We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best crepes this side of the Atlantic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fenton Cafe

Fenton Cafe
8311 Fenton St, Silver Spring, MD 20910-4537
301-326-1841
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 326 Restaurants in Silver Spring
Cuisines: French
Restaurant details
New Park, PA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best crepes this side of the Atlantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

The crepes themselves taste like Paris. The Swiss cheese and ham crepe used good cheese and ham. The Swiss, ham and egg was delicious. Really good coffee. Really good hot chocolate. Too full for a crepe with sugar and butter, a favorite, so something to look forward to next time. Physically it's a small, functional place, but I give it 5 stars for its good energy and sweet staff. The owner came in while we were there and began making crepes. She worked with grace and care.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Yummy crepes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This place has great crepes with fresh ingredients. It's a great place for brunch or lunch. If you're there with a friend, a savory crepe each and a dessert crepe to split is the way to go. The seating is limited, and it can take a while to get your order because they make every crepe fresh after you order it. It's worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Crepes are their specialty, but surprisingly bland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

My friend and I both had savory crepes and the ingredients were folded into the crepe after it had cooled, so there was no chance for the cheese to melt. There was no seasoning added to my crepe of feta, spinach, onion and tomato, so it tasted just like those ingredients with no mingling of flavors. The dessert crepes looked like they would be a better option.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Delicious and Fresh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

My cousin has been telling me about this place for a while, so we met for lunch and tried it out. It's kind of hidden on a strip next to an Exxon gas station on Fenton Street. It is an intimate cafe, only about 4 tables and a bar with stools. They have two parts to the menu: Sweet and Savory.

The Sweet Side has options like fruit, nutella, powdered sugar etc

The Savory Side has options like cheese, egg, meat, veggies etc

I got from the Savory side, a cheese, spinach and egg. It was around $5 and huge! My mom and I split it and we were both full! The cashier is also the cook and her machines are right in front, behind the counter. You could see her using gloves and bringing out the fresh spinach from the fridge and cooking everything to order.

My sister got the number 27 (Honey Al) from the Sweet Side, which had almond powder, honey, bananas and whipped cream. She loved it.

Everything is under $10 and you can create your own crepe as well as order from their menu. Please note that the only thing they have is crepes and drinks. I will definately be going back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful crepes, inadequate signage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

This place has delicious crepes and gracious service. Unfortunately, the sign outside says Fenton Cafe and beneath it in smaller letters Coffee and Crepes, so I had trouble finding it as anyone might. From the outside looks like just a luncheonette. Inside it's sunny and they have good magazines for their guests.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fenton Cafe also viewed

 
Silver Spring, MD
Silver Spring, MD
 

Been to Fenton Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fenton Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.