We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has gone WAY downhill” 2 of 5 stars
Review of St. Michaels Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added St. Michaels Inn to your Saves list
St. Michaels Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1228 South Talbot Street, St. Michaels, MD 21663-2636 (Formerly BEST WESTERN St. Michaels Motor Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Has gone WAY downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here several years ago and found the accommodations just fine. A lot has changed. From weeds growing in the parking lot to hairs on the bathroom floor and bathroom fixtures badly in need of replacement - would not stay here again. A new owner needs to take over and fix this place up. What a shame to have a hotel in this beautiful area falling apart.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    72
    53
    47
    35
See reviews for
68
104
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The accommodations in this hotel are striking - a sprinkling of hair on bathroom floor, a dash of high quality dust throughout the room and a scent that is reminiscent of the days of my youth when my parents required me to clean out their flooded basement. Other accommodations include a smattering of "antiques." For instance, the bed showed proper wear and sag for a specimen of at least 25 years and the furniture all showed the appropriate pitting, rust and wear that would befit furniture from the era known as the “1980s college dorm room period.” Also appropriate to the historical theme was a large box that pushed out warm air after certain groans and grunts. The purveyor of this fine establishment advertised it is as something called "air conditioning.” This unit served as a fine example of the rudimentary and often unreliable technology from the aforementioned period. Despite its age, the unit kept the room at a constant 85 degrees allowing the guest to appropriately moisten their skin with the consistent drip of perspiration.

This hotel provides an authenticate experience. Unfortunately, that experience is smelly, disgusting and uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Choose a hotel in nearby Easton or a bed and breakfast in St. Michael's
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel was juts what we expected. We wanted to explore st Michaels and the forecast was for excessive heat. Rather than taking a chance with a b&b that most likely wouldn't have air conditioning we could control, we had to choose staying here or paying big money for a high end hotel. We stayed here and paid an extra $5 for a king room. The room was not fancy, but it was huge and clean. The ac has a digital thermostat so we didn't have to play guessing games with that. It is about a mile from town, breakfast was a buffet that included scrambled eggs, sausage cereal fruit toast etc. Pretty standard for best western,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel is "pet friendly." The people who come with their pets are put in the back section of the hotel, apparently. However, we were put in that section without informing us of this fact. In the next room there was a dog barking loudly every few seconds. Apparently the owners had left the dog in the room alone. We immediately asked to be put in another room. We were given another room, but the transfer required carrying our bags down to the car, moving the car and carrying our bags to the other room.

The rooms are very basic. Only a few towels are provided and the towels are very scratchy and unabsorbant.

Room Tip: If you stay here and do not have a pet with you, ask to be put in the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Three of us (my wife, teen son and me) spent two nights while in town for a wedding. The motel is older, but well maintained. The room was nice enough, but somewhat cramped for three people. We relocated the small refrigerator from the clothes hanging area adjacent the sink to a location near the door. Staff were all friendly and helpful, and the included breakfast was a little above average because it includes waffles. Finding a working ice dispenser was challenging.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the rear building with interior corridors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We paid $168 plus tax for a double. I would expect a hotel of this quality to be $109 or perhaps less. Be aware that some rooms are updated and others are not - but prices are all the same. We had a non-updated room and were asked to be moved. The updated room that we received was considerably better but that isn't saying much. As our 7-year old said, "it isn't in the west and it isn't the best." It is functional but a very poor value.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed for three nights while attending a function at the Maritime Museum....it is not the Ritz but aside from a few strange housekeeping issues which were brought to the attention of the gals at the desk, the only real complaint was that each day the number of clean towels and washcloths got smaller and smaller. i thought the beds were comfortable and the breakfast more than adequate...much better than included breakfasts at Comfort and Sleep Inns that I have stayed in.
Would I stay there again, probably yes....if you are looking for a romantic weekend in St Michaels, then maybe you should look elsewhere, but this worked for us.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the back near the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Michaels
1.7 mi away
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
Inn at Perry Cabin by Belmond
#1 of 4 in St. Michaels
4.5 of 5 stars 732 reviews
3.7 mi away
Harbourtowne Golf Resort and Conference Center
8.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Easton Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Easton
Comfort Inn Easton
#4 of 8 in Easton
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Easton
Hampton Inn Easton
#2 of 8 in Easton
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
1.3 mi away
St. Michaels Harbour Inn Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Michaels Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Michaels Inn

Address: 1228 South Talbot Street, St. Michaels, MD 21663-2636 (Formerly BEST WESTERN St. Michaels Motor Inn)
Location: United States > Maryland > Talbot County > St. Michaels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in St. Michaels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — St. Michaels Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your St. Michaels Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western St. Michaels Motor Hotel St. Michaels
St Michaels Best Western
Best Western St Michaels Md
Best Western Saint Michaels
Saint Michaels Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Michaels Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.