We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second and Last Stay at Homewood Suites Silver Spring” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Homewood Suites Silver Spring

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Homewood Suites Silver Spring to your Saves list
Homewood Suites Silver Spring
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8728 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$159 - Suite + Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Silver Spring
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Second and Last Stay at Homewood Suites Silver Spring”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

i stayed here a last year for almost 3 weeks and I had a great experience. This time I stayed for 1 night and decided I won't be going back because of bugs. First off i will say that they did improve the valet. They were courteous and approached my car when I pulled in, and there is a valet stand so you actually know who is valet. I needed my car a few times during my stay and each time they were on time (still had to call 30 mins ahead but that was fine with me). Breakfast was okay- nothing fancy and the reception was the same. Staff was courteous as they were on my last stay.

The reason I will not stay again is because of the bugs I found in the bed(s). I do not know if they were bed bugs, but nonetheless there was a bug crawling on the comforter of room 1401 so I switched rooms and found a tiny bug crawling on the pillowcase in room 1406. Different bugs in each room. Also, each of the rooms had a pillowcase with what looked like makeup on them. They may have been "clean" and just stained with makeup but not something I would want to lay my head on. The GM and manager came up and inspected the bed and surrounding area and decided they were not bed bugs. I did my own inspection and decided to stay in the room for the night. I didn't get any bites that night but I have since cancelled my upcoming 3 week reservation to stay there again.

I will not stay here again but I would still recommend this hotel if you're looking for something close to the metro, serves breakfast, an evening reception and a small gym. Close to Whole Foods and many casual eateries- just be sure to check the mattress for bugs before settling in your room. I also think $12 is high for valet considering you have to call down 30 minutes ahead, and there is no wi-fi in the room.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    94
    44
    18
    13
See reviews for
140
35
15
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tuttle, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

I have stayed at JW Marriott Hotel, Mayflower Rensaissance Washington Hotel and Washington Hotel in DC and The Homewood Suites in Silver Spring, MD is the best! Thanks Nicole Wyche and Nicole Johnson for all YOUR help!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

i stayed at the hampton in back in feb. and i can honstly say i would NEVER stay here agin. this has been the worst experience ever! first off there are BED BUGS in this hotel when i brought it up to a manager they said "sorry and comp me a night" not helpful at all i slept with BED BUGS!! second there isnt enough luggage carts, come on 2 or 3 carts is not enough for "TWO HOTELS" in one and there is no one to help with luggage. i suggest, with the money you are going to spend here might as well spend it at a better hotel with better service. this hotel has no clue whats going on, not even managers have a clue of whats going on or what to do. i spoke to a "manager" name shawn and i stated i would let my colleagues know not to come and stay here no more he stated "thats fine" okay thank you for your wonderful service i really got my moneys worth! oh yeah they also charge $12 for valet, they tell you to request your vehicle 20-30mins in advance to have it ready which i did, came down stairs and i didnt find my vehicle, but they still charged me and made me late to my meetings!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamptonssgm, General Manager at Homewood Suites Silver Spring, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
My name is Dan Jasinski and I am the General Manager of the Homewood Suites. I want to apologize for the unfortunate experience that you had at our hotel. The health and safety of our guests is of the utmost importance and is always a focal point of our operations in order to continue providing our guests with a great experience. We work closely with a professional pest control company to address and rectify any pest situation that might occur. Your comments concerning the response to your issues are very concerning. We have reviewed your comments with our staff.
I wanted to address your comments concerning the luggage racks. The hotel has recently purchased four additional luggage racks for our guests to use. I want to apologize for the delay you encountered in retrieving your car in the morning. We do ask that you call 30 minutes ahead and your vehicle should be there for you. I see that you scored other aspects of our hotel such as location very high, I hope that you would give our hotel another chance and I am confident that your stay would be more enjoyable.

Thank You,

Dan Jasinski
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2010

Stayed here with the family. We were hoping for a suite with a separate bedroom. This hotel has only one large room. That was our only real disappointment. The breakfast was pretty good and served its purpose very well.

Hotel is a few blocks from the metro line and is well located if you are visiting Silver Spring. If you want to spend time in DC proper, it is not such a great location.

The staff was pretty good and the valet just required that you call about 20 minutes ahead of time. The car was always there.

Don't expect a 4 star hotel, but it is a good alternative for a family.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

We had a great stay, even though it was just for a couple of nights. The staff was great, especially Micheline, who was able to get us into a room, before the check in time, so that we could have a place for our car and luggage and still make the metro for our 11:00 AM appointment.
The only negative, and it may not even be worth mentioning was the heat/ac unit fan couldn't be set on low for quieter operation at night. I did mention it, but since we were only there for 2 days they may not have had time to get to it. I guess we could have asked for another room, but like I said it was a short stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

I let the valet park the car one night. All compartments had been searched and toll money was stolen. Very disappointing for a Hilton property. The manager never returned my call.
Looks like they don't even care.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

No access to our own cars. No carts to take luggage or clothes to room. No real help, only insincere "offer" after we were almost finished. And much snootiness about how we were from the sticks and things are done differently "here."

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Silver Spring
5.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
Courtyard Silver Spring Downtown
#2 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
Hampton Inn Silver Spring
#5 of 12 in Silver Spring
4.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Washington DC - Silver Spring
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC N Silver Spring
0.2 mi away
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
Sheraton Silver Spring Hotel
#6 of 12 in Silver Spring
3.5 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites Silver Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites Silver Spring

Address: 8728 Colesville Road, Silver Spring, MD 20910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Silver Spring
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Silver Spring
#4 Business Hotel in Silver Spring
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites Silver Spring 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton(R) Silver Spring hotel provides suites with fully equipped kitchens and complimentary internet access, complimentary breakfast and dining options, and a fitness room and heated indoor pool and whirlpool. Whether you're staying for a few days, weeks or months, our hotel will make you feel at home. Located in pedestrian-friendly downtown Silver Spring, this extended stay hotel is only three blocks to the Silver Spring Metro station and just steps from restaurants, shops, theaters and nightlife venues. Ride our local shuttle to nearby businesses such as Discovery Communications, the American Film Institute, United Therapeutics and the Food and Drug Administration. The hotel is also close to the Washington DC metro region's Filmore Club/Live Nation, National Mall and Smithsonian Institution Museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Homewood Suites Silver Spring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites Silver Spring Hotel Silver Spring

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homewood Suites Silver Spring, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.