We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some features you will like some not so much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8506 Fenton Street, Silver Spring, MD 86336   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Some features you will like some not so much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel is located on the fifth floor of a building with access being through an elevator or driving your car up five floors. You then walk across a bridge. The people are great. The lobby is nice. The rooms are dated and worn. The beds ok with a thin matress. You can hear people in other rooms. A nice feature if you like to work out is that it has membership to an adjoining facility. It has a pool for laps, exercise equipment, and some classes. Also across the street is a whole foods store. The Doubletree in town has a more modern room and is less expensive

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write in a review. I apologize that you were not comfortable in our hotel. I agree that our location near Whole Foods & Washington Sports Club are a huge plus for us as well as all of the shops and restaurants within walking distance from our front door. It's a great place to be and I hope that you will return again and experience the excitement of Downtown Silver Spring and the Courtyard Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    100
    44
    18
    6
See reviews for
72
32
17
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill NJ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nice hotel! Stayed two yrs. ago lobby done over and very nice. Was not happy with check-in, shared I was there two yrs. ago. No welcome back and given a lousy room at first!! WHY?!? Was given a room right away, but again no welcome back, glad you're here.

Room Tip: Get higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write in to Trip Advisor. I'm sorry you had a less then exceptional welcome when you arrived at the hotel. I will certainly pass on your comments to the appropriate people so that we can improve on this service. I hope that when you come back to Silver Spring you will again give us an opportunity to be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent two nights here.The hotel is right in the middle of downtown Silver Spring, MD. It is close to all the Metro station, stores, and movie theather.The staff was friendly and efficient. The room was clean and comfortable with plenty of hot water and clean towels. Despite the fact that it is in the heart of downtown, the room was very quiet. You will have to go past the front hotel entrance and make a right to find the hotel parking lot. You park on the 5th floor and parking is free.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for writing in a response to trip advisor. We appreciate your kind words and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, MD
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was a nice hotel and the parking is free, you can't beat that. The hotel staff was very pleasant, the area is centrally located by restaurants, bars and shopping. Good for a mini stay-cation. Would definitely go back to the same hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write in a review. We look forward to the next time we can be of service to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel met all our needs perfectly as we visited family in Tacoma Park. It was a comfortable room, quiet, and we had a simple breakfast in the lobby cafe each morning. The courtesy van dropped us off at our children's home since it was within the range of the free shuttle. A grocery store and CVS were right across the street, which we found convenient. And the price was very reasonable for DC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I spent 3 nights here, it was my second visit as I was here a few years back. The place has been done up and was still getting some work done when I was there. Its not modernism throughout but it has alot fresher feel then it did before. There is a small gym and a bar that servers some average bar food. Breakfast is the usual coffee shop fare. Location is not bad and a trip into the center of Washington in the evening took about 30-40 minutes.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are better for a view of sorts. Plan to get breakfast somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I appreciate your comments because it always give me a fresh look at what is working and what is not. I am confused about your comment regarding our gym. Our hotel does not have a gym in the hotel but we are adjacent to the Washington Sports Club which has a large fitness area as well as classes that our guests can join in on. If your just using the fitness center it's free to all of our guests. It's important to know if we are telling our guests the right information. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again the next time you come into the Silver Spring area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Level Contributor
153 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here on a recent trip to Washington DC for a conference that was near capitol hill. This hotel is only a few blocks from the Silver Spring red line metro station, and they have a van that will take you and pick you up from there. It's actually a nice walk if you don't have luggage. It is located in the heart of Silver Spring so there are plenty of food and shopping options nearby. I was especially happy to find a Whole Foods right across the street!

Staff were friendly, the room was nice and the bed was comfy. If you're visiting DC and don't mind taking the metro each morning, I highly recommend staying here for affordability.

Room Tip: Staff asked if I minded if they gave me the handicapped room. If they ask you, just say "no.&q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank for taking the time to write a review about our staff and hotel. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the proximity to DC. Your comments are much appreciated and I will pass them on to our team. We look forward to serving you again the next time you are in the Silver Spring area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Spring
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#5 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#7 of 12 in Silver Spring
3.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
#3 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown

Address: 8506 Fenton Street, Silver Spring, MD 86336
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard hotel in Silver Spring, MD, is located in the middle of an exciting new mixed-use redevelopment project encompassing four city blocks in the heart of Downtown. This inside-the-beltway hotel offers everything you need to work and play, including free high-speed internet access, iPod docking stations, luxury bedding and an array of business services. Located just across the street from Discovery Communications' worldwide headquarters, this Silver Spring, Maryland, hotel is readily accessible by car and mass transit, and is recognized as a vibrant addition to the community. Guests will enjoy a bounty of retail, dining and entertainment opportunities- all within easy walking distance from our downtown Silver Spring hotel. Some of the major corporations and businesses nearby include the American Film Institute's Silver Theater, Round House Theatre, Discovery Communications, FDA, NOAA, Bethesda Naval Medical Center, and Walter Reed Hospital. We look forward to you welcoming you to our hotel suites in Silver Spring, Maryland ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Silver Spring Downtown Hotel Silver Spring
Silver Spring Courtyard
Silver Spring Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.