We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hovel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Salisbury

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Salisbury to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Salisbury
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 South Salisbury Boulevard, Salisbury, MD 21801 (Formerly Holiday Inn Salisbury Downtown Area)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Hot Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Salisbury
Ashland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hovel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

If you were to look up the definition of hovel, next to it would be a picture of this particular Holiday Inn. While the people who work here are very pleasant, the facility is a dump. The first room we were assigned had rust in the bathtub that appeared at first glance to be a herd of cockroaches. Our second room, and the one to which we were sentenced, was rust-free and closet door free. If you are thinking of a stay in Salisbury, I'd suggest a hotel with standards...perhaps the Hampton Inn in nearby Fruitland.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HenidhSha, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Salisbury, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. I appreciate your positive compliments on the staff also we apologize for the inconvenience caused you and for falling short of your expectations. We do value the comments we receive from our guests as these help us improve the quality and service that we offer.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to respond via email with your contact information.
Sincerely,
Henidh Shah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    31
    21
    18
    34
See reviews for
64
28
6
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I stayed here February 18th - 22nd of 2013.

The good:
Comfortable bed
Close to work location

The bad:
Very old televisions
Poor channel selection (10-15 channels, some very blurry)
Old, musty smell in room and lobby, looks like the building was an old Ramada
Inconsistent room cleaning (only 2 of 4 days the room was cleaned)
The elevators had "valid until Nov 2012" stickers on it!!

I am sure the "managers response" will attempt to dispute, and remove this review, but for being a priority club member, and having stayed at my share of Holiday Inns, I can say this was a bad one!


Nick Correll

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HenidhSha, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Salisbury, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Mr. Correll,
We sincerely apologize for not being able to meet your upscale expectations. To address your concerns, let’s start with your complaint about our televisions. We agree that they are older televisions, but we are in the process of upgrading to brand new 52” Hi Definition flat screens. The process of installation has begun and will be complete very soon. We do have 65 channels including HBO and Showtime. If a guest should have difficulty with receiving all channels, they can contact the front desk at any time so that we may troubleshoot the issue and determine why channels are not being received. Channel issues may sometimes be either a bad cable or a problem with the satellite provider.
In regards to your concern about inconsistent housekeeping service: Since you have provided your name we were able to locate the housekeeping records for your room during your stay. It was reported that there were instances of a Do Not Disturb sign on guestroom. Hotel policy indicates that housekeeping may not enter or knock on doors which have a Do Not Disturb sign on. Housekeeping will make two attempts to service the room. If after the second attempt they cannot service the room, it is reported to the front desk that they cannot service the room. Should a guest require service at any time after housekeeping hours have passed, they can dial the front desk and an agent will provide fresh linens, toiletries ect
In regard to the elevator inspection sticker, it is not possible for the elevators to remain in operation with expired stickers. Our elevators are up to code and have current validation from the State of Maryland. The elevators are inspected yearly and we receive a valid sticker upon completion of inspection. The State of Maryland will not allow the elevators to operate with expired stickers and would shut them down immediately if they found an expired sticker.
Our hotel was in fact a Ramada Inn, but we had renovated just over 3 years ago when we re-branded to a Holiday Inn. Ever since we re-branded we strictly follow IHG brand standards, of which includes a scent program. The filter for the scent machine in the lobby area is changed regularly to ensure freshness and compliance.
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write this review. Please note we respect and appreciate only honest reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Salisbury hotels

Millsboro, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The meeting rooms were comfortable, the hotel was clean- rooms were very comfortable, BUT the staff was not up to handling a full banquet for 150 plus folks. Delivery of food was very very slow- and tables were not set up correctly. Members of the host group ended up waiting tables, and setting place settings.

Room Tip: Ask for RIVERVIEW - otherwise will be faced with emergency vehicles/ helicopters since major hospita...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalisburyHoliday, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Salisbury, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us at the Holiday Inn! We certainly try to provide exceptional service to all our guests Due to some problems which were out of our power to fix that day. I do understand that this is not your fault to which you face such problems. I would like to heartily apologize for the problems you faced and hope that you give us another chance in future to make things correct. We value your feedback and it is a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay or just even get to know what went wrong! We look forward to exceeding your expectations next time.

Sincerely,
Henidh Shah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmont, New Jersey
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at the Salisbury Downtown Holiday Inn in Maryland en-route from New Jersey to my sisters house to care for my mother in North Carolina. We were using some of our Priority Club points and discovered we had not used the correct free night and prevailed upon the Assistant General Manager of the hotel to correct my error. We made it a point to return to the Salisbury, Maryland Holiday Inn Downtown on our trip back to New Jersey several weeks later. The Assistant General Manager, Henidh Shay, was incredibly helpful upon our arrival in giving us a room that kept us a reasonably comfortable distance from a rather boisterous gathering of students staying at the hotel celebrating their Homecoming. After several weeks of stressful care-taking, it was a most pleasant respite provided by Shah, a most sensitive manager. I would recommend a stay here, by all means.

Room Tip: See Sha upon your arrival. The fifth floor is the place to be. Ask for room 517.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalisburyHoliday, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Salisbury, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Mr. Roberttheloudnadthel

Thank you for your generous comments about your stay with us at the Holiday Inn! We certainly try to provide exceptional service to all our guests traveling through the area and I am very pleased we were able to remedy the mistake and correctly use your valued priority club points! As you noted on some weekends the hotel might have a boisterous crowd but we aim to keep all guests comfortable during there stay and it looks like we accomplished that feat during your stay. As always we value your feedback and it is a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to exceeding your expectations soon.


Sincerely,
Henidh Shah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and me were travelling from Sydney to attend dog show, and a friend of mine recommended this hotel close to civic center (just 2.5 KM). This hotel was in a great location in the heart of Salisbury. As soon as we entered the hotel there was an elegantly furnished lobby and a welcoming staff at the front desk. They gave us maps and coupons to use around the area and directions to the beach. Check-in went real quick that’s all we want and we were off to our room. The room was fabulous. The room smelled really great and was quite spacious. The cleanliness was excellent--our room was sparkling clean, and so was the bathroom and shower. The amenities provided were definitely a plus. There was even a nicely sized mini fridge & microwave in our room, which a lot of hotels were missing on our 3-week trip across US. The television wasn`t what we expected (not flat screen) but we were ok to compromise with that since everything was over expectation. Many channels came in on the plus side. We slept well at this hotel. The beds were extremely comfortable, just a nice and plush bed. Also, we were far from the elevator and ice machine as requested. We were glad that the staff worked with us on our requests as we had 2 babies (poodles) with us as well. Honestly this hotel staff really needs to be awarded for good kindness with guest. The service at this hotel was phenomenal. They helped us with directions, places to eat, and they served us amiably. The hotel doesn't have complimentary breakfast but they still offer complimentary coffee. Crab cakes recommended by the hotel manager were delicious. Henidh the same Guy who checked us in was great at Checkout as well, helped us make reservations for the poodle show in April. We have stayed at the Hilton in town in previous years but since holiday inn is the host hotel this year for Poodle club in April we wanted to give it a try. I'd recommend this hotel to everyone mate. There's a heated indoor pool. Plus there's a fitness center, business area, and a gorgeous courtyard area to sit outside and relax in awesome weather. This hotel was just excellent in every way imaginable and Mr. Patel Three cheers to your staff and you mate!!!

Room Tip: A river view is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalisburyHoliday, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Salisbury, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Mr. Josh W.,
Thank you for your valuable feedback for our property! I was delighted to hear you had such a wonderful time staying with us at the Holiday Inn, Downtown, Salisbury. Of course all of our staff members strive to exceed every guests expectations and it appears we have succeeded! The location of our property is in close proximity to the restaurants and events taking place in Salisbury and we were delighted to hear you took advantage of that perk and that our staff was knowledgeable in giving you such wonderful information on Salisbury. I read the only down fall of the property appeared to be the televisions, but I am delighted to tell you we will be receiving modern televisions in a few short months! We appreciate such wonderful feedback from our valued guests hear and it is a pleasure to tell the staff what a spectacular job they have done. We look forward to seeing you in April and exceeding your expectations once again. Safe Travels!

Sincerely,
Henidh Shah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo West, Colorado
Top Contributor
327 reviews 327 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My bride and I stayed here while visiting my daughter and her family. It is the River-walk area and accessible to several restaurants and a short drive from attractions. The river-walk area is a little dirty and many homeless in the area...we did feel safe. The front desk staff were very helpful; however the business center computers were sporadic and I suspect it was due to the kids that were occupying the work stations. If in the area, we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalisburyHoliday, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Salisbury, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Jim N,
Thank you for your positive feedback from your stay here at the Holiday Inn in Downtown Salisbury. It is wonderful to hear you did take advantage of our central location to the restaurants and attractions. We strive to provide excellent hospitality and we are delighted to hear the front desk was able to assist you with your needs in such a helpful manner. However I do apologize for the experience when working at our business center. We do appreciate the feedback and will look into providing more efficient computers for our guests. We hope to have you stay here at the Holiday Inn in Downtown Salisbury the next time you’re visiting family so we can exceed your expectations!

Sincerely,
Henidh Shah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Well I read some bad reviews on here about holiday inn Salisbury and but it was in a great location as the university is just around the corner. It was very convenient for me because I was visiting my daughter at the university. There were a lot of eating places within walking distance. In fact we can say this hotel is a prime location in Salisbury. We enjoyed river walk (morning jog), rooms were spacious and clean. People at the front desk are very friendly, very professional and helpful. There was a front desk boy the morning who helped me lot with local information and directions, room rate was very decent then other name brand hotel in Salisbury. I would stay again if I was in the area and suggest people this hotel for great stay.

Room Tip: Great people... Great Hotel... Enjoyed quality of service
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalisburyHoliday, Guest Relations Manager at La Quinta Inn & Suites Salisbury, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your precious feedback! We really appreciate you taking time to give us this valuable feedback. We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay and were satisfied with all aspects of our property. We hope to see you again very soon with same great experiences which make our guests happy and help them become a family member of the Holiday Inn family of hotels all across the world.
Thank you once again for your most valuable feedback!

Sincerely,
Henidh Shah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Salisbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Salisbury

Address: 300 South Salisbury Boulevard, Salisbury, MD 21801 (Formerly Holiday Inn Salisbury Downtown Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Salisbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Salisbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Salisbury 2*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, LaQuinta, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Salisbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Salisbury Downtown Area Hotel Salisbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Salisbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.