We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ghetto-quality motel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Silver Spring

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Travelodge Silver Spring to your Saves list
Travelodge Silver Spring
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8040 13th Street, Silver Spring, MD 20910   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Silver Spring
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ghetto-quality motel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This place is good only for the convenience of its location (Silver Spring metro station is a 5 minute walk away). The hallways stink, and the rooms are whatever. They're run-down, but the AC works. These rooms are good for only a one-night, for-the-sake-of-convenience stay. More than that is not a good idea.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe06309, General Manager at Travelodge Silver Spring, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We apologize if you had any inconvenience. We have re-painted our walkways and lobby areas. We also have organized for more cleaning services for the outside of our property. We would like you to come revisit us for a enjoyable stay.
Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    11
    28
    23
    58
See reviews for
34
20
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida City, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The room television, safe and shower bar were broken. Took one day to get them fixed. Asked for a roll away bed and it was not brought until third day. When we checked out, the lady wanted to charge us for all the days we were there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe06309, General Manager at Travelodge Silver Spring, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
We do apologize for any inconvenience that you may have had during your stay and wee do thank you for your review. Based upon your review we have made sure that all our rooms are fully updated and comfortable for our guests. We would like you to come re-visit us and check out our updates.
Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean View
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My review of this motel was based on a non functional ice machine and a steel rod sticking out of the bed. I bang my leg on this rod several times creating a lot of pain.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe06309, General Manager at Travelodge Silver Spring, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and sorry about the difficulties and inconvenience. We have restored the Ice machine back to its normal conditions and we did replace any items that are harmful to our guests in the rooms. Not only have we update these items but we have also made several changes to the property. We would like you to come visit us and give us feedback again,.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I frequently travel to DC and I stay at this particular Travel Lodge for several days every 2 weeks or so. Having stayed here a LOT of times, I can say that I have never seen any type of bugs in the rooms. They do seem to have certain issues in most (not all) of the rooms I have stayed in, such as most of the Tub/Showers don't drain very fast causing the water to build up to your ankles, probably half of the microwaves don't work or are missing and some of the entrance doors are missing the security latches on the inside and most have large gaps around them. Repairs do seem to be made "on the cheap" as temporary measures rather than spending a little bit more and doing it right the first time.
The rooms have always been clean and the staff is always courteous and helpful. The only time I have been very disappointed was the room from last week on the 1st floor (#309), when I opened the door to the very large bathroom, I was assaulted with a putrid smell that was overwhelming, it smelled similar to rotten pumpkins. Since they turn off the AC between guests the high heat that day made it even worse. I cranked up the AC, used my huge spray can of Lysol (fresh linen scent) to saturate the bathroom, propped the bathroom door open and went to Subway for an hour or so. I had to keep it propped open for the entire 3 days because letting it close let the smell build up again. In my opinion, and I was the Lowe's Installer of the Year for the entire northeastern United States (Kitchens and Baths) in 2004, there is a leak in the plumbing on the floor above that is molding as evidenced by the bulges in the ceiling and the thick layers of ceiling texture to try and cover it up with "bleached" looking orange bullseyes around the bulges.
Otherwise, I have been satisfied my stays there and they are very pleasant to deal with. I bring my own coffee pot (a 1 cup Kuerig) and get all my food from Subway which is quite yummy!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe06309, General Manager at Travelodge Silver Spring, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Daniel,
Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review. We do appreciate your feedback and also apologize for any inconvenience that you had with your last stay. We are constantly updating our Hotel and making changes to accommodate our guests even better. We hope to see you soon on your next visit and give us feedback on our updates.
Thank You,
Joseph Oden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

No free breakfast.... subway restaurant close by did not have hot water for tea.... there were roaches in the room..... the airconditioner was LOUD and kept us awake most of the night..... if we turned it off the room was too hot.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe06309, General Manager at Travelodge Silver Spring, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for the review. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you may have had during your last stay. We recently had a maintenance team come in and clean and update our air conditioning. We want you to know that we do take your review seriously and we are making updates based upon the reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Silver Spring

Address: 8040 13th Street, Silver Spring, MD 20910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Silver Spring 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Wyndham, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Silver Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.