We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Trip to DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Silver Spring

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Silver Spring to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8728 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE Breakfast, FREE WiFi
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Certificate of Excellence
Altoona, United States
1 review
“Family Trip to DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Hotel is a great place for the Family stay while touring DC. Easy access to the Metro and close to the beltway for entry and exit to the DC area. Great staff and valet service was Johnny on the spot with vehicles. Clean and great access to internet services. Good hot tub to relax at the end of the day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Macon, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

What is this 100% satisfaction you speak of? If you are asking me if I was 100% satisfied, the answer would be no. I would probably give you a 65%. Since it is not 100%, I am not sure to what this entitles me. I am certainly curious to see what backs up this 100% promise. As reported before. I was charged for valet parking multiple times for times I did not use their service. It should not be my job to correct that. They should know when I park and when I don't. The bathroom toilet kept backing up. The resolution was to bring up a plunger. I have never had to plunge my toilet in any hotel I have ever stayed in. I did on this trip! So now I can say that the Hilton is the only hotel requiring me to do my own maintenance. The keys to my room stopped working and had to have engineering make me a "Special" key. This should not have occured. 2 of the 4 elevators stopped working which caused massive lines in the lobby and waits on all the floors. This problem went on for 2-3 days. Once again, it should not have happened.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Homewood Suites is in a great location in downtown Silver Springs. The hotel was clean and quiet and the staff was courteous and helpful. The hotel was a combination of Hampton Inn and Homewood Suites. Parking was by valet in a crowded area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank goin4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel was very accommodating and the administrative and management staff were very friendly and professional. The location of the hotel was PERFECT for what we needed! The rooms are very large, the beds are very comfortable, management is AWESOME!!! The breakfast could have been a little bit better, but overall it was good. I would definitely stay there again if I needed too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Alicia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I feel that the accommodations were excellent but I was very annoyed that when I made reservations by phone for the hotel, I was told that the price would be the same by phone or online. That was clearly untrue and I didn't appreciate paying $80 more for two nights than other guests paid. However, the hotel was very clean and the breakfast was excellent. Also, the hotel is in an excellent location with stores and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

An interesting concept: two hotels (Homewood Suites & Hampton Inn) in one building. Homewood Suites gets to be "in the back." 4 blocks from DC Metro Station which is also a MARC station. Theaters (film & stage) less than two blocks in most cases. Eating spots out the wazoo. Valet parking only (not needed in my case though as I can walk where I need to be). Great evening food (I may have lower standards than most though) Mon-Thu. Terrific breakfasts (see prior qualifying statement) though the grits texture varies greatly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I'll admit from the go that I'm a huge fan of Homewood Suites for their sheer value of what you get for your money - especially when you're planning to stay in the area for a few days. Once again, Homewood Suites was great - though there is a tricky bit you'll want to be aware of. More on that in a moment. Let's talk staff: All very nice and very helpful - especially the valet who tipped us to the fact that we wouldn't have to pay for parking because it was a Sunday (our sightseeing day). The lifeguard at the pool seemed a bit overwhelmed with the rowdy bunch screaming up the joint. Still, he did very well. The fitness center was well equipped and the room was great. A decent delineation between the sofa bed for the kids and the "grown up space" was sufficient. And as always, the kitchenette was perfect. In all, the experience was perfect, except for two things:
1) Having to pay for parking. As in, there is no choice about it - you MUST valet...and it's a hearty $15 per day. Still, the valet crew was great and make good time in getting our vehicle to the front door (even though we forgot to call down in advance). Still, I'm not a fan of being forced into anything, especially something that seems as rudimentary as parking where you're staying.
2) We were there through a weekend, so we were only able to sample breakfast, but here's the tricky part - the Homewood Suites is literally attached to the Hilton Garden Inn. If you want to avoid the panic attack-inducing cattlecall at breakfast time, make sure your turn left out of the elevators and head for the "Lodge," which can only be accessed via your room key. LIFESAVER! I wish the front desk had told us about that on check-in (as we had to figure it out ourselves....and almost didn't).

In all, however, this was another great Homewood Suites experience. And if I need a hotel as a base for exploring the DC-area, THIS will be where I stay. It's perfectly located and a great value. You really can't ask for more than that.

Room Tip: Make sure you find the batcave entrance to the "Homewood Suites only" food space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thecynthia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Spring
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#5 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 480 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#4 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#6 of 12 in Silver Spring
3.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
5.4 mi away
Residence Inn Silver Spring
Residence Inn Silver Spring
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Silver Spring

Address: 8728 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Silver Spring
#3 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Silver Spring 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Silver Spring hotel provides suites with fully equipped kitchens and complimentary internet access, complimentary breakfast and dining options, and a fitness room and heated indoor pool and whirlpool. Whether you're staying for a few days, weeks or months, our hotel will make you feel at home. Located in pedestrian-friendly downtown Silver Spring, this extended stay hotel is only three blocks to the Silver Spring Metro station and just steps from restaurants, shops, theaters and nightlife venues. Ride our local shuttle to nearby businesses such as Discovery Communications, the American Film Institute, United Therapeutics and the Food and Drug Administration. The hotel is also close to the Washington DC metro region's Filmore Club/Live Nation, National Mall and Smithsonian Institution Museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Homewood Suites Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing