We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8506 Fenton Street, Silver Spring, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #3 of 12 hotels in Silver Spring
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Family Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My family and I stayed here on a family vacation visiting my parents, brother and sisters here. Hotel was very nice. Staff was excellent. Love the lobby area and sitting area. Very nice. Things at the bar and restaurant and there pantry were pricey but that is expected. Located in a nice area lots of things to do and eat. The TV lineup was the best ever at a hotel that I stayed in. My only complaint was that the house cleaning staff when you asked them to replace something or do something they didn't do it. Needed the sheets change a few times and they did not do this when requested. Also parking is a little confusing when you first get there. And prepare to pay for parking each day. But all in all I would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank for taking the time to write a review about our staff and hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of all the hotel has to offer. We are addressing your concern about the A/C unit and hopefully have fixed that problem. Your comments are much appreciated and I will pass them on to our team. We look forward to serving you again the next time you are in the Silver Spring area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    63
    27
    11
    5
See reviews for
46
19
11
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is overall a nice hotel. It is not as clean this trip and the carpets are showing their age. It still has a nice lobby with good food and Starbucks. Biggest complaint is that the level 5 of parking garage where the skywalk is located is always packed with patrons of the retail and restaurants. Seems like they should be able to reserve that floor for hotel guests as the other floors are not crowded. There is no good view that I have seen. There is a mini frig. There are many nice shops and reestaurants within the blocknsurrounding...nice area. Great for FDA meetings. Overall, good value and will stay again.

Room Tip: The room across from elevators also near ice makers. The front desk ladies seem to not understand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write in to Trip Advisor. I understand how you feel about the parking. It can get pretty full when there are activities in the downtown area and we have tried to work with the garage management to make it easier for our guests to park. I hope you were able to use our shuttle to the FDA while you were a guest with us. It transports to and from the FDA on call so we can be there when you need us to be and you can leave your car parked and not have to hassle with the traffic. We appreciate your business and hope that when your travels bring you back to Silver Spring you will again give us the opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewing, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This property offers comfort, cleanliness, convenience and courtesy at a reasonable price. Convenient to Washington through the DC Metro, well-situated for all that Silver Spring offers and staffed by an excellent, attentive staff eager to help. Convenient parking is a big plus for a downtown hotel. Microwave in room available on advanced request only. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write in comments about our hotel. I'm glad that you enjoyed the property and it's location in downtown Silver Spring. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel a couple of times and find it to be reliably good. It's pretty central for Silver Spring, with plenty of restaurants within walking distance; the subway is also within 10 minutes' walking distance, so you can be in downtown DC within about 45 minutes of leaving the hotel. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Staff are really cheerful, friendly and well-trained - they really seem to go the extra mile to making guests feel welcome. The only slight gripe is the food, which is pretty basic: there's not a great choice for breakfast, and there isn't much to speak of for dinner - you'd be much better off eating out for anything other than breakfast. Also, the reception is on the third floor, and the lift is annoyingly slow from ground level to reception. Apart from these minor complaints, overall I recommend it for both business and pleasure, as long as you're not expecting luxury.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I'm glad you enjoy staying at our hotel and appreciate your comments regarding the food. Our menu changes every season and it is our hope that everyone can find something that they will enjoy while a guest with us. In the event you have a taste for something that is not on our menu we are centrally located in the heart of Silver Spring where a short walk will put you in the middle of shopping, dining and a movie theater a block away. It's a great place to be and I hope that you will return again and experience the excitement of Downtown Silver Spring and the Courtyard Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel is located on the fifth floor of a building with access being through an elevator or driving your car up five floors. You then walk across a bridge. The people are great. The lobby is nice. The rooms are dated and worn. The beds ok with a thin matress. You can hear people in other rooms. A nice feature if you like to work out is that it has membership to an adjoining facility. It has a pool for laps, exercise equipment, and some classes. Also across the street is a whole foods store. The Doubletree in town has a more modern room and is less expensive

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write in a review. I apologize that you were not comfortable in our hotel. I agree that our location near Whole Foods & Washington Sports Club are a huge plus for us as well as all of the shops and restaurants within walking distance from our front door. It's a great place to be and I hope that you will return again and experience the excitement of Downtown Silver Spring and the Courtyard Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill NJ
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nice hotel! Stayed two yrs. ago lobby done over and very nice. Was not happy with check-in, shared I was there two yrs. ago. No welcome back and given a lousy room at first!! WHY?!? Was given a room right away, but again no welcome back, glad you're here.

Room Tip: Get higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write in to Trip Advisor. I'm sorry you had a less then exceptional welcome when you arrived at the hotel. I will certainly pass on your comments to the appropriate people so that we can improve on this service. I hope that when you come back to Silver Spring you will again give us an opportunity to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent two nights here.The hotel is right in the middle of downtown Silver Spring, MD. It is close to all the Metro station, stores, and movie theather.The staff was friendly and efficient. The room was clean and comfortable with plenty of hot water and clean towels. Despite the fact that it is in the heart of downtown, the room was very quiet. You will have to go past the front hotel entrance and make a right to find the hotel parking lot. You park on the 5th floor and parking is free.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for writing in a response to trip advisor. We appreciate your kind words and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown

Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Silver Spring Downtown Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott Silver Spring Downtown Hotel Silver Spring
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring
Silver Spring Marriott
Silver Spring Courtyard
Address: 8506 Fenton Street, Silver Spring, MD 20878
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Silver Spring
#4 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard hotel in Silver Spring, MD, is located in the middle of an exciting new mixed-use redevelopment project encompassing four city blocks in the heart of Downtown. This inside-the-beltway hotel offers everything you need to work and play, including free high-speed internet access, iPod docking stations, luxury bedding and an array of business services. Located just across the street from Discovery Communications' worldwide headquarters, this Silver Spring, Maryland, hotel is readily accessible by car and mass transit, and is recognized as a vibrant addition to the community. Guests will enjoy a bounty of retail, dining and entertainment opportunities- all within easy walking distance from our downtown Silver Spring hotel. Some of the major corporations and businesses nearby include the American Film Institute's Silver Theater, Round House Theatre, Discovery Communications, FDA, NOAA, Bethesda Naval Medical Center, and Walter Reed Hospital. We look forward to you welcoming you to our hotel suites in Silver Spring, Maryland ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.