We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Silver Spring

Save Saved
You added Homewood Suites Silver Spring to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8728 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rates from $129!
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Silver Spring
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We recently visited the DC area for the first time. There was a little glitch with our reservation at another hotel, but that gave us the opportunity to stay here! This is a very unique hotel as it is actually two in one building. It can be a little confusing, but the staff are very gracious and helpful. We were a little frustrated when we first arrived, but Audra was absolutely wonderful and went above and beyond to make us feel at home, even if for just one night!

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    55
    32
    7
    11
See reviews for
82
22
9
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hutschenhausen, DE
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I spent 10 days here while on a personal trip. The facility itself is quite welcoming and every effort is made by the staff to provide comfort for the guests. Our suite was one of the smaller ones but still very comfortable. The kitchenette was perfect for small food prep and coffee and tea are well stocked. Sleep comfort is great. The 'Lodge Room' where breakfast is served, is furnished with a seating area around a fireplace and wall-mounted tv in addition to the dining tables. Carry-out boxes are provided for those who wish to take breakfast back to their rooms. This room is available to guests throughout the day with coffee & tea service as well. Evening meals are provided Monday through Thursday of which we took full advantage. We were not disappointed. Location is great for restaurants and a Whole Foods is nearby to help stock the kitchenette. Laundry facilities onsite are very clean and well-maintained.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonssgm, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking a few moments to write us a review! Customer service is our top priority and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like we were able to exceed your expectations in regards to the property and staff. Please be sure to let us know when you may be visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owensboro, Kentucky
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our first time coming to the DC area. We saw the good reviews on this hotel, and were glad we decided to stay there. We travel a bit, have stayed in a LOT of hotels, but were especially pleased with this one. Other than the things mentioned by the other reviewers (close to metro, etc) I would also like to mention how great the staff was. Every morning as we left the gentlemen at the door sent us off with a smile and every evening when we came back we were greeted with a warm and genuine "Welcome Back". The staff was also great the few times we needed a local ride--on the first night in the rain to get some food at the grocery (VERY CLOSE AND CONVENIENT), and to the metro. The cleaning staff is also excellent, and we agreed that this is one of the cleanest places we've stayed in.

The fact that it was an extended stay meant that there was extra cabinet space in the bathroom which was nice since we stayed the week. You can also keep snacks in the fridge and cabinets in the kitchen which is nice.

I want to say a word about dinner (served Monday-Thursday from 5-7) since the website calls it a "light dinner" and the hazy descriptions of other reviews left us wondering if we should stock our fridge with more food when we got there so we wouldn't go to bed hungry at night. The dinner served was PLENTY! Examples of some of the meals served: Hot dogs with 3 alarm chili and chips, Stuffed peppers with potato wedges and chicken gumbo, meatballs with marinara and clam chowder, Cajun chicken with rice and vegetable medley.... Basically, some kind of main entree, another side or two, and usually some sort of bread, and soup. You will also be offered sodas, lemonade, and salad with some of the usual toppings. It was GREAT to come right in from running around DC all day and sit right down to eat and crash! I feel that alone makes this place great for families and makes this hotel a head above the rest.

We were on the 14th floor and I don't know if that was the only reason, but we agreed that it was nice and quiet in there considering how busy the area is.

One downside was the slow internet. They said they are working on the problem so it may not be an issue by the time you get there! This was not a big deal for us since we don't go on vacations to sit at the computer, but it did take us a little longer the times we needed to use the internet to print out tickets to events and our boarding passes. Still, this was not enough to bother us.

The other thing is that the AC blew right in the direction of our bed. I don't like to be hot but I don't like it blowing right on me either (makes me cold+sinus trouble). I had my husband (who LOVES to have it blowing on him) sleep on the side by the unit. Still, I could feel it and wished it could have been directed upwards or something.

Despite these things, we wouldn't consider staying anywhere else on a return trip.

Room Tip: Ask for our room! 1410 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonssgm, Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Hello!
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at the Homewood Suites – Silver Spring.
We certainly cannot wait to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were in DC for the birth of our grandson and needed a spot to stay for 10 days. Found reviews of the Homewood Suites (about 2 miles from our daughter) and decided to try it. The location could not be better, the price was extremely reasonable, but the full breakfast and dinner 4 nights a week were outstanding. Very nice people and very clean rooms. If you are in DC consider this as a first option.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

After many years with Hilton Honors, this was my first experience with a Homewood Suites and I am now a huge fan! I loved almost everything about this hotel - from the helpful, friendly Valets to the delicious breakfasts and dinners, to our nice room - which though not very big was big enough and well appointed with everything needed for a week's business stay. The metro (red line) is just 5 minutes walk away. So the two very minor things that I didn't love - 1) the small pool which was crowded with kids and as much as the lifeguard tried to encourage them to stay in one area so others could swim, it wasn't very successful. Not her fault, she really tried! 2) The AC in our room worked fine but the room didn't stay cool very long after it shut off. We found that having the fan over the bed also going at the same time helped keep the air mixed and comfortable in the room. Again, two very minor complaints on a stellar week long stay! Would absolutely return to this hotel and also try another Homewood Suites in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: You always get a better view from a higher floor - 14 or 13 floors in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonssgm, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Hello!
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with the Homewood Suites - Silver Spring so much! Customer service is our number one priority and we are so happy to of exceeded your expectations. Please be sure to let us know when you will be back in town for a visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

While visiting my daughter's house in Takoma Park, MD, we had a fire. The Bosch dishwasher panel caught fire and considerable damage was done to the house. Her insurance company, USAA, arranged for 3 of us to stay here while the fire damage is being ameliorated. We were pleasantly surprised. The king suite is clean and comfortable. The king size bed is extremely comfortable and even the sofa bed isn't bad. The kitchen is well equipped also. Breakfasts are sumptuous. Today the spread included pancakes, eggs with steak cubes, potatoes, fresh fruit and juices as well as an assortment of bagels, breads, muffins and juices. Dinner is provided Monday thru Thursday nights and has been tasty. Dinner menus are posted for the entire month. An excellent Perk is the free shopping. As long as the bill is at least $10, an employee will do your shopping and deliver the groceries to your room. The only downers is the price of parking. It's great to have a valet bring your car to the door, but $12 a day seems a bit steep. If you stay here be sure to go to Whole Foods....one of the nicest stores ever.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top...14th floor. Very quiet and decent view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonssgm, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Hello Manya O!
We want to thank you so much for taking a few moments to write us a review. Although we are so deeply saddened of the reason for your stay , we are very pleased that we were able to make your time with us as comfortable & pleasant as possible. Again we appreciate your thoughts and are glad that the Homewood Suites – Silver Spring could exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresh Meadows, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel was exactly what we were looking for in a family vacation to the DC area. It was just a few blocks walk to the Metro station so the free shuttle that they offered wasn't even necessary. The hotel was clean and the staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating. The breakfast in the mornings were amply stocked no matter how early or late you came down and the pool was luxurious with a life guard who could not have been nicer. The valet parking was efficient and if you called ahead, your car was waiting for you. The rooms were fine though a bit tight with the pull out sofa and a cot. But we did utilize the well equipped kitchen accessories. The only issue we had was that the air conditioner was located directly next to the bed and so it blew a cold draft on us the entire night. The noise when the thermostat kicked in was loud and the blowing was unpleasant. The layout of the room was poor. Other than that, we were very happy with the hotel.

Room Tip: look at the layout of the particular room to make sure your bed is not on top of the air conditioner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonssgm, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Hello Simone!
We truly appreciate you taking the time to leave us your thoughts and review. Your comments in regards to the air conditioning have been forwarded to the appropriate personnel. Thank you for your comments so we can address and rectify immediately. We are thrilled that otherwise the Homewood Suites – Silver Spring met your expectations. We are happy to hear your enjoyed your time while with us. Please let us know when you will be in the area again for a visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Homewood Suites Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Silver Spring

Address: 8728 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Silver Spring 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Homewood Suites Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Silver Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.