We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8506 Fenton Street, Silver Spring, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location and nice rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is an update Courtyard hotel and the hotel looks/feels very much like other recently updated Courtyard hotels. I stayed here because I could not find a reasonable rate in DC (Microsoft convention week). I liked how close it is to the metro, which provided an easy ride into the city. Staff were friendly, the room was clean and ample in size, and there are lots of food options nearby. I would consider staying again here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate your comments and I'm glad to see your Courtyard Loyalty. Come and see us again sometime soon. We would happy to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    78
    33
    13
    5
See reviews for
57
25
15
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is the best place to stay in Silver Spring by far. Great staff and very nice rooms. The management does a great job setting the expectation because every time I stay here, regardless of who is working I am treated and greeted the same way. I love the location and the parking garage is super convenient. If I have to stay in Silver Spring there is no question where I will spend the night. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Wow, thank you for this awesome review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your experience while with us and were willing to share your comments. We look forward to the next time you visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pequannock, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Very nice and clean Hotel. It is outside of D.C. but the Metro (subway) takes you right to downtown D.C. Room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. Staff was very nice and TV service was good. There is a nice little patio on the lobby floor. It is kind of weird being on top of a Washington Sports club. I like how the parking garage is right next to the hotel. But be warned, everything in the hotel is expensive.

Room Tip: You need your key to use the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Top notch hotel situated in a great location close to everything. UMD just a 10 minute drive away. Staff goes out of their way to ensure you are comforatable. Rooms are very large and comfortable. Plenty of free parking. Free breakfast is included. Breakfast contains an amazing variety of hot and cold food. Free WiFi, with gym, pool and BBQ area. basketball court is also available. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to experience all that Silver Spring has to offer. Our close proximity to UMD has made us a perfect choice for families coming in to visit students. Come and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed here on business and was pleasantly surprised that it was easy walking distance to a lot of shopping and restaurants. I also stopped by Ben and Jerry's for a core sundae (yum)!

The room is like at other Courtyards.

I was very appreciative of the breakfast. It takes awhile as they do it all made to order, but I had the bacon and scrambled eggs with a cup of strawberries and it was excellent. Much better than a tired breakfast buffet, and you only spend about $10 or less. They also have oatmeal, pancakes, cold cereal, muffins, etc.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate your comments and next time your in Silver Spring, there is also a Coldstone Creamery a half a block away from Ben & Jerry's and throughout the summer there are tons of activities, music and events in the downtown area which as you know is walking distance from the hotel. We look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This Courtyard met the expectations; pleasant lobby, quick check in, bistro with light meals available, printer for boarding passes, and a courtyard. The rooms were comfortable, clean, and included work area with plug-ins and free wi fi. The walls were a bit thin so that one can hear some noise from other rooms, but not bad.
While this is an urban location, the hotel is adjacent to a parking deck, with a walkway directly from the deck to the lobby, which is on the 3rd floor of the hotel. On the weekends this deck is free, so that made parking for us, here on a Saturday to Sunday, very easy.
The location is excellent. A few blocks away is the metro for an easy ride to D.C. One block away is "downtown Silver Spring" which at least on Saturday had the street closed to cars, and in this area are numerous restaurants, stores, courtyard with benches, and while we were there, music.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Wow, thank you for this awesome review. I appreciate your comments and I'm so glad you were able to experience all that the Courtyard and Silver Spring downtown have to offer. We look forward to serving you on your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Really good location, simple modern room at 7th floor, facing the parking garage, we wanted a quiet room, love it. But air-conditioner was not working properly the second night, it was very warm that day, the third night was better?? Will stay there again.
Please use real coffee mugs in the room, not the disposable foam cups, it is a Courtyard not a motel/inn.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate your comments and look forward to your next visit to Silver Spring. Let me know when you are coming in and I'll make sure you have real coffee cups in your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown

Address: 8506 Fenton Street, Silver Spring, MD 20878
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
#4 Romantic Hotel in Silver Spring
#4 Family Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard hotel in Silver Spring, MD, is located in the middle of an exciting new mixed-use redevelopment project encompassing four city blocks in the heart of Downtown. This inside-the-beltway hotel offers everything you need to work and play, including free high-speed internet access, iPod docking stations, luxury bedding and an array of business services. Located just across the street from Discovery Communications' worldwide headquarters, this Silver Spring, Maryland, hotel is readily accessible by car and mass transit, and is recognized as a vibrant addition to the community. Guests will enjoy a bounty of retail, dining and entertainment opportunities- all within easy walking distance from our downtown Silver Spring hotel. Some of the major corporations and businesses nearby include the American Film Institute's Silver Theater, Round House Theatre, Discovery Communications, FDA, NOAA, Bethesda Naval Medical Center, and Walter Reed Hospital. We look forward to you welcoming you to our hotel suites in Silver Spring, Maryland ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Silver Spring Downtown Hotel Silver Spring
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Silver Spring Courtyard
Silver Spring Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.