We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but disappointed in hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Silver Spring

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Silver Spring to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8728 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $129!
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Silver Spring
Amherst, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good location, but disappointed in hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this location during a recent business trip to the DC area. I chose this hotel for the convenient location and easy access to Baltimore, Downtown DC, and the Beltway. Other than that, I was completely disappointed with the actual property. The front desk staff were unfriendly, and even rude when I checked in. The valet staff is slow, even when calling for your car 15-20 minutes ahead. The rooms are okay, a bit shabby and run down in the bathroom and kitchen area. Even the hallways need some updating (stained carpets, broken ice machine). In the future, I would rather drive a bit more out of my way and stay somewhere I feel more comfortable.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana S, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Please accept our apologies for not meeting your expectations. We have addressed the issues you brought to our attention with our staff for immediate attention. Again thank you for your comments and we hope you will again visiti us when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    55
    32
    7
    11
See reviews for
82
22
9
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, MD, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Location is very good. Other than that not great value for the money spent. Parking is not free $15/day. Not very kid friendly... Dinner was alright.. Breakfast was almost same everyday. Staff were allright. I needed a place where we could cook if we had to.. Kitchen utensils were not that great.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana S, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our property. We will looking into the comments you made regarding breakfast. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to your next stay with us. Alana Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly, Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

The room itself was clean with the pool area and workout room also clean and well stocked. However breakfast in the morning was a bit of a disappointment. I have stayed here in the past so it was particularly disappointing to see they had sausage for breakfast every single day I was there...and I stayed a full week. The eggs had some weird green garnish that caused them to taste funny and they had the same flavor nutri grain bars every day. The pancakes were hard and inedible most of the time. It seems this place lost its creativity from previous stays as they would have scones...bacon and french toast sticks in my previous stays. Very disappointing to say the least.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana S, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding lyour recent stay at our property Your comments regarding our breakfast are appreciated and we are taking steps to eliminate these issues. Alana Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great place if wanting full kitchen and lots of room. I had complaints about the bathroom layout (no towel racks and no mirror for getting up close and personal) but overall this is a clean quiet place. The included breakfast was quite good. The lobby layout is strange with 2 different service desks depending on which hotel you are staying at. Be sure you are in line at the right one!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana S, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Homewood Suites in Silver Spring.
We have noted your comments regarding our breakfast and will do what ios necessary to improve. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Alana Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel did not smell very good in general. Very distinct smell of old cigarettes. The temperature in the room was very inconsistent. Water did not immediately work several times during my stay. The laundry facilities provided can barely be called working. It cost me about $20 for one load of laundry. $2 each for detergent, fabric softener, washing machine, and dryer. Pulled my clothes out of the dryer and they smelled awful and were not even close to dry. So I had to do the whole thing again! Giant waste of my time and a very profitable scam being run by the hotel. The driveway and parking at this hotel is a joke! The parking situation at the hotel could not be any more annoying. The entryway for the hotel consistently had twice as many cars as it could handle and of course it costs $15 for that mess you call overnight parking! Needless to say, I wont be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana S, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments, as discussed we have addressed the issues and look forward to seeing you again. Alana Smith General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, FL, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Fantastic Hotel. Great service from the staff. Very attentive. Was in Silver Spring on business and the only thing my team thought wasn't perfect was breakfast and manager's reception. We wished we had had the Hampton Inn's breakfast with Omelettes and Waffles. The manager reception was a light dinner (delicious the two nights we had it) and beer and wine. Small thing to gripe about was that there was no bar with cocktails for the reception as in other Homewood Suites or Embassy Suites. Again, no biggie. Stay here. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana S, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thanks for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit. Alana Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel is in an area that is near shopping, restaurants and the subway. The staff were helpful and nice. The rooms are very small (when using the sleeper sofa...it is almost impossible to walk from the bed to the kitchen area. The breakfast was OK....I have had better quality at other Homewood Suites. The lobby is very small....but clean. The bed was hard as a rock!

Next time in the area....I will check out alternate accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana S, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to your next visit. Alana Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Silver Spring

Address: 8728 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Silver Spring 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Silver Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.