We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“8 jersey women in 2 rooms, oh my!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Silver Spring

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Silver Spring to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8728-A Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $99
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Silver Spring
Riverside, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“8 jersey women in 2 rooms, oh my!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were visiting washington, dc for the weekend and wanted a room close to the metro. While the staff was amazing and helpful, the walls are apparently a little thin! The staff allowed us to check-in early and were very accomodating!!! We returned around 10:00pm and had a few drinks in the room. Around 11:00pm the front desk telephoned. He explained he understood myself and friends were having a good time, because the room next to us, told him soooo!!!! What a wonderful way to tell us there was a complaint against the noise in our room!!! Of course, we quieted and went to sleep. the breakfast the next day was delicious. The location was outstanding, as far as getting on and off route 95, along with getting on the metro to visit downtown. Great staff, everyone from valet, front dest, housekeeping and food service!!!

Room Tip: When traveling with friends, ask for connecting rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonssgm, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Hello Cheryl o!
We are so thrilled you took a few minutes of your time to write us a review! We are so happy that you and your friends enjoyed your trip. Hearing that our staff was “amazing” & “helpful” made our day! Sometimes it is difficult to please all 250 guests in one building who all have different agendas, activities, & purposes for their stay but it sounds like you had a smooth and enjoyable trip which is our goal for all guests. We are glad you had fun. Please let us know when you will be visiting the Washington DC – Silver Spring, MD area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    87
    58
    28
    17
See reviews for
106
47
20
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Hampton Inn on a Friday and Saturday.
Our daughter, her husband, and son stayed in a second room.
The hotel is in the same building as a Hilton Suites. The signs are hard to see from the street, especially when there is a car or van parked in the entrance driveway.
Both of our drivers missed it and had to circle the block before we found it.
The rooms were adequate, however the hair dryer was missing from our room and it took 4 tries calling the front desk and housekeeping to get one delivered to the room.
When my daughter called down to the front desk to ask for an extra pillow for her son the woman at the desk was impatient and rude.
The air conditioning was tempermental. In our room it turned off if set at a normal cool temp and had to be set at 60 before it stayed on.
The included breakfast was OK. The coffee was good and there were eggs, yogurt, cereal.
We decided to go out for breakfast both days after just having coffee.
The location is not too far for visiting DC by car or metro.
The town itself is pleasantly busy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonssgm, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your time to review our hotel regarding your stay with us. We apologize for the challenges during your stay and I’ve shared your comments with the applicable hotel departments. We would encourage you to give us another try next time, as the experience you had is certainly not the norm. Please call our Director of Sales for extra special treatment and considerations should you decide to try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The hotel is a joint hotel with another Hilton hotel which was very nice. If you did not like the price of one, you could also walk to the other side of the hall to the other.

Breakfast was a combination of both hot and continental. There was a good amount of options.

The hotel is located within walking distance to the mall and various other shops.

Although it is located on the street, you cannot hear any noise while you are trying to sleep.

Lastly, the beds are so plush and comfortable, you will never want to leave. Just close the curtains and snuggle up in the bed and you'll never want to leave!

Room Tip: Room 415 looks out toward the street, but does not provide much of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonssgm, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay. Excellent customer service is our priority. We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us here at the Hampton Inn – Silver Spring. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Overall rooms and staff very nice, but on the morning of the first day I found a bed bug crawling on the duvet! Oddly, no other signs of bed bugs. We told the front desk staff (and showed them the bug), and were allowed to switch rooms, but we were never very comfortable in the hotel after that. Unfortunately, we had done a pre-pay special for the room, so we couldn't switch hotels. The front desk told us they would dispatch ecoservices to clean our former rooms, which I hope they do, as it seems this has been an ongoing issue at this address for some time according to the bed bug registry website (http://bedbugregistry.com/). I also hope the hotel gets this issue under control because it really was a nice hotel other than the bedbug issue. But I will be checking the bedbug website before traveling for now on for the peace of mind it offers.....I hope we didn't bring any extra souvenirs home with us!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonssgm, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
We are sorry that you were uncomfortable during your stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology. This is an issue we take very seriously in order to combat in our hotel industry with the thousands of guests we serve every year. Subsequently we work closely with a pest control company and will be sure to have these rooms inspected. We are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience and your satisfaction is very important to us as we are all about Satisfaction Guaranteed. Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Where to start. We needed to be in Silver Spring For some meetings, so as usual we booked the HI. Not a good idea. The air conditioner in our room was the noisiest that I have experienced and kept us awake. The hotel smelt of smoke probably from the days when everyone smoked but you would think that they could maybe clean the carpets to remove that.
I arrived at the breakfast area to grab some tea for my wife and there was no light in the area where they keep the coffee and tea dispensers, I asked about it and was told it was broken. In addition there was no english breakfast tea mostly herbal teas, an easy fix but another annoyance
Check in was great with good people.

Room Tip: Beware you have to use valet parking which is $12 plus tips
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonssgm, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Hello!
Thank you so much for taking a moment to write us a review. We appreciate all of your thoughts and comments – which are used to better serve our guests. Your experience has been shared with our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hampton Inn – Silver Spring again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

We found a live bedbug in the bed in our room at midnight. Called the desk and they sent someone up to move us to another room but we were so uncomfortable we couldn't sleep.

This was the first night of our 5 night stay!!!!

They managed the problem well but I would not recommend this place- looks clean, nice service and great location but the bedbugs negate all positives for us

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonssgm, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you Hosbrook for your recent stay and review of the Hampton Inn Silver Spring. We appreciate you as a guest and appreciate the opportunity to help resolve any issue while you’re in the hotel. Having been notified while you were in house allowed us to take corrective action and inspect the guestrooms to ensure there was not a wide-spread issue. Our hotel and the Hampton Inn Brand take guest satisfaction extremely seriously and appreciate you as a guest. When travel brings you back to the greater-Washington DC metro area, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to the hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We arrived late ( 2am) we settled in and found blood stains on the pillow and more blood stains on the sheets. Rooms were the last ones of the night even if we contacted two employees twice. Rochelle and Joyce told us the late arrival would be noted. Instead, no notes of arrival, negligence, and very unprofessional phone manners. The late shift gentleman was very accommodating and pulled through for us. The second night we stayed more surprises. Our traveling friends found a dirty rag wrapped in one of her shorts. Housekeeping was informed and they picked it up. The assistant manager was made aware of the lack of respect for personal items in the room, and the way Rochelle and Joyce failed to do their jobs. The assistant manager ( Aysha ) was very active in helping her staff. I saw her carrying water cartons, and transporting breakfast items. We were also charged for valet parking, when in fact we didn't use this service. Charges were dropped, but we are still waiting for full refund from the bank. This hotel needs lots and lots of improvement. Simply put : avoid at all cost!
PS - unable to add more pictures of the "rag" situation and the valet parking bill.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonssgm, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Hello puccablue!
First off thank you so much for your feedback. We here at the Hampton Inn – Silver Spring are committed to providing the best possible accommodations and service. Your comments help us to achieve this. We apologize for the challenges during your stay and I’ve shared your comments with the applicable hotel departments to see where improvements can be made. This is not our standard and we encourage you to please call our General Manager for extra special treatment and considerations should you decide to try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Silver Spring

Address: 8728-A Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Silver Spring 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Reservation Counter, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Silver Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.