We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice play for extended stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Silver Spring

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Silver Spring to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8728 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
From $119 with Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Kailua, United States
1 review
“Nice play for extended stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Great place if wanting full kitchen and lots of room. I had complaints about the bathroom layout (no towel racks and no mirror for getting up close and personal) but overall this is a clean quiet place. The included breakfast was quite good. The lobby layout is strange with 2 different service desks depending on which hotel you are staying at. Be sure you are in line at the right one!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana S, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Homewood Suites in Silver Spring.
We have noted your comments regarding our breakfast and will do what ios necessary to improve. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Alana Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    62
    33
    9
    11
See reviews for
92
26
11
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel did not smell very good in general. Very distinct smell of old cigarettes. The temperature in the room was very inconsistent. Water did not immediately work several times during my stay. The laundry facilities provided can barely be called working. It cost me about $20 for one load of laundry. $2 each for detergent, fabric softener, washing machine, and dryer. Pulled my clothes out of the dryer and they smelled awful and were not even close to dry. So I had to do the whole thing again! Giant waste of my time and a very profitable scam being run by the hotel. The driveway and parking at this hotel is a joke! The parking situation at the hotel could not be any more annoying. The entryway for the hotel consistently had twice as many cars as it could handle and of course it costs $15 for that mess you call overnight parking! Needless to say, I wont be staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana S, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments, as discussed we have addressed the issues and look forward to seeing you again. Alana Smith General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, FL, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Fantastic Hotel. Great service from the staff. Very attentive. Was in Silver Spring on business and the only thing my team thought wasn't perfect was breakfast and manager's reception. We wished we had had the Hampton Inn's breakfast with Omelettes and Waffles. The manager reception was a light dinner (delicious the two nights we had it) and beer and wine. Small thing to gripe about was that there was no bar with cocktails for the reception as in other Homewood Suites or Embassy Suites. Again, no biggie. Stay here. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana S, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thanks for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit. Alana Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel is in an area that is near shopping, restaurants and the subway. The staff were helpful and nice. The rooms are very small (when using the sleeper sofa...it is almost impossible to walk from the bed to the kitchen area. The breakfast was OK....I have had better quality at other Homewood Suites. The lobby is very small....but clean. The bed was hard as a rock!

Next time in the area....I will check out alternate accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alana S, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to your next visit. Alana Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lee, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Nice hotel. Clean. Good service. Central location for Silver Spring. Only valet parking, but very good service. Good suite, but no separation of rooms. Tough for someone to sleep in one room and not be bothered by others in the other room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional D, Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to our area. Alana Smith, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

There were cockroaches in my bed and in the room. The 2nd room had an airconditionner that didn't work. The breakfast room floor was so dirty that I stuck to it with every step I took. The cups were dirty, and the hot water tasted like coffee (presuably since the urn had not been cleaned thoroughly after having coffee in it). I would never stay here again. What happened to the Hilton?

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We chose this hotel because of the location and the site ratings. It was a great choice. Clean rooms, although some updating may be needed with the wood fixtures in the bathroom. But nothing too bad. The beds were comfy, the room clean and quiet. The breakfast is very good, lots of variety and different hot selections each day. The only drawback is valet parking is $15 a day. We also found out that parking is free on the street and at adjacent parking ramps from Friday at 10 PM through Sat. and Sun. so that was what we did instead of valet park. The parking structures are next door, across the street and behind the hotel - all very convenient and free.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Silver Spring

Address: 8728 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Silver Spring
#6 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Silver Spring 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Silver Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.