really cold, no matter what I set the temperature to. When it cycled off, the room got too warm, again no matter what I set the temperature to. When it cycled on, it was REALLY loud, so loud that it woke me up a few times the first night.

I would stay here again, but only if I needed to be in downtown Silver Spring.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isherwood61
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

The downtown Silver Spring Courtyard is in a great location and has most of the amenities you can count on from Courtyard. The parking is in an adjacent public garage that is connected to the hotel by a walking bridge - there is a fee during the week but it free on weekends. The hotel is also connected to a gym, use of which is included in the hotel fee.

Two complaints: While the breakfast buffet was the standard reasonable fare, the service was lax. I had to hunt down the servers when I wanted silverware and when I wanted to pay. i know this feature of most Courtyards is being changed, but how hard is it to assign a staff person to seat and charge people.

The other issue was the vent in the bathroom, which was growing somekind of fur that looked like the seed bed for legionnaires disease. The rest of the place was spotless, so this oversight makes no sense. Please clean the vents!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

Great location but high cost for your basic Courtyard Marriott. The hotel is within walking distance of a movie theater, restaurants, shopping, and the metro. You also get to use the full gym right next door. The hotel was clean, customer service was good, but having stayed in Couryard's for a lot less in other cities, we thought it was a little expensive. Then again we lived ten minutes away for three years and only stayed here as we moved out of town, so maybe we are biased.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

This Courtyard has a great location and good amenities for business travelers. Vacationing families and tourists probably wouldn't find this property as appealing. The hotel has a shuttle which picks up guests at the Mickey D's across from the Metro stop, not exactly the best place to stand around with multiple pieces of luggage. At the hotel one will notice that the layout is rather strange. The lobby isn't located on the first floor rather guests have to take an elevator up to the main lobby, which I must admit is very well appointed and features several computers and printers plus a lounge area. The front desk staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. There are restaurants and shops within a very short walk and a Whole Foods is located directly across the street from the hotel. No problems finding dinner after a long day! My room was clean and neat. Internet access was free and very fast, another plus! Overall, I had a nice stay and would return

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

Let me begin this review with the caveat that I stayed here because I had business in Silver Spring MD. If you are a tourist visiting DC, there are so many other places to stay that would be more convenient -- only stay here in that situation if you get a fantastic deal.

As far as the hotel itself, it's clean and comfortable. Room is of ample size, King bed was nice, flat screen TV, AC worked very well, even in the late July humidity.

Halls are clean and I did not notice any noise problems. Hotel seems fairly well insulated.

The lobby area is pleasant. Note that this is not a large hotel -- it only has about 6 floors.

There is a pool and fitness center but I did not use it.

Location is great if you need to be in Silver Spring. Directly across the street is Whole Foods Market. Next door is Borders Books. Within a 5 minute walk are a variety of restaurants and shops of downtown Silver Spring. Many of the restaurants are mid-level chains (Macaroni Grill, Red Lobster, Chipotle, etc.) but there were a few non-chains. If you're looking for fine dining or a lot of choices, forget it -- get on Metro and go to DC.

Speaking of Metro, it's about a 10 minute walk. From there, you can get anywhere on the Red line. Overall, the hotel is very well located to everything you may need in Silver Spring.

Housekeeping did a good job. Room was neat and clean.

The downsides of this hotel are minor but they are as follows:

To get in (on foot), you have to take an elevator from the street level up to the Lobby. You then have to take another elevator up to your room. The "choke point" is the first elevator -- there's only one actual elevator and it's slow. For some reason, they've made it tough to get in and out of this place!

The small fridge in the room seems to barely keep things cold -- more like cool. And there's no freezer shelf.

There is free internet in the room, but it's wired at the desk -- no wireless in the room. (There is Wifi in the lobby).

The staff aren't especially friendly; they are business-like and almost act a bit put off by requests. This doesn't bother me much since I'm not here to interact with staff, but I did note it.

Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

We were overall pretty happy with our stay. We got a reasonable rate, easy walk to the metro, nice room, easy to find and park. Did not like: no free breakfast, lack of local information given in the hotel room, pool is listed as being "age restricted" meaning no kids allowed. It would have been nice if there had been a table in the room since we ate breakfast there, picked up from whole foods across the street. The hotel was really nice and I liked the location, but we would probably stay somewhere where our child can use the hotel facilities next time.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown

Address: 8506 Fenton Street, Silver Spring, MD 20878
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
#3 Romantic Hotel in Silver Spring
#4 Family Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard hotel in Silver Spring, MD, is located in the middle of an exciting new mixed-use redevelopment project encompassing four city blocks in the heart of Downtown. This inside-the-beltway hotel offers everything you need to work and play, including free high-speed internet access, iPod docking stations, luxury bedding and an array of business services. Located just across the street from Discovery Communications' worldwide headquarters, this Silver Spring, Maryland, hotel is readily accessible by car and mass transit, and is recognized as a vibrant addition to the community. Guests will enjoy a bounty of retail, dining and entertainment opportunities- all within easy walking distance from our downtown Silver Spring hotel. Some of the major corporations and businesses nearby include the American Film Institute's Silver Theater, Round House Theatre, Discovery Communications, FDA, NOAA, Bethesda Naval Medical Center, and Walter Reed Hospital. We look forward to you welcoming you to our hotel suites in Silver Spring, Maryland ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Silver Spring Downtown Hotel Silver Spring
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Silver Spring Courtyard
Silver Spring Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.