We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8506 Fenton Street, Silver Spring, MD 20878   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I come to SIlver Spring regularly for work and have been searching for the perfect place to stay. This place is as close as I have found. A pleasant room and comfortable bed, clean, and very customer service-oriented. Many on the staff go out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The common spaces are very pleasant and the food service is convenient, if a bit limited. There is a refrigerator, but no microwave (though they will bring you one if you ask.) Being right in the middle of restaurants, shops and movie theaters is fun. It all adds up to a convenient and pleasant stay. Oh, and there is access to a great gym -- so much more than the typical hotel workout room!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay. I'm so glad you found our staff and accommodations to your liking. We appreciate all of your comments and continue to strive to provide the very best experience to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Silver Spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    77
    33
    13
    5
See reviews for
57
25
15
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

First, the positives: This is a great location if you want to visit the DC area. Loved the free parking on the adjoining deck over the weekend! It felt very safe for walking to and from the nearby pedestrian mall--no need to move the car all weekend. The rooms (we had two) were clean and comfortable. My ratings of the sleep quality reflect issues with noise, not the beds or the bedding.

On the less positive side, there was inadequate response to our calls to the night staff regarding drunken partiers returning to the hotel. Loud talking, drunken laughter, and rap music intermittently awakened us several times between 12 and 3:30 am. Offering to move us in the middle of the night was not an acceptable answer to the issue. Reporting the issue to the staff in the morning resulted in apologies and the “comping” of our breakfast bill but really did not take away the irritation and loss of sleep.

And speaking of breakfast, mine had to be the very worst in memory! Eggs so dry it was hard to pick them up on a fork, micro-waved bacon and dry toast. I really think the whole thing was pre-prepared and re-microwaved. It was delivered to my room in a box by a very nice man who appeared to be the sole person working in the "cafe" Sunday morning. I think the trick here might be to ask for something NOT on the limited menu—I notice that another reviewer had success doing that. And speaking of the menu—what’s with the fact no prices are listed for the items on the menus placed at bedside?

The hotel staff was kind enough to give us a one-hour extension until 1 pm for check-out on Sunday morning however they cancelled our electronic room keys about 10 am while we were still in the hotel resulting in some of us being locked out of our rooms. After being re-admitted once, the keys did not work again so we were advised to prop our doors open to prevent being locked out again. Really?

Maybe weekends are just a down time for this hotel but I expected better.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thanks very much for your comments regarding your recent stay. I'm happy to hear that your room accommodations met with your satisfaction and I do apologize that you were disturbed throughout the evening and that we did not take care of that situation to your satisfaction. I will definitely pass on your comments regarding our Bistro to ensure that corrective action is taken so that we can provide a better experience the next time you return to our hotel. We strive to provide the very best in service and product and sometimes fall short of that expectation. It is our hope that when your travels bring you back to the Silver Spring area you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great location, very comfortable accommodations, extremely helpful & friendly staff & a nice cafe for a small bite. Convenient location, only 10 minutes walking from the metro, across the street from Whole Foods & in an eclectic & delicious restaurant hub. I've stayed here for business on several occasions and will return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay. I'm so glad you found our staff and accommodations to your liking. We appreciate all of your comments and continue to strive to provide the very best experience to our guests. We look forward to your next trip to Silver Spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, Trinidad
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel is conveniently located in the Downtown Silver Spring Mall, thus it was easy for me to shop, dine, and return to my room safely. The lobby was not in the usual ground floor location,but rather on the first floor. The staff did their duty to the letter, the hospitality wasn't warm. Probably because it was the winter season. Snacks were available in the vending machines, ideal for in-between meal snacks, and meals were served in the restaurant.

I particularly like the over-sized hotel windows, which was great for looking out.

No airport shuttle was available, but one can get a reliable super yellow shuttle.
In general the hotel lived up to the hotel chain standards

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay. I'm so glad you found our staff and accommodations to your liking. We appreciate all of your comments and continue to strive to provide the very best experience to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Silver Spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel is located a 10-minute walk from the Metro Station - Silver Spring / Red Line. The hotel kindly operates a quick shuttle to and from the metro. Many restaurants are located nearby. The Veteran's Convention Center is two blocks away. Excellent location.

Evening service at the lobby "cafe" wasn't the friendliest. However the rest of the staff was professional and courteous. If you get breakfast included in your rate, as with Gov't rate, the details are a bit strange. Order ONE meal selection from the menu at a counter. Don't ask for an extra banana or apple cause it's not included if you order eggs and sausage. The process is definitely weird. Staff should be given more flexibility OR a simple breakfast buffet would seem more accomodating. I really wanted a banana with my breakfast order but had to buy it across the street at Whole Foods Market. Odd...

Room Tip: Lobby is on 3rd floor. Rooms on this level have loud street noise. Building construction is underw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your recent stay. I'm so glad you found our staff and accommodations to your liking. I do apologize about the noise level, unfortunately due to our location on Fenton St. it is situated on a main thoroughfare in the city. The next time, we would be happy to accomodate you in a room higher up or facing away from the main street which will minimize the noise. We appreciate all of your comments and continue to strive to provide the very best experience to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Silver Spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CH
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

I spent here 3 nights for business, and I have to say it was a very comfortable experience. Recently renovated, looks good and it offers complimentary wireless everywhere. It also has a bistro which serves breakfast and simple dinners, which is quite convenient. It is also located very close to downtown, walking distance from restaurants and shops.
Personnel overall nice and competent.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. I'm glad you found our staff to be attentive and that the hotel amenities and great location added to you stay. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed for several nights at the Courtyard for a wedding. The staff was nice and my room seemed clean. The free wifi is great. The location is wonderful--you can walk to anything in the downtown Silver Spring area and the metro is walkable as well. I also found it easy to find even though I'm not familiar with the area. We had breakfast at the Bistro which was very good, but at prices you might expect in a hotel restaurant. The lobby/bistro area was actually pretty inviting as a place to hang out. I also appreciated the kisok with a printer so you can print your boarding passes if you're flying out.
The beds were very soft, so perhaps ask ahead for a firm bed if that is important to you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl B, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We truly appreciate your taking time to post your comments on Trip Advisor and are so pleased that yu enjoyed the hotel, location and the staff service while you were our guest. We hope to have you back the next time your travel brings you to the Silver Spring area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown

Address: 8506 Fenton Street, Silver Spring, MD 20878
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
#3 Family Hotel in Silver Spring
#4 Romantic Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard hotel in Silver Spring, MD, is located in the middle of an exciting new mixed-use redevelopment project encompassing four city blocks in the heart of Downtown. This inside-the-beltway hotel offers everything you need to work and play, including free high-speed internet access, iPod docking stations, luxury bedding and an array of business services. Located just across the street from Discovery Communications' worldwide headquarters, this Silver Spring, Maryland, hotel is readily accessible by car and mass transit, and is recognized as a vibrant addition to the community. Guests will enjoy a bounty of retail, dining and entertainment opportunities- all within easy walking distance from our downtown Silver Spring hotel. Some of the major corporations and businesses nearby include the American Film Institute's Silver Theater, Round House Theatre, Discovery Communications, FDA, NOAA, Bethesda Naval Medical Center, and Walter Reed Hospital. We look forward to you welcoming you to our hotel suites in Silver Spring, Maryland ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Silver Spring Downtown Hotel Silver Spring
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Silver Spring Courtyard
Silver Spring Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Silver Spring Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.