We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick lunch stop” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Negril

Negril
965 Thayer Ave., Silver Spring, MD 20910
301-585-3000
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #128 of 323 Restaurants in Silver Spring
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Caribbean, Jamaican
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
WDC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quick lunch stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

The beef and chicken patties were good and the chicken fricassee (don't remember how it was spelled) was also good. Plantains were yum. The fish sandwich was just okay and I would stick to the other dishes when visiting. The coco bread was predictably yum. All in all, nice place for a quick lunch stop but not necessarily a place we would go out of our way for.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Stew Chicken”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

The chicken was excellent (fresh, and good cuts of meats) !!!!!!!..... cabbage and rice = very mediocre.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Choose Wisely”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This place has really gone downhill in recent years. I used to order the chicken roti and the oxtails on a regular basis, but the flavor complexity that used to be there just isn't there anymore. I no longer take friends here when they're looking for authentic Jamaican food. That said, there are a few snacks that I still order when I'm in the area. The rice in peas is a good buy, with a full to-go container of rice and a small carton of curry gravy. I also like the beef patties and coco bread, especially when coco bread is so warm it steams when cracked open. I like the housemade fruit punch, and for those of you who like sorrel, they have it here.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, New Jersey
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“A one time favorite but no more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I remember when Negril first opened a very long time ago. I would rush to to the small eatery for meat patties, meatloaf, and cinnamon buns for take out. I would often dine in the restaurant and my favorite was the curry chicken with peas and rice. Over the years the prices have increased the portions have decreased and the food just does not have the same one two punch of yester-year... Worth a try if you never tried Caribbean food but for us veterans we will move on.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice @ Negtil”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

I arrived Tuesday, Jan. 8th after working out for 2 hours. The Service was fast and Jerk chicken dinner was good.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Negril also viewed

 
Silver Spring, MD
 

Been to Negril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Negril, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.