We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location in Downtown Silver Spring and easy Metro to DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8506 Fenton Street, Silver Spring, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Fairport, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ideal location in Downtown Silver Spring and easy Metro to DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

In heart of vibrant Silver Spring -- shops, restaurants, farmer's market - all within a block of the hotel. Parking is funky, but easy. Wayne Ave ramp garage is immediately adjacent - when you arrive, park on the dedicated level 5 of the garage, and walk with your luggage across a ramp into the 3rd floor of the Hotel, where the lobby, check in, and bistro are located. If accessing by cab or walk up from Metro, use the Fenton Street entrance, and take elevator to 3rd floor. Spacious and well-appointed lobby/lounge, and an adjacent outdoor seating area as well. Health club and pool on first floor. Metro train to DC and all the Washington sites is available via a 7 minutes walk to the Silver Spring station, on the Red Line. (It is also only a 35 minute drive, even in heavy traffic, from Reagan airport to the Hotel, right through the city.) Hotel located two miles inside the beltway. Desk staff was extremely friendly and professional. Easy check in and out, and courteous storage and refreezing of our ice packs for the cooler. If a golfer, we recommend the Hampshire Greens public course 25 minutes due north of the Hotel. Have never seen a municipal-owned course in that kind of excellent condition -- Country Club quality, and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: High floor on North Side looking across Fenton Street (we had 9th floor, room 911) has great view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank for taking the time to write a review about our staff and hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the proximity to DC. Your comments are much appreciated and I will pass them on to our team. Thank you for the tip on Golfing. I might have to try that out myself. Thanks again, we look forward to serving you again the next time you are in the Silver Spring area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    78
    33
    13
    5
See reviews for
57
25
15
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This mid-range business hotel has pitched every aspect of their hotel just right. It gets the fundamentals right: clean, well-organized, all the essentials, decent quality shampoo and other toiletries, mini-fridge that works, responsive air-conditioning unit, etc.

Then there are some nice extras: genuinely welcoming and engaged staff, super comfortable bed, thoughtfully organized workspace with free wi-fi, functional lobby space organized so that guests feel genuinely welcome to hang out, coffee maker that doesn't require the water to run through the filter so my tea doesn't taste like coffee!! I thought the restaurant was slightly overpriced, but quite decent, and is a clever hybrid of snack bar, bar, and restaurant. I had a delicious Asian chicken salad that was delicious.

The location is great: restaurants, theater, drug store, and Whole Foods within a few steps. Metro is an easy 5-minute walk (even in 90 degree heat!)

All in all, an excellent value and a very pleasant place to stay for solo travelers or couples. The rooms are big, so families would be comfortable here, but do note their prominently displayed notice that the swimming pool is NOT a pool for kids, but is in the health club for lap swimming only.

Room Tip: I agree with other comments that you probably want to get a room away from the ice machines. As you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel. We pride ourselves on providing the best service and accommodations in Silver Spring and it's nice to get this feedback. I will certainly pass on your comments to the rest of the team and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was back again the first full week of June. As always the staff was super helpful and it was fun to watch Chelsea and Abbie train the new person Leah. The food was great and the weather was awful but that's not the hotel's fault. The room was great - clean, comfortable, and easy to sleep in. Life is good at Courtyard by Marriott Downtown Silver Spring!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank for taking the time to write a review about our staff and hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I will be sure to mention this review to Chelsea and Abbie. Your comments are much appreciated and we look forward to serving you again the next time you are in the Silver Spring area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I've stayed here many times when attending meetings in the area. The hotel is clean, nicely maintained, and for being on a busy street, surprisingly quiet. The rooms are generously sized and very comfortable. The staff has always been friendly and professional. A bonus is easy parking in the attached lot which I believe is city owned, free on the weekends and quite inexpensive on weekdays. The hotel was recently renovated so everything is nice and fresh. I've never had any sort of problems here at all - highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank for taking the time to write a review about our staff and hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of all that Silver Spring has to offer. Your comments are much appreciated and I will pass them on to our team. We look forward to serving you again the next time you are in the Silver Spring area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a standard Courtyard by Marriott. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean. We return time after time because of its location. Parking in the adjoining garage allows easy access to the lobby and it's free on weekends. Just as important is its convenience to downtown Silver Spring. Restaurants, shopping, and a grocery store are all an easy walking distance. A portion of the street one block from the hotel is blocked some evenings for live entertainment and some Saturdays for a farmers' market. Two theaters are close by. When visiting relatives in Washington DC, this is our go-to hotel.

Room Tip: We always ask for an upper level because on busy nights street noise can be heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank for taking the time to write a review about our staff and hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the proximity to DC. Your comments are much appreciated and I will pass them on to our team. We look forward to serving you again the next time you are in the Silver Spring area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My family and I stayed here on a family vacation visiting my parents, brother and sisters here. Hotel was very nice. Staff was excellent. Love the lobby area and sitting area. Very nice. Things at the bar and restaurant and there pantry were pricey but that is expected. Located in a nice area lots of things to do and eat. The TV lineup was the best ever at a hotel that I stayed in. My only complaint was that the house cleaning staff when you asked them to replace something or do something they didn't do it. Needed the sheets change a few times and they did not do this when requested. Also parking is a little confusing when you first get there. And prepare to pay for parking each day. But all in all I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank for taking the time to write a review about our staff and hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of all the hotel has to offer. We are addressing your concern about the A/C unit and hopefully have fixed that problem. Your comments are much appreciated and I will pass them on to our team. We look forward to serving you again the next time you are in the Silver Spring area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is overall a nice hotel. It is not as clean this trip and the carpets are showing their age. It still has a nice lobby with good food and Starbucks. Biggest complaint is that the level 5 of parking garage where the skywalk is located is always packed with patrons of the retail and restaurants. Seems like they should be able to reserve that floor for hotel guests as the other floors are not crowded. There is no good view that I have seen. There is a mini frig. There are many nice shops and reestaurants within the blocknsurrounding...nice area. Great for FDA meetings. Overall, good value and will stay again.

Room Tip: The room across from elevators also near ice makers. The front desk ladies seem to not understand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write in to Trip Advisor. I understand how you feel about the parking. It can get pretty full when there are activities in the downtown area and we have tried to work with the garage management to make it easier for our guests to park. I hope you were able to use our shuttle to the FDA while you were a guest with us. It transports to and from the FDA on call so we can be there when you need us to be and you can leave your car parked and not have to hassle with the traffic. We appreciate your business and hope that when your travels bring you back to Silver Spring you will again give us the opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown

Address: 8506 Fenton Street, Silver Spring, MD 20878
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
#3 Family Hotel in Silver Spring
#4 Romantic Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard hotel in Silver Spring, MD, is located in the middle of an exciting new mixed-use redevelopment project encompassing four city blocks in the heart of Downtown. This inside-the-beltway hotel offers everything you need to work and play, including free high-speed internet access, iPod docking stations, luxury bedding and an array of business services. Located just across the street from Discovery Communications' worldwide headquarters, this Silver Spring, Maryland, hotel is readily accessible by car and mass transit, and is recognized as a vibrant addition to the community. Guests will enjoy a bounty of retail, dining and entertainment opportunities- all within easy walking distance from our downtown Silver Spring hotel. Some of the major corporations and businesses nearby include the American Film Institute's Silver Theater, Round House Theatre, Discovery Communications, FDA, NOAA, Bethesda Naval Medical Center, and Walter Reed Hospital. We look forward to you welcoming you to our hotel suites in Silver Spring, Maryland ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Silver Spring Downtown Hotel Silver Spring
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Silver Spring Courtyard
Silver Spring Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.