We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting, authentic, delicious Ethiopian cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abol

Abol
8626 Colesville Ave., Silver Spring, MD 20910
301-650-0061
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 294 Restaurants in Silver Spring
Price range: $11 - $20
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Restaurant details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exciting, authentic, delicious Ethiopian cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Today a marvelous Sunday lunch at this Ethiopian restaurant in our new neighborhood of Silver Spring...only five minutes by foot from Red Line Metro stop. Having lived in Ethiopia for three years, and having searched out good Ethiopian eateries in the States and elsewhere for three decades, we thought ABOL was one of the top three we have experienced. In Amharic, "abol" translates as "authentic" and the food and service are exactly that. We tried one of the combination platters; highlights were a robust, flavorful and distinctive "doro we't" or chicken stew (served traditionally here with a hard-boiled egg), a sweet beef stew with carrots, and perhaps my favorite, "yekik alicha" or yellow split peas. ABOL is a must stop for residents and visitors.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Great food good place to go after work or weekend. Great Service, seem to be focused on ensure that the customer has a good experience

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst Ethiopian in the DC/Silver Spring area”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

The good: Lamb stew
The mediocre: String beans and carrots had good flavor, bad texture. Beets, cabbage, and kitfo were slightly subpar. Service was OK.
The bad: everything else.

Bottom line: For Ethiopian, head into DC or head north in Silver Spring to find better places. In downtown Silver Spring, choose a better option.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Not Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Ethiopian food is an acquired taste. Service was somewhat lacking but food was good. Atmosphere somewhat somber.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erbendorf, Germany
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Abol's was my first time trying Ethiopian food. I was very impressed with the experience. Although I don't have anything to compare it to, the food was good and at a good price. The waitress seemed to really want us to enjoy our experience and recommended some entrees and showed us how to eat it. Be prepared for an adventure finding parking but try this one out I'd you're in the area.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abol also viewed

 
Silver Spring, MD
Silver Spring, MD
 

Been to Abol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.