We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salisbury Md Microtel not as good as it used to be.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salisbury

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salisbury to your Saves list
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salisbury
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3050 Merritt Mill Road, Salisbury, MD 21804   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Salisbury
Front Royal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Salisbury Md Microtel not as good as it used to be.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We have stayed at the Salisbury, MD Microtel several times over the last few years and each stay is not as good as the one before. Our last time there was for several days and was the worst stay yet. The room was not completely filthy but there were problems. There was dirt on the floor along the walls. There was what looked to be a fingernail or toenail in the corner behind the bathroom door. We never touched it and it was never removed. The bathroom floor was sticky. Just about everything above head level was covered with dust. The shower knob did not work properly and the water was always too hot. The carpet had tears in several areas. The fridge was noisy and made loud clicking sounds. The beds were lumpy and uncomfortable. The daily room cleaning was very minimal and one morning we ran out of toilet paper only to return that evening and find we still didn’t have any. The worst thing of all occurred the first day when my wife saw a roach in the bagel container. Yes, she is sure it was a roach and even tried to kill it but missed. We didn't eat breakfast there at all after that. We didn’t see any bugs in our room and the staff was friendly as usual, however I really wish things had been much better overall because this place used to be a good value. We don’t expect perfection and having a few problems doesn’t bother us much but there were just too many of them this time. We can’t recommend this place anymore.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Microtel S, Guest Relations Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salisbury, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear leecando,

I apologize for the concerns that you shared during your recent stay at the Microtel Inn & Suites, Salisbury, MD. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and it is clear that we have failed to do that. We are truly working to make improvements in all departments so that we may meet our goals to reach the highest level of guest satisfaction. Thank you for your loyalty and hope to see you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Anne Webster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    87
    61
    33
    23
See reviews for
133
57
19
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

After having a bad experience with a recent microtel stay this
one outshines all the ones I have stayed at. The room was very
clean.smelled fresh as were the bed linens. The room paint
looked like they tried to upgrade the class and it worked. The
staff at the desk was outstanding and Adrian had no problem
handling our needs as well as others at the same time.

I was a little hesitant to book this room after my poor experience
in South Carolina but location was great as is always the price.
The grounds were immaculate too. This was a smaller microtel
and looked fairly new. I hope they keep up the good job at this
one. I wanted to stay longer but it was time to move on. If we
wouldn't have...it would have been a pleasure to stay longer.

The only negative, our room 112 must have been by a main
plumbing run. When other rooms above took showers the
water running through the lines was a bit annoying. The
pipe run needed insulated during construction. Beyond
that it was quiet and had a good 1 night stay.

Room Tip: As mentioned in review, room 112 had plumbing noise when showers above were used.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Microtel S, Guest Relations Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salisbury, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Tom_Carla 1,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Microtel Inn & Suites, Salisbury, MD. We are delighted that you shared your thought about your recent stay with us. Our front desk team takes pride in giving our guests the fabulous customer service. We love to be able to meet and exceed our guests expectations. We look forward to your return.

Warm Regards,

Anne Webster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Made a reservation online with this hotel 4 months in advance for a tournament held in the area. Specified we needed non-smoking room, and confirmed by phone 2 weeks prior. We got there and were told they didn't have any left on the "non-smoking floors" (isn't that what reservations are for??) but they had 1-2 non-smoking rooms on "smoking floors". Yeah, right - the hall stinks of smoke, seeps into the "non-smoking room" that already smells of mold and mildew, another smell we could not get rid of during our 4 night stay.

Also, very basic hotel (no pool, no fitness room) but had laundry service which was helpful for sports team uniform washings. Front desk staff were nice and friendly - breakfast was typical continental type with exception of waffles (all carbs and starches served). Will not stay at Microtel Inns at all - was surprised at the issues since I have always had a good experience to date at the Wyndham owned facilities.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Microtel S, Guest Relations Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salisbury, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Pamela S,

Thank you for choosing the Microtel Inn & Suites while in the Salisbury, MD area. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We are working to make great improvements at our hotel. We make every effort possible to meet our guest’s requests. There are very few times that we are not able meet our guests’ requests. I apologize that we were not able to meet your request for a non-smoking floor. Once again, thank you for choosing Microtel Inn & Suites.

Sincerely,

Anne Webster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

great service and staff is always very helpful n ready. the room is always clean n the room is much bigger then we expected and it had everything in it so we will love to come back again bc we got excellent service n best roomrate in area........

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Microtel S, Guest Relations Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salisbury, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Jagdish,

Thank you for choosing the Microtel Inn & Suites, Salisbury MD. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return.

Warm Regards,

Anne Webster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Arrived early before check-in time and was greeted by Bak and asked to come back in a little while and would have a room. Came back in a hour and got upgraded room by Bak. Great service and room was clean and breakfast was decent. Would stay here again for sure.
Very close to Ocean city and the price was the best I found in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Microtel S, Guest Relations Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salisbury, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear MagiceJS,

Thank you for writing about your recent stay at the Microtel Inn & Suites, Salisbury, MD. Our front desk team strives to assist each of our guests in the most efficient way possible. We are delighted that we could accommodate your early check in request. Although, there are times that we are unable to accommodate early check in requests, we strive to make the room available to you as soon as possible. Thank you again.

Sincerely,

Anne Webster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

we had a church youth group and stayed the 2nd weekend in july. we had 6 rooms. the front desk was a little slow but very courteous. the rooms was much bigger than i expected and i loved the mirrors on the walls. the beds were more than comfortable and it had a fridge and microwave. the only downside was the bathrooms were a little dated and was not 100% clean. it looks like they missed a few spots......other than that my stay was excellent and i will be back again next year!!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Microtel S, Guest Relations Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salisbury, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Fred A,

Thank you for sharing thoughts about your recent stay. Your group was absolutely fabulous to work with. It was a delight getting to meet everyone. I have passed along your concern with the cleanliness of the bathroom to our housekeeping team. It is extremely important that we exceed our guests expectations. We look forward to seeing you next year.

Sincerely,

Anne Webster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I've stayed here plenty of times and it's always a very satisfying experience. The staff is always very nice and engaging, the rooms are always clean and cozy, and it makes the entire experience enjoyable. Would never stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Microtel S, Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salisbury, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Bmore134,

Thank you for staying at the Microtel Inn & Suites, Salisbury, MD. Thank you for your kind words about your recent stay this us. We strive to exceed our guests expectation. We look forward to seeing you when you return to the Salisbury, MD area.

Warm regards,

Anne Webster
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salisbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salisbury

Address: 3050 Merritt Mill Road, Salisbury, MD 21804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Salisbury
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salisbury 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
59 rooms, located off Route 50, 2 miles from Civic Center, 4 miles from Salisbury University and 25 miles from Ocean City. This property is 100% non-smoking, Free local & Long distance calls, Continental Breakfast and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salisbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn And Suites Salisbury
Microtel Inn & Suites Salisbury Hotel Salisbury
Microtel Salisbury
Salisbury Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Salisbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.