We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great trip!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8506 Fenton Street, Silver Spring, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Silver Spring
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another great trip!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I was back again the first full week of June. As always the staff was super helpful and it was fun to watch Chelsea and Abbie train the new person Leah. The food was great and the weather was awful but that's not the hotel's fault. The room was great - clean, comfortable, and easy to sleep in. Life is good at Courtyard by Marriott Downtown Silver Spring!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank for taking the time to write a review about our staff and hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and I will be sure to mention this review to Chelsea and Abbie. Your comments are much appreciated and we look forward to serving you again the next time you are in the Silver Spring area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    69
    32
    11
    5
See reviews for
53
22
14
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I've stayed here many times when attending meetings in the area. The hotel is clean, nicely maintained, and for being on a busy street, surprisingly quiet. The rooms are generously sized and very comfortable. The staff has always been friendly and professional. A bonus is easy parking in the attached lot which I believe is city owned, free on the weekends and quite inexpensive on weekdays. The hotel was recently renovated so everything is nice and fresh. I've never had any sort of problems here at all - highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank for taking the time to write a review about our staff and hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of all that Silver Spring has to offer. Your comments are much appreciated and I will pass them on to our team. We look forward to serving you again the next time you are in the Silver Spring area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a standard Courtyard by Marriott. The staff is friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean. We return time after time because of its location. Parking in the adjoining garage allows easy access to the lobby and it's free on weekends. Just as important is its convenience to downtown Silver Spring. Restaurants, shopping, and a grocery store are all an easy walking distance. A portion of the street one block from the hotel is blocked some evenings for live entertainment and some Saturdays for a farmers' market. Two theaters are close by. When visiting relatives in Washington DC, this is our go-to hotel.

Room Tip: We always ask for an upper level because on busy nights street noise can be heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank for taking the time to write a review about our staff and hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the proximity to DC. Your comments are much appreciated and I will pass them on to our team. We look forward to serving you again the next time you are in the Silver Spring area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My family and I stayed here on a family vacation visiting my parents, brother and sisters here. Hotel was very nice. Staff was excellent. Love the lobby area and sitting area. Very nice. Things at the bar and restaurant and there pantry were pricey but that is expected. Located in a nice area lots of things to do and eat. The TV lineup was the best ever at a hotel that I stayed in. My only complaint was that the house cleaning staff when you asked them to replace something or do something they didn't do it. Needed the sheets change a few times and they did not do this when requested. Also parking is a little confusing when you first get there. And prepare to pay for parking each day. But all in all I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank for taking the time to write a review about our staff and hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of all the hotel has to offer. We are addressing your concern about the A/C unit and hopefully have fixed that problem. Your comments are much appreciated and I will pass them on to our team. We look forward to serving you again the next time you are in the Silver Spring area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is overall a nice hotel. It is not as clean this trip and the carpets are showing their age. It still has a nice lobby with good food and Starbucks. Biggest complaint is that the level 5 of parking garage where the skywalk is located is always packed with patrons of the retail and restaurants. Seems like they should be able to reserve that floor for hotel guests as the other floors are not crowded. There is no good view that I have seen. There is a mini frig. There are many nice shops and reestaurants within the blocknsurrounding...nice area. Great for FDA meetings. Overall, good value and will stay again.

Room Tip: The room across from elevators also near ice makers. The front desk ladies seem to not understand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write in to Trip Advisor. I understand how you feel about the parking. It can get pretty full when there are activities in the downtown area and we have tried to work with the garage management to make it easier for our guests to park. I hope you were able to use our shuttle to the FDA while you were a guest with us. It transports to and from the FDA on call so we can be there when you need us to be and you can leave your car parked and not have to hassle with the traffic. We appreciate your business and hope that when your travels bring you back to Silver Spring you will again give us the opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This property offers comfort, cleanliness, convenience and courtesy at a reasonable price. Convenient to Washington through the DC Metro, well-situated for all that Silver Spring offers and staffed by an excellent, attentive staff eager to help. Convenient parking is a big plus for a downtown hotel. Microwave in room available on advanced request only. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write in comments about our hotel. I'm glad that you enjoyed the property and it's location in downtown Silver Spring. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a couple of times and find it to be reliably good. It's pretty central for Silver Spring, with plenty of restaurants within walking distance; the subway is also within 10 minutes' walking distance, so you can be in downtown DC within about 45 minutes of leaving the hotel. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Staff are really cheerful, friendly and well-trained - they really seem to go the extra mile to making guests feel welcome. The only slight gripe is the food, which is pretty basic: there's not a great choice for breakfast, and there isn't much to speak of for dinner - you'd be much better off eating out for anything other than breakfast. Also, the reception is on the third floor, and the lift is annoyingly slow from ground level to reception. Apart from these minor complaints, overall I recommend it for both business and pleasure, as long as you're not expecting luxury.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoy staying at our hotel and appreciate your comments regarding the food. Our menu changes every season and it is our hope that everyone can find something that they will enjoy while a guest with us. In the event you have a taste for something that is not on our menu we are centrally located in the heart of Silver Spring where a short walk will put you in the middle of shopping, dining and a movie theater a block away. It's a great place to be and I hope that you will return again and experience the excitement of Downtown Silver Spring and the Courtyard Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown

Address: 8506 Fenton Street, Silver Spring, MD 20878
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard hotel in Silver Spring, MD, is located in the middle of an exciting new mixed-use redevelopment project encompassing four city blocks in the heart of Downtown. This inside-the-beltway hotel offers everything you need to work and play, including free high-speed internet access, iPod docking stations, luxury bedding and an array of business services. Located just across the street from Discovery Communications' worldwide headquarters, this Silver Spring, Maryland, hotel is readily accessible by car and mass transit, and is recognized as a vibrant addition to the community. Guests will enjoy a bounty of retail, dining and entertainment opportunities- all within easy walking distance from our downtown Silver Spring hotel. Some of the major corporations and businesses nearby include the American Film Institute's Silver Theater, Round House Theatre, Discovery Communications, FDA, NOAA, Bethesda Naval Medical Center, and Walter Reed Hospital. We look forward to you welcoming you to our hotel suites in Silver Spring, Maryland ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Silver Spring Downtown Hotel Silver Spring
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Silver Spring Courtyard
Silver Spring Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.