We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good, some bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond to your Saves list
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   308 Watkins Lane, St. Michaels, MD 21663   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
40% Off Your 3rd Night
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Some good, some bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Not our first visit. Mixed thoughts about this visit. Overall okay but glad we didn't pay published rates. Breakfasts at Sherwoods Landing are not good at all. Breakfast room is lovely but food really needs some work. They were out of some things, somethings were not hot, corned beef hash was very "rubbery", house made granola is very sweet. The fruit however was delicious. Bar is very nice though the bar room with the fireplace needs some housekeeping . . . thick dust on lower levels of all wood furnishings. The bartender was a delightful man but when we asked for some crunchy bar snacks he told us he didn't have any but might later. Not his fault I'm sure but sounds like they are really just trying to force menu ordering. No free snacks every materialized on any visit to the bar. We paid about $20 per drink - and no peanuts or anything - really? The hotel's invoice system leaves lots of room for improvement - especially as it relates to package deals. Details of credits for food, beverages, spa treatments that were part of packages are not shown on your final invoice. You actually have to ask them if the credits were applied and they have to go through each individual charge to determine where and how each credit was applied. Tiresome and makes the guest feel like they are being cheap. Room was clean and comfortable and the grounds are lovely. The Linden Spa is the one true high-light. Have a massage from Anna - she's amazing. Finally, if you do order a package through a third party be mindful that the hotel is not as cooperative with available dates as they should be per the terms of the package - only when I really pushed was I able to make a reservation for one of the weekends that were options for us. We would probably go again - but only for a highly discounted package rate.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Merryman, Manager at Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your past stays with us at The Inn at Perry Cabin and for you honest review of your most recent experience. While I would have preferred to hear that you had a flawless stay with us, it is only through your honest feedback that we are able to address and fix any challenges that arise.

I am pleased to hear that you had an amazing experience at The Linden Spa. Anna is certainly a superstar on our team; I have shared your comments with her and she truly appreciates your praise!

I would like to to apologize for the problems that you encountered during your stay, specifically with your restaurant and lounge experiences. We have recently added several new items to our complementary snacks in the Purser's Pub, so I am certainly disappointed that not only did you not get a chance to sample some of our new offerings, you were offered nothing at all. I have forwarded your comments to our Food and Beverage Director, Brian Ball, and he would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further regarding the challenges you encountered.

I would also like to apologize for any confusion regarding package credits during your stay. Billing is always a bit different when you book through a third party; often, we are contractually obligated by the third party to fold those credits into the total price that you prepaid to that company, thus they do not show up on your bill. Otherwise, our billing system will automatically deduct the package amounts from each outlet charge each day. The only way to provide proof that the charge was deducted is to reprint a copy of the original outlet charge, and compare that to what is posted on the final guest room bill. I realize that this is tiresome, but unfortunately, this is the only way to show that the computer system processed the charge correctly.

We appreciate your past stays with us, and as repeat guests I want to assure you that we take your comments very seriously. I hope that on your next visit with us, you will notice all the wonderful improvements and upgrades that we are putting into place, making your Eastern Shore retreat even better.

Thank you again for your honest feedback.

With regards,

David Merryman
Director of Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    137
    53
    27
    14
See reviews for
61
432
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

While this hotel is a little bit off the beaten path (it takes about 1 hr from the Baltimore Airport), this hotel absolutely defines luxury. From the moment you arrive, you are treated like royalty. The rooms are beyond spacious, and the decor is just beautifully elegant. In addition, the employees go above & beyond to give you whatever you want or need to feel at home. This hotel is a perfect weekend getaway for someone needing a break from reality. I can't wait to go back w/ my husband.

Room Tip: Try to get a room w/ a balcony that overlooks the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Merryman, Manager at Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond, responded to this review, March 25, 2012
Thank you so much for your recent stay and review of The Inn at Perry Cabin!

I'm thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the Inn and that our associates went above and beyond for you. We have a fantastic team of hospitality professionals whose daily mission is to delight you with small touches, be authentic ambassadors to the region, and to help you discover all the unique experiences of life on the Chesapeake.

Thank you again for your fantastic review; we look forward to your return to St. Michaels and The Inn at Perry Cabin!

With regards,

David Merryman
Director of Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We spent the weekend at the Inn and were very happy with the accommodations! The room was clean, great views of the water and the bed was very comfy. Overall, it is a beautiful spot to spend the weekend and relax.
Our only issue was the restaurant. We had breakfast and dinner with them, both left us disappointed. The dinner menu was very limited, the sides were small, and they seemed to substitute fresh ingredients with breads at every course. At breakfast, a $4 muffin could be eaten in 2 bites. We spent $200+, for that cost we should have been blown away! Save your money and go to some of the great spots in town.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Merryman, Manager at Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thank you for your weekend stay with us at The Inn at Perry Cabin. As I'm sure you saw, this years early warm weather has set the grounds and gardens of the Inn into early bloom, and the views of the Chesapeake and the estate's colorful grounds are second to none!

While I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your room, the views, and your bed, I'm genuinely sorry that you didn't enjoy your breakfast or dinner experience in Sherwood's Landing. I certainly agree that you should be blown away by your restaurant experiences, regardless of the price you are paying for your room. Orient-Express Hotels are known worldwide for the world class dining available at each unique property, and I apologize that you did not receive that kind of experience with us.

I do hope that we will see you again at the Inn, and that Sherwood's Landing might have a second chance to give you the type of dining experience that you would expect and deserve from The Inn at Perry Cabin.

With regards,

David Merryman
Director of Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

The absolute best retreat from the city lifestyle. Everyone is so friendly and welcoming. Even our dog gets the same treatment. The rooms are cozy and the food is fantastic. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Merryman, Manager at Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Thank you so much for joining us in St. Michaels over the holiday weekend!

We like to think that the winter months are a perfect time to experience the charm of The Inn at Perry Cabin. Whether it is enjoying a fireside drink and lunch at The Purser's Pub, indulging in Afternoon Tea, or experiencing the culinary talents of Chef Mark Timms in Sherwood's Landing, we strive to provide you with the perfect retreat from the pace of everyday life.

I hope your dog enjoyed his stay as well; as a fellow dog owner, I know how nice it is to be able to bring your pet along for the weekend and not have to board him!

On behalf of the staff of The Inn at Perry Cabin, we appreciate your great review, and we hope to welcome you and your dog back to the eastern shore in the future.

David Merryman
Director of Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

The Inn at Perry Cabin is about as far away from the hustle and bustle of the Greater Washington, DC area as possible within a two-hour radius of the area. Crossing the Chesapeake Bay Bridge, one notices the environment changes: pick up trucks replace sleek sedans, the minivans are more likely, shall we say, vintage, and yes, that was a roadside stand selling vegetables. Turning onto the road that leads to St. Michaels, one notices the pace slows. There's greenery, fields, and our internal honing instinct tells us more water is near.

Entering the quaint village of St. Michaels, traffic slows to about 30 miles per hour and the storefronts take us back to a more innocent time: ice cream parlors, boutique restaurants, spaghetti suppers and a winery: country and cool. Glimpses of the water are visible on our right and finally, the turn-off sign comes for The Inn at Perry Cabin. The long road into the property provides drama and anticipation, with the white-washed country escape visible off in the distance.

One half expects to see horses--but instead there is greenery and well-maintained grounds. There are smiling faces to greet you, whether in the lot for cars, or opening the entrance door. Returning guests are greeted by name -- as if an old friend has returned. New guests are welcomed just as warmly.

The formalities of checking in are done expediently but not hurriedly. The attendant wants to ensure all questions are answered and brags of the award winning cuisine at Sherwood's Landing and offers to make reservations. Check in documents are ready and personalized, by the way, with the unique detail of an actual key (what a rarity these days!) and a knot that would make a Girl Scout proud.

The surroundings are lush without being stuffy. Think of a comfortable cousin's relaxing retreat in the country: overstuffed chairs, plenty of windows, lots of water art, enough wood -- both natural and white-washed -- to keep things just cozy. There's the tiny, but cozy Purser's Pub for drinks. There's the tea and coffee area to read and sip gratis tea and coffee or enjoy formal English tea.

Service is superb. Clearly each staff member is taught to make eye contact and speak naturally. Requests nor responses never sound rehearsed, and every attempt is made to accommodate the guest.

The stars of the show are Sherwood's Landing and the Linden Spa. Sherwood's Landing food is a foodie's delight. From entering the restaurant, to dessert, service and food are without a hitch. Not to be trite, but it is the Chesapeake Bay. One MUST try the crab cakes. They have minimal filler and the accompanying sauce is as close to perfection as I have experienced. The chef is also gracious with amuse bouches -- so enjoy any surprise complements to the meal! While the dessert menu offered so many choices, the lemon tart seemed to be a perfect ending: sweet and cleansing. The chef knew the choice was hard and offered petit fours of the other options, much to this diner's delight! They were all delicious!

The servers were gracious, knowledgeable, and very friendly without being intrusive. No glass went unfilled, and no plate to a finished course languished. The senior staff, also, frequently checked in to ensure a divine meal. While many other options are available in St. Michael's, do not miss Sherwood's Landing. It is worth the drive alone.

Then the Linden Spa. While many people in Washington love the dramas of politics and policy, all of us need a space and time to regenerate our spirits. The Linden Spa, set apart from the main building just a short walk away, takes us on a journey to relaxation. Once properly cocooned in spa attire, soothed by the sounds of music wafting through the relaxation room, and having been refreshed by your guide with tea or cucumber water, there is an opportunity to read or drift into an alternative state of relaxation.

When the first aesthetician arrives usually some time after, guests are taken to their spa area where the aesthetician seeks to learn the goals for the day, and advise of the relaxation to come. Then, s/he begins one of the most novel aspects of the experience: the ritual of foot washing, with a massage, warm water, and an enchanting aroma in a beautiful tub. With pressure at the right points, coupled with water, the therapist will glide over your tired toes and feet and prepare you for an hour or so of ultimate relaxation. If more than one service, expect to have intermission in the relaxation room.

Massages are tailored for relaxation but can go deeper if requested. The facials are wonderfully done using the latest technology to remove impurities. While extractions (the often feared side of the facial) has not been applied in my experiences, gentle exfoliation revealed fresher, cleaner skin at my facial's end: no red blotches, just a beautiful glow.

Check out is simple and no hassle. Some spas push products for skin. The Linden Spa is too refined for that. Should one wish to browse the gift shop, there are products, jewelry and clothing -- but this is at your leisure. Guests may pay at the spa, or charge their experience to their room.

Each room has either a garden view or a water view. Both are spectacular. The garden views are slightly more private, yet the water views are calming, especially the rising and setting of the sun. Another thing that we Washingtonians sometimes forget, there are stars in the sky, and they are visible from St. Michaels. Whether summer, fall, spring or even winter, nature beckons to enjoy the grounds as well as the water and sky views.

There is no rowdy party scene here. This is a place or restoration, introspection, romance and more beautiful observation than raucous and rowdy bar scene. Come solo. Come for a girlfriends getaway (especially with the spa!), come with a significant other, come with pets, even. Perhaps the Crab Claw farther into town, a popular local restaurant, has a more rowdy atmosphere, if that is what is sought. There are also plenty of eating options in town -- all locally owned. I daresay there are no chains in the historic district. But if one finds that a quick respite is needed, The Inn at Perry Cabin is the ideal place: no plane ticket needed.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: State rooms face the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Merryman, Manager at Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Thank you so much for your recent stay at The Inn at Perry Cabin and for sharing your experience with us!

It is always so wonderful to hear from our guests who have just discovered our remarkable corner of the world. As you noted, it is so easy to get back in touch with nature while at the Inn; whether watching the sunrise over the Miles River, stargazing at night, watching the geese wander across the lawn, or simply strolling our grounds, the bounty of the Chesapeake is at your fingertips.

I've shared your review with the staff of the hotel, and they appreciate the complements you have paid to them; they are all hospitality professionals whose daily mission is to exceed all your expectations.

Thank you again for your very kind review of The Inn at Perry Cabin and we certainly hope to welcome you back again.

With regards,

David Merryman
Director of Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

My wife and I visited the Inn on the Fourth of July, 2011, so this is a belated review. I can't praise this place highly enough -- amazingly comfortable rooms, lovely setting and location, and fantastic amenities. Very good massages at the spa, which also had a very nice fitness room. We had a standard room, but it was located on a corner of the second floor that gave us a corner balcony overlooking the water. The cross-breeze through the room was wonderful (and service forgave us for leaving the door open at night and flooding the room with mayflies!). We brought our dog, who spent the entire trip basking in the sun and enjoying the view (the hotel is pet friendly, which is wonderful, but is so well appointed and sized that the dogs seem to fit right in). We absolutely will return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WDC
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

Spent a fabulous weekend getaway with the wife. Highly recommend the Inn for those special occasions. The staff are exceptional and really know how to make you feel welcomed!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond

Address: 308 Watkins Lane, St. Michaels, MD 21663
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond 4.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conde Nast Traveler Readers' Choice Award Winner, Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond, is a 78 room waterfront estate with a nod to the legendary history of Maryland's fabled Eastern Shore. Cradled by the Chesapeake's Miles River, Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond sits on the edge of St. Michaels, a town steeped in the region's crabbing and oystering traditions. The Inn boasts a top-rated spa, a zero-edge pool, acclaimed dining, Afternoon Tea and countless activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Belmond, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Perry Cabin By Orient-Express Hotel St. Michaels
Hotel At Perry
Inn Perry Cabin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.