We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homewood Suites by Hilton - Silver Spring MD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Silver Spring

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Silver Spring to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8728 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
From $119 with Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Homewood Suites by Hilton - Silver Spring MD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

An interesting concept: two hotels (Homewood Suites & Hampton Inn) in one building. Homewood Suites gets to be "in the back." 4 blocks from DC Metro Station which is also a MARC station. Theaters (film & stage) less than two blocks in most cases. Eating spots out the wazoo. Valet parking only (not needed in my case though as I can walk where I need to be). Great evening food (I may have lower standards than most though) Mon-Thu. Terrific breakfasts (see prior qualifying statement) though the grits texture varies greatly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    63
    33
    9
    11
See reviews for
92
26
11
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Branford, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I'll admit from the go that I'm a huge fan of Homewood Suites for their sheer value of what you get for your money - especially when you're planning to stay in the area for a few days. Once again, Homewood Suites was great - though there is a tricky bit you'll want to be aware of. More on that in a moment. Let's talk staff: All very nice and very helpful - especially the valet who tipped us to the fact that we wouldn't have to pay for parking because it was a Sunday (our sightseeing day). The lifeguard at the pool seemed a bit overwhelmed with the rowdy bunch screaming up the joint. Still, he did very well. The fitness center was well equipped and the room was great. A decent delineation between the sofa bed for the kids and the "grown up space" was sufficient. And as always, the kitchenette was perfect. In all, the experience was perfect, except for two things:
1) Having to pay for parking. As in, there is no choice about it - you MUST valet...and it's a hearty $15 per day. Still, the valet crew was great and make good time in getting our vehicle to the front door (even though we forgot to call down in advance). Still, I'm not a fan of being forced into anything, especially something that seems as rudimentary as parking where you're staying.
2) We were there through a weekend, so we were only able to sample breakfast, but here's the tricky part - the Homewood Suites is literally attached to the Hilton Garden Inn. If you want to avoid the panic attack-inducing cattlecall at breakfast time, make sure your turn left out of the elevators and head for the "Lodge," which can only be accessed via your room key. LIFESAVER! I wish the front desk had told us about that on check-in (as we had to figure it out ourselves....and almost didn't).

In all, however, this was another great Homewood Suites experience. And if I need a hotel as a base for exploring the DC-area, THIS will be where I stay. It's perfectly located and a great value. You really can't ask for more than that.

Room Tip: Make sure you find the batcave entrance to the "Homewood Suites only" food space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt.Orab,Ohio
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The valet parking made it easy to get our bags out of the car and into the hotel. There was a basketball tournament in town, so there were a lot of children at the hotel. But once we got into our room, we didn't hear a thing. The rooms were clean and had enough room for our two girls to spread out their toys and play. There is a lifeguard at the pool area and he kept control of the 30 or so children who were there. There were enough clean towels for everyone. The breakfast was good, but the waffle maker on the Hampton side (the girls wanted to make their own waffles) didn't quiet get the waffles done enough. The hotel is locate a short walk away from the subway, so I would recommend that you leave the car parked to avoid expensive parking I Washington DC and take the "Metro" into town. The hotel does take you to the Metro Station, but doesn't pick you up. At the station, we were able to buy passes that allowed us to travel all day long. Please note that when coming out of the station, you must also have a pass to get out. This hotel has a variety of restraunts and a movie theater just one block away. This hotel has easy access to the highway, so it doesn't take long to get anywhere from here. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I had a 4 day stay here and it was incredible. Everyone from valet to housekeeping were very helpful. The complimentary breakfast was awesome and the variety changed daily. The facility was neat and everyone there working greeted you with a smile! The lifeguard on duty was very good we had about 30 kids in the pool at one time and he was great monitoring them. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, WV, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nice stay here with our family. It's near a Metro station, beltway access, and amenities in Silver Spring. We wouldn't hesitate to return. Breakfast smelled better in the Hampton Inn portion of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Missed my flight d/t valet parking unable to find car. Wake up calls are hit and miss. Room was clean. complimentary food was good, breakfast a little limited. need to get more organized with checkin and checkout process.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had to go to DC for business and could not find a room in the District reasonably priced. A colleague recommended staying in Silver Spring and taking the Metro to DC. I was able to book at the Homewood Suites and was not disappointed. It is combined with a Hampton Inn. The front desk as you walk in is for Hampton Inn. Around the corner is the front desk for Homewood Suites. The breakfast and evening reception is located in an area that has restricted access that you use your room key to enter.The breakfast and evening receptions were delicious with plenty of choices. The suite i was given was spacious on an upper floor and clean. The bathroom was modern and clean and the beds were very comfortable. The walk to the metro was 3 short blocks, and I was able to conduct my business and attend my meetings in the District. The location of the hotel is in downtown Silver Spring, with a very excellent selection of restaurants, pubs, and cafes to choose from. Also, CVS pharmacy is only a couple of blocks from the hotel. I did not have a car. There is no self parking. It is all valet and is expensive and it seemed as though many guests waited long periods to retrieve their car. So, if you have a car, you should reconsider, or be prepared for the long waits and extra expense. I go to DC on a regular basis, and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homewood Suites Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Silver Spring

Address: 8728 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Silver Spring
#6 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Silver Spring 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Homewood Suites Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Silver Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.