We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at a reasonable price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Silver Spring

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Silver Spring to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8728-A Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $99
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Silver Spring
Portsmouth, United States
1 review
“Great stay at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had a great stay at the Hampton Inn in Silver Spring. Close enough to walk to metro station, however we used the complimentary shuttle as we were doing a lot of walking in DC with kids. Staff was helpful and friendly. Valet service was great-always welcoming when we came back after a long day! Belay in Valet wanted us to feel home and we did! Thanks so much! We stayed outside of DC for price and an indoor pool and glad that we did. Will definitely consider this Hampton Inn again when in the DC area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    85
    58
    28
    17
See reviews for
105
47
20
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leonardtown, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Staff is clueless and they do not handle problems well. Parking is terrible and the valets are the worst. I do not recommend staying here. They messed up my room and all the offered me was a free 15 dollar valet for a 90 dollar room. They gave us a rollout bed with no blankets or sheets. So basically i payed 90 bucks to sleep on a rollout bed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback. We sincerely apologize to you for all of the inconveniences you experienced during your time with us. We will be sure to address your concerns with the appropriate team members and make the necessary adjustments. Again, we apologize and we hope to have another chance to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

If you need to do business in Silver Spring, this place does what it sets out to do. Conveniently located 4 blocks south of the Metro. It is a combo Hampton Inn/Homewood Suites. Rooms litle worn but the bed is comfy and it has free breakfast and free wi fi. It is located near many shops and restaurants and it works for what I needed it for. I wouldn't go there for a romantic weekend get away but if I needed a reliable place to serve as a homebase, it works.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at our hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and are very sorry for the condition of your guest room. We will take your comments under consideration as we work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will come visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed here for a business trip in April 2013. I used the Metro from Washington DC to get here, which was convenient. The walk to/from the Metro station (Silver Spring Station) was about four or five blocks- not three as advertised by the hotel but still very close and convenient. The area has a lot of restaurants as well as a Whole Foods a few blocks away so food and other services are nearby. The hotel was clean and comfortable and was what I expected from a Hampton. The hotel offered free in-room wireless service, which I really appreciate given the price of the hotel. The complimentary continental service included a mix of cold and hot items- definitely enough options to find something for most people. Check-in and check-out were quick and efficient, and I had no problems with the service or facilities during my stay. I would stay here again for business. If you are considering this as a location as a base while visiting the main attractions in Washington DC, I would stay somewhere closer such as Washington DC itself or closer suburbs in Virginia (i.e. Alexandria or Crystal City).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockvlle, MD
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The Hampton Inn at Silver Spring has a very nice staff, it is also very convenient to a great deal of shops and restaurants. I had a very good stay and would return to the Hampton Inn at Silver Spring.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great location for metro (3 blocks away, about 5 minutes normal walking pace), shopping and restaurants. Extremely clean. Good quality complimentary breakfast. Free shuttle to metro station a great feature. Would definitely stay here again if visiting this area of DC in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed for a night while visiting DC, the hotel is just north of DC 18 minutes on the Red Line Metro (4 blocks from the hotel). The benefit is this hotel is right off the beltway and very close to where 95 meets it so its very easy to get to from the north. The hotel is a shared facility with the Homefield Suites, room was spacious and comfortable. Service friendly and on top of everything.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Silver Spring

Address: 8728-A Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Silver Spring 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Silver Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.