We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the suburbs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Silver Spring

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Silver Spring to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8728 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $129!
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Silver Spring
Sudbury, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Luxury in the suburbs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and had a room on the top floor. It was great with a view of downtown Silver Spring. They close some streets on the weekend to create a downtown party atmosphere. It has movie theatres and clubs within short walking distance and also with a 15 minute drive of downtown DC. The valet service is nice and they are always extra friendly to get a tip from you. The breakfast was one of the best I have seen top of the line.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    56
    32
    7
    11
See reviews for
83
22
9
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Average hotel; great location; good breakfast; phone by bed did not work and never got fixed; signage at the hotel was a little hard to find because it is shared with a Hampton Inn. Noise outside was loud at night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional D, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while you were here. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We booked this place after finding pretty solid online reviews. We were in town for a concert at The Fillmore and this hotel was one block away, which was ideal for us. The price was reasonable as well. As others have stated it is actually two hotels in one, why I have no clue. When you enter the main entrance you face the Hampton Inn front desk; you have to go down the hall and to the right of the elevators for the Homewood Suites desk. We arrived around noon and were pleased to find that our room was ready. The valet attendant on that Saturday afternoon didn't go out of his way to welcome us, but didn't ignore us. The young front desk clerk was friendly and promptly checked us in. She told us the hours breakfast would be served and location of pool and gym. Our room was on the 14th floor. It was nice to have well lit corridors with carpet and paint in decent shape. Our main goal was to drop off our luggage and walk to the concert. After a brief inspection of the room, mainly the bathroom we headed out. We returned around 4pm to rest for an hour or two. I pulled the comforter back only to find several hairs in the sheets-long and possibly arm or pubic hair; either way unacceptable, one was too many and there were at least six. Also, there were small stains on the sheets as if it could have been blood or makeup. I was furious, but not feeling very well, otherwise I would have requested an immediate room change, but just wasn't up to the hassle that would cause. We waited until we went back out for the evening and explained it to the less than enthusiastic young front desk male employee. I politely requested our sheets to be changed in our room while we were out. We returned from our concert around midnight and asked the valet guy who we could get to call us a cab. He directed us to the Hampton Inn desk clerk, which once he dialed the number, he handed us the phone; only to be put on hold due to high call volume. After many minutes we gave up. We walked outside and were able to hail a cab after a long cold wait; they aren't everywhere like in DC. When we returned to our room I wanted to check the condition of the sheets but was unable to due to the lamp on my side of the bed not working. At this point, we were exhausted and hoped that housekeeping made a huge effort to ensure clean linens. Overall, the room appeared clean. There was a bit of wear on all wood furnishings; a stained and a torn lampshade; and a few stains on the carpet. The bath towels could use updating. Some were spotless white and others old and gray tinged. The bed linens were very wrinkled and did not have the fresh laundered/bleach scent. The bed was not uncomfortable, but when sitting at the edge it sagged a great deal; definitely not firm. The bathroom seemed very clean, with plenty of counter space, but too dimly lit to see to put on makeup. The kitchen/living area was poorly lit as well, but was perfect for eating our late night meal. A bonus-fridge and microwave, which many hotels are doing away with. The following day at check out, we had texted the valet service 15 minutes prior to leaving our room. Our car was not out front and he said he never got the text, though the number used was correct. That wasn't a big issue, as he immediately went to get our car and apologized. With the exception of the young girl at check in on Saturday, everyone else that day was lacking in customer service skills. We departed the following morning and everyone (the young front desk female, the two valet men and one housekeeping lady) were all pleasant, friendly and professional. If we had this type of service two days in a row I would have bumped up the rating a notch. The hotel is in a perfect location for access to downtown Silver Spring and an ideal spot for concert goers at The Fillmore. If you don’t mind taking your chances on what type of service you’ll receive from staff and can ignore the possibility of dirty sheets the price may make up for that. It wasn’t a horrible experience, but a disappointing one.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regional D, Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a great stay. Again, we sincerely apologize for the unacceptable level of service you received while you were here. We want you to know that we've addressed the necessary staff members to ensure that issues like these are not repeated.Thank you for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Nice clean rooms with kitchen area housing a refrigerator. Great (full) Breakfast provided. Pool is in good shape with very friendly lifeguards. Hot tub is available in the pool area. Handy location to Silver Spring restaurants with both chain and wonderful ethnic types available. Wi-fi adequate. Has a business center but the PC's are painfully slow if you have to print anything.

Room Tip: They have two types of rooms: long and narrow, which is diviided in the middle with a bathroom that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USR
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

First time staying at a Homewood Suite Hotel, but won't be the last if they're all like the one in Silver Spring, MD. Very nice, clean hotel with courteous employees, within easy walking distance of many restaurants. Complimentary breakfast had many selections.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

While the Homewood may not look fancy from the outside, the rooms are lovely and very spacious. A great bargain and a quick drive to some of Silver Spring's finest dining. They have a number of suites, too for the bargain family trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly, Michigan
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Although I checked in as a Silver level member I was upgraded in the middle of my visit to Gold. When I made the hotel aware of this they gave me my complimentary 2 bottles of water the very next morning. The breakfast staff was very attentive as they went into the back room and got me 2 cans of soda in the morning as I am not a coffee drinker. After a few days of this they went back and got them for me before I even asked for it. This is 5 star service if I ever saw it. I would not hesitate for one second to recommend this hotel to anyone travelling in the Silver Spring area and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Silver Spring

Address: 8728 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Silver Spring 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Silver Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.