We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diversity situation but just okay Greek” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Big Greek Cafe

The Big Greek Cafe
8223 Georgia Ave, Silver Spring, MD 20910-4520
301-587-4733
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 322 Restaurants in Silver Spring
Cuisines: Greek
Description: Their phone number is 301-495-2912. They opened the first week of March 2009. I ate there for the first time today and would like to leave a recommendation.
Restaurant details
Description: Their phone number is 301-495-2912. They opened the first week of March 2009. I ate there for the first time today and would like to leave a recommendation.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
“Diversity situation but just okay Greek”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stopped at a Greek restaurant for a snack today. It was staffed entirely by Salvadorans. We sat next to a family of Ghanaians in going to church clothes. There were also a few tables of Anglos and African Americans. I like living in DC.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, MD
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious Greek food at a reasonable cost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is our favorite Greek restaurant in the Silver Spring area. Nothing fancy. Simply, delicious Gyro, Musaka, Greek salad and many other choices. Authentic, tasty, and very reasonably priced. Great service! What's not to like,

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“LOVE, LOVE, LOVED it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were visiting my daughter and she suggested we try the Big Greek Cafe. It was so GOOD!! My husband had the roasted Greek chicken and it had the best flavor and so juicy. My daughter and I had the Greek Gyro Platter with the Greek french fries. Loved the Feta cheese and herbs on the fries. Wish I had some right now. The portion sizes are very large so it is a great value for the money.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We will definitely go back when we return to the area.

At first we thought the parking was going to be a hassle, but there is a parking garage one block over and it is free on the weekends so it was no big deal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehouse, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We went here for dinner not once, but TWICE during our recent 4-day trip to Silver Spring. My husband and I love Greek food, and the food and portions here were excellent. After our first dinner, we went somewhere else the next night and really wanted more of their food for the last night of our stay. Try their Spanakopita and Baklava!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Not good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I thought their chicken was dry and not no enough seasoning. Save your money and go to the other Greek Place closer to downtown Silver Spring.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Big Greek Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Big Greek Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Big Greek Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.