We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Mediterranean Food in Salisbury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cactus Taverna

Cactus Taverna
2420 N Salisbury Blvd, Route 13 South, Salisbury, MD 21804
+1 410-548-1254
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 153 Restaurants in Salisbury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Eclectic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Fenwick Island, Delaware
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Fine Mediterranean Food in Salisbury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We had dinner at the Cactus Taverna in Salisbury on a weekday evening. Cactus Taverna is a Mediterranean restaurant with an emphasis on Spanish style food. The restaurant has a very nice atmosphere for dining. The owner is continually circulating around the restaurant to mingle with the customers.

I ordered the Mahi-mahi in a roasted red pepper sauce with crab meat. The Mahi came with veggies and rice

Crista ordered the Mariscos Saltados, which was a combination of shrimp and scallops sautéed with tomatoes, onions, bell peppers, potatoes and fresh cilantro

Shawna opted for the Salmon Veracruz, The salmon was topped with light cream sauce and included scallops. Shrimp, veggies and rice.

All of our meals were very good. The server was excellent and provided good recommendations on what to order.

I would recommend Cactus Taverna for a place to dine in Salisbury.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    30
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“You will not be disappointed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The food is great!!! The staff is always so friendly and I love the fact that the owner is constantly interacting with the customers!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Salisbury's Best Kept Secret!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Last night we discovered Cactus Taverna. Wow! What a delightful surprise! From the outside it looks like just another Mexican restaurant in a strip mall. Inside we discovered a menu that leaned more Peruvian, and everything our party ordered was fresh and delicious! The owner greeted us shortly after we were seated, which rarely happens anywhere in 2014. And the wait staff, while young, were exceptional! There was live music with a singer/guitarist playing contemporary covers. Oh, and the margaritas were delicious and potent. All in all, the best dining experience we've had in Salisbury during the 11 months since we moved here. We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This was our first visit but will definitely not be our last. We were so pleased! The food was excellent, the service wonderful, not at all what we expected when we pulled into a small strip center. This is not a Taco, burrito, kinda place! It has an extensive menu with variety of creative dishes. Wonderful kinda "date night" reasonable priced enjoyable place to go. Looking forward to going again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sapphire, North Carolina
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Ecclectic mix!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We were in Salisbury attending a wedding and after reading the reviews on tripadvisor decided to try this restaurant. At first when we pulled up outside of the place we were wondering if we made the wrong choice. We are so happy we went inside! There were 6 of us and we all tried something different. The food was wonderful and our waiter was very helpful with our choices. Margaritas and guacamole is a great way to start the evening. The service was excellent and the prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cactus Taverna also viewed

 

Been to Cactus Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cactus Taverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.