We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samanthas Restaurant

Samanthas Restaurant
631 University Blvd E, Silver Spring, MD 20901-3769
301-445-7300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 323 Restaurants in Silver Spring
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
“the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

this restaurant offer a variety of dishes iI never had the food is excellent and the service is the most

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    22
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winter Garden, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food, small location problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've been to this place twice and the food there was excellent. Very intimate location but the outside can be deceiving. It's at a very busy part of Silver Spring so I wouldn't recommend going there during rush hour. Parking is also very bad. They do have a very small parking lot adjacent to the restaurant however there's only a handful of parking spots so you might have to find parking on the street.

Other than that, this place is highly recommended. Flavorful food with plenty of options with friendly staff

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Dont let the location turn you off”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great food for a sketchy neighborhood
seafood was shockingly delicious
margarita was from a mixer thats the only reason for not a 5star review!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Superb Latin American dishes, friendly service, family prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Our family group of 5 adults, toddler and baby were warmly welcomed, served quickly, to a wonderful meal, starting with delicious appetizers (guacamole, ceviche, and chicharrones that are not the usual fried but subtly spiced roasted pork. We had lomo saltado, milanesa de pollo, and a plate for two of meats, shrimp, beans, rice, etc. that was deliciously seasoned and perfectly cooked. The tortillas are fresh and thick, the pitcher of margaritas was generous and limey, and the horchata was genuine and rich. The restaurant is intimate, white tablecloth but clearly meant for families as well as special dining. We will return again and again and again. Although supposedly "pricier" than neighboring establishments, it is incredibly good value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phila, PA
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Cute Neighborhood Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Dined alone and there was no wait to be seated. The staff is friendly and attentive. Cute neighborhood place with white table cloths and fresh flowers in Mexican vases on the tables. Portions are large - I couldn't finish my entree after inhaling the chips and salsa. Had the chicken stuffed with spinach which came with vegetables, rice, and beans. The chicken was a little dry and the sauce was a little salty for my taste but decent value for $16. Parking is limited as others said but I was able to get a spot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samanthas Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Samanthas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samanthas Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.