We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rent rooms to teens, noisy but okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Silver Spring

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Silver Spring to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8728-A Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
From $99 with Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Belmar, New Jersey
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“rent rooms to teens, noisy but okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

they rent rooms to teenagers every weekend (as per hotel manager) very noisy, valet takes forever, small pool (6+ people is over-crowded), not that great of a breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonssgm, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review regarding your stay at the Hampton Inn hotel in Silver Spring, MD. We value your feedback and appreciate your comments to help us improve our service offerings for our hotel guests. Depending on various events in Silver Spring or DC, at times we do provide accommodations for tour groups. Our hotel policy is to allow only registered guests over the age of 21. We hope when travel brings you to the greater Washington DC area, you’ll consider staying with us again in the future as Hilton HHonors is offering free Double Points or Double Miles at our hotel through June 2012. Register online.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    124
    76
    33
    19
See reviews for
143
72
23
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

A typical Hampton high-rise within a 10 minute walk of the DC metro. A good option for those visiting DC without paying a high price. Valet parking is all that is offered and the cost is $12 per day. Since we were staying during Easter week, the hotel was overrun with hordes of school kids who decimated the breakfast buffet each day and took over the lobby when they were checking in/out. The poor person handling the buffet needed help to deal with literally 50-60 kids all trying to get breakfast at the same time. We found that getting up earlier and earlier for breakfast (before 7am) was the way to beat the crowd. Accommodations were fine, but the maid service missed a few things -- like replacing towels and bath mats, and leaving extra shampoo. The staff were all very nice, especially the guys running the valet parking. They were the best. Lots of restaurants within walking distance, as well as a movie theater and drugstore.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonssgm, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review for the Hampton Inn Silver Spring Hotel. We value your feedback as a guest and have shared your comments with various teams here at the hotel. At times we do provide accommodations for tour groups visiting the greater Washington, DC area and it seems you visited when a group was in-house. We have shared your feedback regarding our hotel’s free breakfast and comments regarding housekeeping and valet. I’m happy to hear you were able to take in some of Silver Spring’s Restaurants and possibly other nearby venues such as American Film Institute, The Fillmore Silver Spring and the shops of Downtown Silver Spring. When travel has you searching for Silver Spring hotels, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you to the Hampton Inn Silver Spring hotel again in the future.

Dan Jasinski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

The Good: The receptionist are nice when you can speak to them (seemed under staffed). The concierge stand was very friendly and helpful. The rooms clean and the bed soft. The breakfast was good.

The not so Good: Only 2 out of 5 elevators worked during my entire stay, seemed like I was waiting forever to get back and forth to my room when I was tired from working all day. Asked on of the staff and seemed to indicate they had been broken for some time. The price a bit steap for a Hampton - that could just be the area.

No early check-in available for Gold Rewards (at least when I checked in)

Overall - mediocre

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonssgm, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for your time to review our hotel regarding your stay in March. We apologize for the elevator maintenance issue during your stay and has since been resolved. Hotel rates can be influenced by seasons or day of week but we encourage booking on our hotel’s site as we maintain a best rate guarantee at the Hampton Inn Silver Spring hotel. When travel has you visiting downtown Silver Spring, please keep our hotel in mind as we would love to welcome you back.

Dan Jasinski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingburg, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I was looking for a hotel with consistency so I stayed here based on price and proximity and the fact that most hotels around here charge for parking. I prepaid to get the discounted non-refundable rate of $99. Parking was $12 for a 24 hr period.
Upon my arrival, I asked the Valet at what point did the 24 Hr parking period begin? He said when you check in. Since I was there Friday into Saturday and wasn't going to be back until after a 24 hr period, they said the parking public garage down the street was free on weekends. So I just put some quarters in up until 7pm and it was free from there!
The hotel was just a couple of blocks from the Metro train station to DC.

The room was standard Hampton Inn, no complaints. Breakfast was ok. The eggs were taste-less though.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonssgm, General Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you joeyjcc for your recent stay and review of the Hampton Inn Silver Spring Hotel. We’re delighted to hear that valet was able to give you options on parking here in downtown Silver Spring. Most guests find our hotel quite convenient to the Metro making it very accessible to Washington, DC. I’ve shared your comments regarding the hotel’s free breakfast so it can be addressed. Next time you’re visiting Silver Spring or Washington, DC, keep the Hampton Inn hotel in Silver Spring in mind. Hilton HHonors is offering either Double Points or Double Miles at our hotel through June 2012 when you register for the offer on their site. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Dan Jasinski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

In mid- August we stayed at the Hampton Inn Silver Spring......
We put our car into their mandatory valet parking- within 4 hours the hotel staff knowingly GAVE our van away to an unidentified man. Needless to say our vacation was destroyed. Washington D.C. police found our abandoned car 10 days later. The hotel chain’s insurance was in charge of getting it back to us. It took 18 weeks to get it back- delivered at 4:00 a.m. When we got it back the battery was dead, the van wouldn't start. Poorly handled, months to get reimbursement for our van rental, no formal apology, no compensation for a destroyed holiday and subsequent headaches. Not well handled by a huge chain like Hampton Inn/ Hilton hotels. Parents and children’s combined collection of 150 C.D.'s is still missing. We have not been reimbursed for that even though photos taken after the van was found show the C.D.'s in the front seat! Hence they were taken after the van was recovered and in the care of the insurance company.
We expected more from a chain like Hilton/ Hampton Inns.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

It is centrally located, clean, and offers breakfast daily. Overall, the front desk staff is not very helpful or friendly. I encountered multiple front desk staff during my 10 day stay at this hotel. The valet staff is much nicer, welcoming you when you enter the building. The front desk staff, they could care less and rarely make eye contact. I was a little disappointed by that, when I am paying big bucks to stay at this hotel for so many days. The fitness center is nice but small. The pool is rarely used and the lower level smells like wet carpet all the time. Fresh baked cookies are available at the lobby area daily:) Overall, the experience was OK but nothing great.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole J, Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Thank you for giving us your feedback. I apologize that our front desk gave you anything under exceptional service. We consistently train our front desk to provide the best service to every customer, and we will continue with our efforts. We appreciate your business and we hope that you will give us another chance to win you back as a customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed here for one week as an option to the Marriot Courtyard in Silver Springs. It was very reasonable price wise as we got an AARP discount. The room was spacious and the ammenities worked well. Our daughter was in a connecting room so that was nice. The complementary breakfast was ok but not superior. The service was fast and the staff was friendly. It is convenient to several parking garages so that was not a problem. The pool is not open but in the afternoons but that was ok too. I would stay there again due to the vast price difference from the Marriot. The noise level was very low so we were able to sleep well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole J, Manager at Hampton Inn Silver Spring, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
We appreciate the positive feedback! Thank you so much for choosing to stay at the Hampton Inn Silver Spring. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Silver Spring

Address: 8728-A Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Silver Spring
#3 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Silver Spring 2.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Silver Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.